Chevron Left
Introduction to Philosophy(으)로 돌아가기

에든버러대학교의 Introduction to Philosophy 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
3,974개의 평가
900개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course will introduce you to some of the main areas of research in contemporary philosophy. Each module a different philosopher will talk you through some of the most important questions and issues in their area of expertise. We’ll begin by trying to understand what philosophy is – what are its characteristic aims and methods, and how does it differ from other subjects? Then we’ll spend the rest of the course gaining an introductory overview of several different areas of philosophy. Topics you’ll learn about will include: Epistemology, where we’ll consider what our knowledge of the world and ourselves consists in, and how we come to have it; Philosophy of science, where we’ll investigate foundational conceptual issues in scientific research and practice; Philosophy of Mind, where we’ll ask questions about what it means for something to have a mind, and how minds should be understood and explained; Political Philosophy, where we'll investigate whether we have an obligation to obey the law; Moral Philosophy, where we’ll attempt to understand the nature of our moral judgements and reactions – whether they aim at some objective moral truth, or are mere personal or cultural preferences, and; Metaphysics, where we’ll think through some fundamental conceptual questions about free will and the nature of reality. The development of this MOOC has been led by the University of Edinburgh's Eidyn research centre. To accompany 'Introduction to Philosophy', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Introduction to Philosophy' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please click "Start Here" and navigate to the "Optional Reading" page for more information....

최상위 리뷰

LT

Sep 02, 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and find that it encouragingly sets some directions, and of course, raises my excitement for further study into some of the different fields of philosophy. Thank you.

CC

Oct 08, 2015

Great explanations that is broken down with examples for understanding. Quizzes test for your understanding of the topic rather than just the textbook explanations. Challenging and thought revoking.

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Philosophy의 890개 리뷰 중 76~100

교육 기관: GUSISI

Feb 13, 2017

Teachers are really responsive to questions that were mentioned in the forum, and they provided me with a good start in philosophy. I would recommend this course to anyone who is interested in philosophy but has no previous experience. This course will lead you to the a different world.

교육 기관: Eduardo S P

Jan 20, 2016

Very good course, it perfectly introduces some of the most relevant topics in philosophical discussion, some are new some are very very old but still fascinating. I would strongly recommend this course for anyone interested in learning about philosophy, history and culture in general.

교육 기관: Christopher B

Oct 18, 2019

I had a great time on this course and I learned many new interesting concepts that got me thinking, and will help me to learn any other course I take. In particular, I enjoyed learning about Are Scientific Theories True?, Minds, Brains and Computers, and Time Travel and Philosophy.

교육 기관: Hernan M

Jun 12, 2016

Great course from one of the top universities in the world! Deep throughout, fast-paced but easy to understand, this course will give you a first impression of what Philosophy really is, making you want to delve more into this awesome world of thinking.

I highly recommend it!

교육 기관: James D R

May 19, 2019

An excellent course that does precisely what it says. It provides a fantastic taste of some of the foundations of philosophy. The content of the video lecturers are wonderful.

My only complaint is that the multiple choice tests at the end of each section have bugs in them.

교육 기관: Jose M G

Dec 09, 2016

Una excelente introducción al pensamiento filosófico, desde una visión bastante práctica. Me ha sorprendido especialmente el último tema sobre viajes en el tiempo, que en principio parece no cuadrar con el resto de "topics", pero resulta muy interesante y divertido.

교육 기관: Pablo G A

Jun 05, 2017

I think this course is interesting and well structured. I think it is a good introduction to philosophy. I learned a lot about morality, knowledge, laws, politics, minds, science, free will, and time travel.

The course also helped me to practice English :-)

Thanks!

교육 기관: Jake G

Oct 25, 2015

While the indidivual lectureres did have a breadth of knowledge, a manditory discusion should be held with the homeworks instead of just the quizzes for completion. Perhaps a page on each week should be good enough. Just to understand each lecturer's main points.

교육 기관: JORGE E M L V

Mar 23, 2019

MUY BUEN CURSO PARA INTRODUCIRSE AL MUNDO DE LA FILOSOFÍA, DE VERDAD QUE ES BASTANTE INTERESANTE APRENDER COSAS DE FILOSOFÍA LO RECOMIENDO MUCHO APRA PERSONAS QUE ESTUDIAN CARRERAS DE CIENCIAS SOCIALES COMO DERECHO, EDUCACIÓN, FILOSOFÍA, PSICOLOGÍA Y HUMANIDADES

교육 기관: Sophia A

Nov 09, 2017

Lead me to the beginning of doing philosophy and bring me with how to work out the right way of thinking about things. Share with me the big questions in contemporary philosophy.

