Chevron Left
Introduction to Philosophy(으)로 돌아가기

에든버러대학교의 Introduction to Philosophy 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
7,506개의 평가
1,760개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course will introduce you to some of the main areas of research in contemporary philosophy. Each module a different philosopher will talk you through some of the most important questions and issues in their area of expertise. We’ll begin by trying to understand what philosophy is – what are its characteristic aims and methods, and how does it differ from other subjects? Then we’ll spend the rest of the course gaining an introductory overview of several different areas of philosophy. Topics you’ll learn about will include: Epistemology, where we’ll consider what our knowledge of the world and ourselves consists in, and how we come to have it; Philosophy of science, where we’ll investigate foundational conceptual issues in scientific research and practice; Philosophy of Mind, where we’ll ask questions about what it means for something to have a mind, and how minds should be understood and explained; Political Philosophy, where we'll investigate whether we have an obligation to obey the law; Moral Philosophy, where we’ll attempt to understand the nature of our moral judgements and reactions – whether they aim at some objective moral truth, or are mere personal or cultural preferences, and; Metaphysics, where we’ll think through some fundamental conceptual questions about free will and the nature of reality. The development of this MOOC has been led by the University of Edinburgh's Eidyn research centre. To accompany 'Introduction to Philosophy', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Introduction to Philosophy' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please click "Start Here" and navigate to the "Optional Reading" page for more information....

최상위 리뷰

SF
2020년 6월 27일

It is an excellent course for anyone who is interested in knowing more about philosophy and philosophical questions. The lectures are short and very informative! I would highly recommend this course.

LT
2015년 9월 1일

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and find that it encouragingly sets some directions, and of course, raises my excitement for further study into some of the different fields of philosophy. Thank you.

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Philosophy의 1,744개 리뷰 중 251~275

교육 기관: Aarya M

2021년 1월 22일

The course was absolutely riveting. It inculcates thought about every aspect of our existence while simultaneously informing us of fascinating philosophical and physical concepts. The instructors executed their lessons masterfully :)

교육 기관: Parisa G

2020년 11월 17일

It was a wonderful course. The professors amazingly, with a clear, simple language and using multiple examples, have introduced and explained some core issues in philosophy. I am so glad I had the opportunity to complete this course.

교육 기관: Hung W C C

2020년 7월 10일

This introduction bring in a lot of theories and information in relating to Philosophy. This is important to someone who want to understand what Philosophy is. The section of time travel is the most interesting section I experienced.

교육 기관: Juan E L S

2020년 11월 25일

I really like this course, All the topics proposed here had an enourmous impact on my understanding. I really appreciate the work of all the philosophers who give the lectures. Withouth hesitation, I will recommend it every time!!!

교육 기관: Richard B

2017년 11월 13일

A wonderful experience. My most important takeaway was thinking more about the questions beyond the asked question. This course will make me a better and more informed reader, especially combined with my readings about rhetoric.

교육 기관: Ujjawal S

2018년 11월 9일

Great Course. I loved the content, it covered few of the topics i used to wonder about. Really engaging teachers, they seemed that they were passionate about their topic and also had a deep understanding of the matter. Thank You.

교육 기관: Halim G M

2015년 9월 27일

Such a eye-opener. Philosophy was a hobby until I ran into this course. It structure my thinking. It made me realize the schools of thought that have tackled the questions I've dived into are as many angles to view a given issue.

교육 기관: Manuel G P R

2019년 3월 27일

Es perfecto para quien le gusta y quisiera tener una idea organizada de la filosofía. Las conferencias son con profesores calificados y utilizan un lenguaje claro. E invita a seguir profundizando en la materia o esta actividad.

교육 기관: Siddhesh D

2020년 5월 15일

It has widened my horizons extensively. As long as you are someone who is even so slightly interested in thinking deeply about the wordly aspects of the world you should enroll for this course or atleast try to learn philosophy

교육 기관: Benjamin M C P

2017년 4월 13일

It is very complete and wide in the optional themes treated on the course. Also you are provided with link to forums, debates, guides, and bibliography to investigate further more what caught your interest. Highly recommended!!

교육 기관: Alexis O

2015년 12월 14일

I love the way this course let you embrace the basics notions of philosophy.

The only bad thing it's that I haven't found a course like this (That talks of philosophy) in this site, so I think Coursera need more of this courses.

교육 기관: Marco R

2020년 5월 26일

Great way to get to know the big branches of philosophy, great examples, great questions to think about. This course offers the opportunity to learn to understand the world around us and to understand ourselves a little better

교육 기관: z b

2020년 8월 21일

thank you Coursera and faculty of the University of Edinburgh for allowing me to get for my first time an official certificate for learning something, growing up without any kind of formal education I can't withhold my tears.

교육 기관: marc k

2019년 5월 27일

The course was a good introduction to parts of philosophy allowing for a non philosopher to begin learning the thought processes needed to want to take the next steps in a philosophic education. Thank you to the entire staff.

교육 기관: Atif G

2020년 6월 27일

Amazing Course

This course taught me the basic concept of philosophy, The way of teaching of all the teachers was very nice and interesting, the lectures were accompanied with examples which really helped a lot. Great course.

교육 기관: Martín

2018년 1월 26일

Very interesting class. Includes several pathways to engage understanding of philosophy in classical and contemporary ways. The videos are clear and effective. The quizzes are really interesting. A great introductory course.

교육 기관: Dženan M

2021년 1월 8일

I have gained some new and great insights into the way philosophy works. I learned new methods and recalled a lot of what I previously knew. Lecturers are brilliant and so are modules in which various topics are discussed.

교육 기관: Duygu B

2016년 12월 29일

Dave is a great narrator. He talks in an impressive way. So, everyone who watches the videos can understand it more easily. In addition to videos, there are also helpful documents. It was a very enjoyable course for me. :)

교육 기관: Diya C

2020년 9월 15일

This course is really amazing, because I've learnt about so many interesting facts, theories and they are all very necessary for my further studies. It's really fruitful. Thank you Coursera for such an amazing opportunity

교육 기관: Edison C

2020년 3월 18일

I really enjoyed the course, even though Im coming from a different branch of knowledge (engineering), its been a very nice approach. Absolutely recommended for those want to know more and explore the world of philosophy.

교육 기관: mahmood s m

2018년 12월 1일

great course , and i would love to thank the teachers of Edinburgh university , they helped a lot to understand and pass the course , i had a great time with those great teachers and subjects ,

thank you thank you so much

교육 기관: Francisco P

2015년 10월 30일

I really enjoyed this course because contents were very interesting and contemporaneous. Reading about travelling time was a real pleasure. Teachers nice, quizzes and texts supported well my development. Congratulations.

교육 기관: M V

2020년 5월 4일

Really nice and an intuitive course. I really liked the concept of giving us the options to choose the topic which interests us the most. I learnt a lot from this course and also am very much fascinated with philosophy.

교육 기관: Ravi

2020년 8월 17일

Loved the course thoroughly and so many interesting arguments in different fields of philosophy,great instructors and very explained sessions.It has gotten me more interested in the field of epistemology and free will

교육 기관: Pamela P

2020년 7월 30일

I enjoyed this course. I liked having a different instructor for each section, and I really loved the incorporation of contemporary topics that made it feel relevant to my life and fostered conversations with others.