Chevron Left
Introduction to Philosophy(으)로 돌아가기

에든버러대학교의 Introduction to Philosophy 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
3,822개의 평가
868개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course will introduce you to some of the main areas of research in contemporary philosophy. Each module a different philosopher will talk you through some of the most important questions and issues in their area of expertise. We’ll begin by trying to understand what philosophy is – what are its characteristic aims and methods, and how does it differ from other subjects? Then we’ll spend the rest of the course gaining an introductory overview of several different areas of philosophy. Topics you’ll learn about will include: Epistemology, where we’ll consider what our knowledge of the world and ourselves consists in, and how we come to have it; Philosophy of science, where we’ll investigate foundational conceptual issues in scientific research and practice; Philosophy of Mind, where we’ll ask questions about what it means for something to have a mind, and how minds should be understood and explained; Political Philosophy, where we'll investigate whether we have an obligation to obey the law; Moral Philosophy, where we’ll attempt to understand the nature of our moral judgements and reactions – whether they aim at some objective moral truth, or are mere personal or cultural preferences, and; Metaphysics, where we’ll think through some fundamental conceptual questions about free will and the nature of reality. The development of this MOOC has been led by the University of Edinburgh's Eidyn research centre. To accompany 'Introduction to Philosophy', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Introduction to Philosophy' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please click "Start Here" and navigate to the "Optional Reading" page for more information....

최상위 리뷰

LT

Sep 02, 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and find that it encouragingly sets some directions, and of course, raises my excitement for further study into some of the different fields of philosophy. Thank you.

CC

Oct 08, 2015

Great explanations that is broken down with examples for understanding. Quizzes test for your understanding of the topic rather than just the textbook explanations. Challenging and thought revoking.

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Philosophy의 854개 리뷰 중 301~325

교육 기관: Jamuna M

Aug 31, 2015

An excellent introduction to basic philosophy, including current debates in the field. Easy to follow for a novice like me.

교육 기관: Joshua W

Jan 04, 2016

Easy to follow along and explains Philosophy in simple terms.

교육 기관: Tamia B M

Aug 03, 2016

Great for Philosophy beginners, but it does require a lot a alone reflection in order to apprehend the concepts. Give it an enthusiastic shot.

교육 기관: Pascal D

Aug 23, 2015

This was a great introductory course to Philosophy.

교육 기관: Eduardo S P

Jan 20, 2016

Very good course, it perfectly introduces some of the most relevant topics in philosophical discussion, some are new some are very very old but still fascinating. I would strongly recommend this course for anyone interested in learning about philosophy, history and culture in general.

교육 기관: Clifton L

Aug 16, 2015

Excellent course.

교육 기관: David G

Oct 10, 2016

Excellent introduction to the basics of philosophy. Lecturers are really good.

교육 기관: Ana K

Jan 09, 2016

Very interesting course with different approaches and topics on philosphy. Nice way to refresh knowledge or to get a new ones. Everything is really understandable with good videos and course materials provided.

교육 기관: Sebastian D C d O G

Jan 17, 2018

loved

교육 기관: Felipe T

Dec 03, 2015

Great introduction to the way of doing philosphy. Highly recommended!

교육 기관: Rishabh

Oct 31, 2015

Very good course, Offers insights from various domains of Philosophy, which one doesn't go in usually. And ends up discovering that there are in fact various ways to look at this subject which is an essential tool for living and constant improving our quality of life.

The University of Edinburgh has structured this course well, and the faculties, bright and deep in their domains makes you understand the contents more easily then they are.

Thank you.

교육 기관: Vladislav L

Sep 29, 2016

I would suggest this really very good introductory course as a starting point to everyone interested in different philosophical questions.

교육 기관: Theodore H

Feb 12, 2018

Very thought provoking and informative. A great 'introduction' to some fairly deep concepts. I very much enjoyed it.

교육 기관: Karanjit S

Jan 19, 2017

Very good introduction to philosophy. The professors share simple and effective analogies to explain philosophical concepts. The concepts are also woven into interesting topics that would make one think. Highly recommend this course to everyone.

교육 기관: William O P

Sep 09, 2016

Great general introduction to Philosophy. I suggest taking this philosophy course before any others because it puts a lot into perspective and it gives you a good idea of what path to take in your personal studies in philosophy and beyond.

교육 기관: Luis E B C

Jun 28, 2018

i like all topics in this moment, i think the philosophy it's fundamental for every moment of decision, and i start to think to "see" the "all picture" thanks and regards from Colombia.

교육 기관: Doradistria R

Feb 28, 2016

Really good course! Very much enjoyed it! Thank you for an amazing month! The only thing I would mention, was that at times the computer would sometime move the selected answer on the quiz, which made it frustrating on the last week's quiz and on week 2 (or 3 I think, can't remember it correctly) when it occurred, but apart from that everything else was fine! Thank you!

교육 기관: Georgia C

Oct 31, 2017

Thank you! Very interesting!

교육 기관: JOHN Q

Aug 16, 2017

Interesting and fun course. Thanks so much!

교육 기관: Rhitansu G

May 06, 2017

I really needed answers to some questions about life about equality, justice, empathy, morality, etc. After finishing this course I still do not have the answers, but I feel I am in a better position to read and think more about these questions. These questions are not just for academic interest. I feel it is difficult to along in life without some answers about these fundamental aspects of our day to day life. Philosophy should be a part of our school curriculum. I really appreciate the way it has been taught in this course and the dedication of the teachers to their subject.

교육 기관: Christine A

Jun 08, 2016

Excellent course. Really enjoyed it.

교육 기관: Monica N

May 05, 2016

Wonderful and challenging...

교육 기관: Leticia T P

Mar 08, 2018

Es excelente el curso. Me está ayudando a comprender mucho mejor una materia que antes no me gustaba mucho.

교육 기관: Andres L L

Nov 10, 2015

An excellent course that makes you ask and answer really important questions about life.

교육 기관: Paul B

Nov 23, 2015

Excellent course for begginers in philosophy. Enjoyed all the lecturers a lot.