학생용
Chevron Left
Introduction to Philosophy(으)로 돌아가기

에든버러대학교의 Introduction to Philosophy 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
7,100개의 평가
1,661개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course will introduce you to some of the main areas of research in contemporary philosophy. Each module a different philosopher will talk you through some of the most important questions and issues in their area of expertise. We’ll begin by trying to understand what philosophy is – what are its characteristic aims and methods, and how does it differ from other subjects? Then we’ll spend the rest of the course gaining an introductory overview of several different areas of philosophy. Topics you’ll learn about will include: Epistemology, where we’ll consider what our knowledge of the world and ourselves consists in, and how we come to have it; Philosophy of science, where we’ll investigate foundational conceptual issues in scientific research and practice; Philosophy of Mind, where we’ll ask questions about what it means for something to have a mind, and how minds should be understood and explained; Political Philosophy, where we'll investigate whether we have an obligation to obey the law; Moral Philosophy, where we’ll attempt to understand the nature of our moral judgements and reactions – whether they aim at some objective moral truth, or are mere personal or cultural preferences, and; Metaphysics, where we’ll think through some fundamental conceptual questions about free will and the nature of reality. The development of this MOOC has been led by the University of Edinburgh's Eidyn research centre. To accompany 'Introduction to Philosophy', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Introduction to Philosophy' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please click "Start Here" and navigate to the "Optional Reading" page for more information....

최상위 리뷰

LT
2015년 9월 1일

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and find that it encouragingly sets some directions, and of course, raises my excitement for further study into some of the different fields of philosophy. Thank you.

CC
2015년 10월 7일

Great explanations that is broken down with examples for understanding. Quizzes test for your understanding of the topic rather than just the textbook explanations. Challenging and thought revoking.

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Philosophy의 1,642개 리뷰 중 301~325

교육 기관: PAVITHRA H K

2020년 8월 23일

Highly Recommended course if you are new to philosophy but have interest in it. The simplicity and ease of learning is definitely encouraging, happy to have done this course! :)

교육 기관: Maxim T

2020년 7월 14일

I very much liked this course because it opened a whole possibility of critical thinking of fundamental principles which govern our understanding of the natural world and society.

교육 기관: Epshita J

2016년 12월 1일

The course was really interesting. The modules were taught by different professors. They were all very engaging. And I specially liked Professor Michela Massimi and Dr. Dave Ward.

교육 기관: Hamidreza F

2020년 4월 6일

Absolutely mesmerizing review of philosophy, with topics ranging from Free Will and Moral Philosophy to Time Travel! Recommended for everyone who want to know more about knowing.

교육 기관: Theo D

2017년 7월 27일

Good range of topics; appropriate level of difficulty and well structured and delivered. Gave a broad introduction, but also showed ways in which learning could be taken further.

교육 기관: x

2016년 1월 16일

Very interesting class with very competence professional!

Was a honor learn introduction to Philosophy offer by the university of Edinburg, see u guys in next courses!

Edvim Borges

교육 기관: Lian S

2020년 9월 11일

I like how the course divides different components in such a way that we will be able to understand topic by topic, bit by bit. The lecturers are great in delivering the course.

교육 기관: J S

2020년 8월 21일

El curso describe una introducción a temas de gran importancia para la filosofía como lo es la filosofía de la mente, la filosofía del lenguaje, filosofía política entre otros.

교육 기관: Daniel N

2018년 12월 18일

The course is well designed to give a brief splash of topics related to philosophy. I enjoyed the system and all the professors were great and tried to be as clear as possible.

교육 기관: Guillermo R

2018년 10월 31일

Awesome introduction to philosophy and it's major concepts. Very thorough with great examples and a plethora of additional resources for further inquiry and study is provided.

교육 기관: Pankaj A D

2016년 10월 6일

This is absolutely fantastic course. Thank you very much for offering it! The course content is very good and there pointers to enormous amount of very enlightening literature!

교육 기관: Nayottama P S

2020년 7월 30일

This is an amazing course to gives general knowledge about philosophy and what they do in this subject. This course also allows me to grow an appetite for learning philosophy.

교육 기관: Yana D

2020년 6월 4일

I appreciated helpful handouts for most of the lectures. I enjoyed having a different lecturer for every discussion. Time travel discussion was my favorite part of the course!

교육 기관: Lim Y H X

2020년 4월 20일

An excellent primer into the types of issues philosophers tackle in the past, and present, hosted by a variety of lecturers with relevant expertise in their respective fields.

교육 기관: Bruce B

2016년 12월 9일

Excellent course and I must write that I am appalled that the forum has been so abused by some, that it has to be discontinued. This is a horrid manifestation of hatefulness.

교육 기관: Tuleubekov A S

2020년 11월 28일

This course was really wonderful for me! I liked all the Professors whose video lectures I listened very carefully, but I liked the most the video lectures by Suilin Lavelle.

교육 기관: Andrew B

2017년 8월 24일

The flexibility was greatly appreciated and I feel confident to make use of my own intellectual autonomy (nudge nudge) to find out more - would love to take a further course!

교육 기관: Rahel R

2016년 8월 7일

I mean, I'm only two weeks in and already there's so much to know and it's all so interesting so I think it's a completely worthwhile course (even though I'm only 2 weeks in)

교육 기관: Benjamín E V M

2019년 4월 23일

La explicación y traducciones de los temas vistos a lo largo del curso son de grandísima calidad.

Es un gran curso para comenzar en esta hermosa carrera que es la filosofía.

교육 기관: Lim M C

2016년 6월 24일

This is a very good and interesting course. The instructors lecture the course from an easy way to understand. I hope that they will open an advanced course for this field.

교육 기관: Sachin D

2020년 6월 7일

It was a good course for everyone. All the subject matter were introduced briefly. But i would like if you can further deep. Learned the basics of philosophy through this.

교육 기관: Said K G G

2019년 12월 26일

Está sendo um ótimo curso. Estava procurando um curso que me introduzisse a filosofia e este me mostrou exatamente o que eu precisava saber pra começar meu estudo na área.

교육 기관: IRADHATI Z

2020년 11월 2일

it was interesting, I think it would applicable to my college life as an undergraduate law student and also my future career! Thank you to all the lecturers and Coursera!

교육 기관: S.Shaistha S

2020년 8월 16일

The course ... Introduction to philosophy is really good ...they are so many points that will be very useful to gain basic knowledge regarding philosophy ...

Thank you 😊

교육 기관: Khanh V L N

2020년 7월 14일

Overall it is a great commencement with a snapshot in philosophy. The lecturers are user-friendly and understandable, and the materials given are thorough and exhaustive.