I start to love Philosophy after this course! Thank you so much for your efforts!

교육 기관: Jessica H

Sep 26, 2015

Clear, well-paced and engaging classes. I appreciated the overview of key debates in each topic, and my experience with this course was made all the more enjoyable through the passion with which the lecturers spoke about their respective areas of interest.

교육 기관: Jolanta F

Oct 13, 2016

I have enjoyed this course from the first class; it shows the philosophy as a set of ideas we may discuss using logic and not as a set of dates and Names attached to the Books. The professors are brilliant, lectures neither intimidated nor oversimplified.

교육 기관: Bo P

Apr 13, 2019

I really enjoyed this course. Many intro to Philosophy can be pretty boring and hard to get into. However, this was accessible and introduced enough topics to get you interested. Also liked the balance and diversity in teaching staff. Highly recommended!

교육 기관: Juan C C G

Jun 20, 2019

Casi perfecto, muy versatil, diferente, ameno, solo un poco complicados los cuestionarios de evaluación, aunque como profesor me ayudaron a dificultar mis exámenes. Nota la parte más difícil es la de filosofía de la ciencia, la Doctora habló muy rápido.

교육 기관: Chung-Han L

May 06, 2019

This course is highly recommended. It makes me be more humble in front of knowledge and request me to think more and more differently. Philosophy is not only a subject but also a way of thinking. I believe it helps you in any field you are focusing on.

교육 기관: Weiwei H

Sep 02, 2015

Very thought-provoking. Every teacher gives a comprehensible and approachable lecture about the given topics. The complementary material also helps. Be very contented with all of them. Thank you for all the contribution for making this course possible!

교육 기관: Juan P

Oct 04, 2017

Un curso fantástico para introducirse en el maravilloso mundo de la filosofía. Después de aprender con este curso quedan muchas ganas de seguir leyendo y comprendiendo esta disciplina. Muchas felicitaciones a la gente de la Universidad de Edinburgh.

교육 기관: Germán D C

Dec 12, 2016

This Philosophy course is perfect for those who want to get familiar with current philosophical discussions. They provide you with a very general view of a variety of philosophical debates in a very easy manner, so that anybody can understand them.

교육 기관: John R

Sep 25, 2015

This was a very interesting course. Not what I was expecting when I enrolled, but I enjoyed it completely. I especially liked the lesson on the logical possibility of time travel. This was my first Coursera course but I hope to find more courses.

교육 기관: Consuelo H R Z

Oct 16, 2018

I want to thank you for the scholarship and for allowing me to learn more, I want to continue studying and thanks to you I've learned a lot of new things. From Mexico, thank you very much, you peolple have opened new horizons for me and my mind.

교육 기관: Karanjit S

Jan 19, 2017

Very good introduction to philosophy. The professors share simple and effective analogies to explain philosophical concepts. The concepts are also woven into interesting topics that would make one think. Highly recommend this course to everyone.

교육 기관: Elián B

Oct 02, 2015

Is for me the greatest course of philosophy I ever had, specially because of a really bad "teacher" that I just don't know how can he be teaching, but well, had been my first experience with a MOOC and couldn't be better I suppose. Greetings!

교육 기관: ELIAS T

Jan 13, 2019

Muy práctico, me sorprendió positivamente que no es un curso de biografías de filósofos sino sobre pensamiento filosófico acerca de temas sumamente interesantes.

Gracias por tenerlo y felicidades a los ponentes.

Lo recomendaré en cada ocasión.

교육 기관: Muaz J

May 14, 2017

Fantastic introductory course on Philosophy, with lot of resources and links. I loved it and the instructors are really lucid in their exposition. I hope Edinburgh comes up with more courses, especially Philosophy of Social Science/Economics

교육 기관: William O P

Sep 09, 2016

Great general introduction to Philosophy. I suggest taking this philosophy course before any others because it puts a lot into perspective and it gives you a good idea of what path to take in your personal studies in philosophy and beyond.