Chevron Left
Introduction to Philosophy(으)로 돌아가기

에든버러대학교의 Introduction to Philosophy 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
3,831개의 평가
868개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course will introduce you to some of the main areas of research in contemporary philosophy. Each module a different philosopher will talk you through some of the most important questions and issues in their area of expertise. We’ll begin by trying to understand what philosophy is – what are its characteristic aims and methods, and how does it differ from other subjects? Then we’ll spend the rest of the course gaining an introductory overview of several different areas of philosophy. Topics you’ll learn about will include: Epistemology, where we’ll consider what our knowledge of the world and ourselves consists in, and how we come to have it; Philosophy of science, where we’ll investigate foundational conceptual issues in scientific research and practice; Philosophy of Mind, where we’ll ask questions about what it means for something to have a mind, and how minds should be understood and explained; Political Philosophy, where we'll investigate whether we have an obligation to obey the law; Moral Philosophy, where we’ll attempt to understand the nature of our moral judgements and reactions – whether they aim at some objective moral truth, or are mere personal or cultural preferences, and; Metaphysics, where we’ll think through some fundamental conceptual questions about free will and the nature of reality. The development of this MOOC has been led by the University of Edinburgh's Eidyn research centre. To accompany 'Introduction to Philosophy', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Introduction to Philosophy' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please click "Start Here" and navigate to the "Optional Reading" page for more information....

최상위 리뷰

LT

Sep 02, 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and find that it encouragingly sets some directions, and of course, raises my excitement for further study into some of the different fields of philosophy. Thank you.

CC

Oct 08, 2015

Great explanations that is broken down with examples for understanding. Quizzes test for your understanding of the topic rather than just the textbook explanations. Challenging and thought revoking.

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Philosophy의 854개 리뷰 중 276~300

교육 기관: Alex H

Oct 03, 2016

This courses is a nice broad though light introduction to a series of current topics in Philosophy, introduced by philosopher focused in those topics.

교육 기관: Martín

Jan 26, 2018

Very interesting class. Includes several pathways to engage understanding of philosophy in classical and contemporary ways. The videos are clear and effective. The quizzes are really interesting. A great introductory course.

교육 기관: Ricardo F T

Oct 13, 2015

An updated perspective of the main topics of Philosophy. Rich enough to understand it.

교육 기관: Ljubomir R

Aug 11, 2016

Great introduction to general philosophy topics.

교육 기관: Luciana S W

Jan 12, 2016

Love this course :)

교육 기관: Jose A P M

Dec 11, 2016

I loved taking this course, although at the end it became a little difficult for me to understand the accent of that Italian Professor (for me particulally it would be easier if she spoke Italian, it's my second mother tongue!). It was the hardest test because I couldn't understand very well. But in general terms it was very nice! Thank you and congratulations.

교육 기관: Gizelle L

Oct 31, 2017

very good

교육 기관: Hemanga

Apr 22, 2017

Great course.

Great to the starting philosopher. And anyone who wants to learn a bit more about how we all think!

교육 기관: Dinesh C

Mar 19, 2017

it is good to know real knowledge not just biased and religious or cultural

교육 기관: Phillip B

Oct 22, 2015

Fantastic introductory course to Philosophy. It really expands your thinking and methodologies relating to wisdom and knowledge. Thoroughly enjoyed it. Thank you.

교육 기관: Andrew J

Mar 04, 2018

Solid overview; great place to start.

교육 기관: Vern

Aug 19, 2017

This course provides a good and solid foundation for understanding what philosophy is, how it works, why we should philosophise, and, some of the major questions that philosophy continues to analyse today.

My main interests in philosophy would be: the philosophy of Science and the philosophy of Religion. I'd like to learn why we believe what we believe.

I'd recommend this course to anyone that seeks to understand what is philosophy and how we do philosophy.

Thanks to The University of Edinburgh, to Coursera, the professors, and all those who made this course available free of charge.

Cheers.

교육 기관: Halim G M

Sep 28, 2015

Such a eye-opener. Philosophy was a hobby until I ran into this course. It structure my thinking. It made me realize the schools of thought that have tackled the questions I've dived into are as many angles to view a given issue.

교육 기관: Laarni L A

Jan 08, 2016

Thank you!

교육 기관: Zakiyya M

Feb 28, 2016

It took me a long time due to time limitation but happy to finish. I learned a lot and love to go back and listen to the lessons again and again.

교육 기관: Subramanian V

Oct 04, 2015

Very good introductory course. Provides an overview of the different philosophical topics ranging from knowledge to time travel.

교육 기관: Gregory A M

Oct 18, 2017

Excellent teaching all round and an interesting set of topics. I like the idea that you can pick and choose which topic interests you the most each week and will only be assessed on that but I decided to complete all of the lectures and assessments for my own benefit. Thank you very much!

교육 기관: Ilya R

Jun 19, 2017

This was amazing course introducted me into Phylosophy. I want to review it!

교육 기관: Muhammad N K

Feb 16, 2016

It is really a good place to start orienting oneself with the scholarly tradition of philosophy.

교육 기관: Li W Y

May 16, 2016

easy to understand and interesting!!!

교육 기관: Eoin G

Oct 14, 2017

Lovely. The choice of two tracks is really nice. All topics were fascinating.

교육 기관: Beatrice R

Mar 04, 2017

I really loved this course, very interesting and pleasant! Many thanks to all the professors!

교육 기관: Bryan W

Oct 27, 2015

Very well done for anyone passionate about learning.

교육 기관: Tamer G B

Dec 22, 2017

Excellent & useful course

교육 기관: Tracy P

May 14, 2016

An excellent course providing a great overview of major philosophical ideas and arguments.