Chevron Left
Introduction to Philosophy(으)로 돌아가기

에든버러대학교의 Introduction to Philosophy 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
3,831개의 평가
868개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course will introduce you to some of the main areas of research in contemporary philosophy. Each module a different philosopher will talk you through some of the most important questions and issues in their area of expertise. We’ll begin by trying to understand what philosophy is – what are its characteristic aims and methods, and how does it differ from other subjects? Then we’ll spend the rest of the course gaining an introductory overview of several different areas of philosophy. Topics you’ll learn about will include: Epistemology, where we’ll consider what our knowledge of the world and ourselves consists in, and how we come to have it; Philosophy of science, where we’ll investigate foundational conceptual issues in scientific research and practice; Philosophy of Mind, where we’ll ask questions about what it means for something to have a mind, and how minds should be understood and explained; Political Philosophy, where we'll investigate whether we have an obligation to obey the law; Moral Philosophy, where we’ll attempt to understand the nature of our moral judgements and reactions – whether they aim at some objective moral truth, or are mere personal or cultural preferences, and; Metaphysics, where we’ll think through some fundamental conceptual questions about free will and the nature of reality. The development of this MOOC has been led by the University of Edinburgh's Eidyn research centre. To accompany 'Introduction to Philosophy', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Introduction to Philosophy' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please click "Start Here" and navigate to the "Optional Reading" page for more information....

최상위 리뷰

LT

Sep 02, 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and find that it encouragingly sets some directions, and of course, raises my excitement for further study into some of the different fields of philosophy. Thank you.

CC

Oct 08, 2015

Great explanations that is broken down with examples for understanding. Quizzes test for your understanding of the topic rather than just the textbook explanations. Challenging and thought revoking.

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Philosophy의 854개 리뷰 중 326~350

교육 기관: Yugasen N

Sep 06, 2016

Was excellent. Content and layout

교육 기관: Qie C

Jun 26, 2016

Well organized content, excellent instructors! Easy and fun!

교육 기관: Nicholas R A

Feb 20, 2017

A fair chance to broaden. Thank you all for the travel.

교육 기관: john c

Nov 30, 2015

Thank you for a thoughtful and extremely well presented and absorbing introduction to philosophy.

교육 기관: Simon S S

Sep 09, 2015

Excellent introduction to an incredibly broad field. I would highly recommend this course to anyone interested in, or vaguely familiar with philosophy. I would also recommend this course to people wanting to brush up on a few things, as it goes over matters at a reasonable pace and thus allows one to get into the themes. Lastly, I would like to say that it's great to see such a new topic (relative to most of the classical philosophical themes) as Testimony in an introduction course. It arguably belongs in the (somewhat) new sub field of Social Epistemology and new research in this area allows philosophers to see original contributions from Reid, Hume and others in a new and modern light.

교육 기관: George W

Aug 07, 2015

Fantastic. Thank you. Funny tennis ball story.

교육 기관: Gustavo L

Apr 04, 2016

Very interesting course. I am learning a lot.

교육 기관: Yuping Y

Jul 01, 2017

This course is very informative and each lesson discuss a totally different topic, with trying!

교육 기관: Frank C T

May 20, 2016

Excelente!!!!!. Muy adecuado para quienes nos estamos iniciando en ésta área del pensamiento.

교육 기관: Tarang B

Jul 07, 2017

It is an enriching experience. This was my first ever attempt in understanding certain nuances of philosophy. The course got my mind blown as it changed my way of looking at things. Before taking this course, I had assumed certain things to be too obvious to be true. The array of examples and schools of different thoughts assimilated in the videos have made the whole learning experience more edifying. I don't know how much of this knowledge will I be able to retain. Initially, I had doubts over taking this course as I had no clue of what it will unfold but turns out that it was a correct decision. I would like to express my sincere gratitude to everyone behind this course.

교육 기관: T.Sai N B

Nov 11, 2015

the course content was very much good and it was very useful.

교육 기관: Brenda M A

Jun 23, 2016

Excelente curso.

교육 기관: Jayash R M

Feb 12, 2017

A short course but introduces several areas of Philosophy. Every week there are new concepts introduced and its very interesting to listen to the teachers. Thank you University of Edinburgh, the teachers and Coursera for this good course.

교육 기관: Michalis O

Apr 30, 2017

Intriguing from the very first lecture to even all the internal and external assignments attached by the professors. Thank you!

교육 기관: Euclides J L V

Dec 22, 2015

Curso bem difícil, são necessárias muitas horas de dedicação, mas que valem a pena no final.

교육 기관: Yura P

Feb 19, 2017

Курс замечательный. В некоторых местах не понравилось, когда лекторы подсматривали, читая с листочка или с экрана. Для 5-10 минутных видео можно было и подготовиться. Но на сам материал это никак не влияет, так что отлично. Закончил все темы, которые необходимы для завершения курса, но планирую ознакомиться со всем, что предлагает университет. Спасибо огромное за знания!

교육 기관: Diogo C d R

Aug 07, 2015

very interesting view of conteporany philosophy, specially the topics about philosophy of mind

교육 기관: Li L

Oct 27, 2017

After these lectures, I don't know weather I exit or not...

교육 기관: Lizao L

Jan 04, 2016

Great course

교육 기관: Rahel R

Aug 07, 2016

I mean, I'm only two weeks in and already there's so much to know and it's all so interesting so I think it's a completely worthwhile course (even though I'm only 2 weeks in)

교육 기관: Kahsolt

Aug 15, 2015

Very clear and good start.

교육 기관: musa

Nov 07, 2015

Spas dikim mamoste ji bo ked û xebat a te.

교육 기관: Thomas K L

Jan 29, 2017

Great course

교육 기관: Moaz A M H

Jan 27, 2017

This course is an excellent introduction to philosophy. It is short but ripe.

교육 기관: Deleted A

Feb 11, 2018

Thank you for an interesting reading list and well delivered set of lectures.