Chevron Left
Introduction to Philosophy(으)로 돌아가기

에든버러대학교의 Introduction to Philosophy 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
6,432개의 평가
1,508개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course will introduce you to some of the main areas of research in contemporary philosophy. Each module a different philosopher will talk you through some of the most important questions and issues in their area of expertise. We’ll begin by trying to understand what philosophy is – what are its characteristic aims and methods, and how does it differ from other subjects? Then we’ll spend the rest of the course gaining an introductory overview of several different areas of philosophy. Topics you’ll learn about will include: Epistemology, where we’ll consider what our knowledge of the world and ourselves consists in, and how we come to have it; Philosophy of science, where we’ll investigate foundational conceptual issues in scientific research and practice; Philosophy of Mind, where we’ll ask questions about what it means for something to have a mind, and how minds should be understood and explained; Political Philosophy, where we'll investigate whether we have an obligation to obey the law; Moral Philosophy, where we’ll attempt to understand the nature of our moral judgements and reactions – whether they aim at some objective moral truth, or are mere personal or cultural preferences, and; Metaphysics, where we’ll think through some fundamental conceptual questions about free will and the nature of reality. The development of this MOOC has been led by the University of Edinburgh's Eidyn research centre. To accompany 'Introduction to Philosophy', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Introduction to Philosophy' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please click "Start Here" and navigate to the "Optional Reading" page for more information....

최상위 리뷰

LT

Sep 02, 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and find that it encouragingly sets some directions, and of course, raises my excitement for further study into some of the different fields of philosophy. Thank you.

SF

Jun 28, 2020

It is an excellent course for anyone who is interested in knowing more about philosophy and philosophical questions. The lectures are short and very informative! I would highly recommend this course.

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Philosophy의 1,493개 리뷰 중 1226~1250

교육 기관: SATYAJIT V K

May 20, 2020

Very informative & thought-provoking content.

I personally liked module on the philosophy of mind & time travel.

Truly, the contents of this course can serve as building blocks for any learner to develop his research work.

교육 기관: Bert M

Sep 10, 2020

As an introduction this course seems sufficient.

A small inconvenience was the impossibility to edit my peer review submission.

On the certificate the signature was "Signature" in handwriting, which seems a bit silly.

교육 기관: Alok T

Jan 04, 2016

It's a great introduction to the variety of philosophical topics, being introductory it just scratches the surface though. Could be made more interesting, but nonetheless a good course to get started with philosophy.

교육 기관: Nicholas V

Aug 29, 2017

I understand it is an introductory course, but I would have appreciated more and more in-depth discussions of the topics brought up. This made me aware of some historical questions but I am eager to dig in further.

교육 기관: Himal k

May 01, 2020

Thank you very much for this cousera.this is moving from a fixed Midwest to learning Midwest with Coursera even if I don't know sometimes,I can learn it.thats a Life change Coursera...thank u very much

😊😊🥰🥰😃

교육 기관: Risto M

Jan 27, 2017

Where is the course discussion forum? It definitely needs one!

Why was determinism taken as granted in the lectures? It is a highly disputed topic which undermines most of the free will arguments that were shown.

교육 기관: Samuel S

Mar 05, 2016

Very good introduction to philosophy. The amount of work and care that was used to create this course is clearly visible in the videos with the speakers, backgrounds, video and sound quality. Thanks very much!

교육 기관: Jialiang P

Aug 31, 2017

The course design is not well-structured because the questions embedded in the lecture may turn out not to be in agreement with the videos.

Other than that, I find this course overall enlightening and useful.

교육 기관: David S

Sep 29, 2017

Excellent introduction to philosophy! At least in my mind. Interesting topics: free will, moral obligation in a society, etc. Good presenters with good examples and arguments/counter arguments. Very pleased.

교육 기관: christopher l s

Sep 25, 2015

I enjoyed this course immensely. I wanted to gain a general idea of what the science or belief behind Philosophy was. This course gave me just that. A good over view of the subjects and the ideas behind it.

교육 기관: Aloke N P

Dec 02, 2015

Classes were interesting apart from a bit of pronunciation problem to understand the professors, I guess the course was informative and lays down a foundation for thinking about the wider problems around.

교육 기관: Mahmoud A

Nov 28, 2019

Great content, it's an eye-opener that makes me see the big spectrum of philosophical topics that are discussed during the course. I'm looking forward to learning more about philosophy and human history.

교육 기관: Paul B

Jun 03, 2019

As a complete novice I struggled at times with the content and my understanding of the topics being taught, but its important to not only listen and watch the video's but to also read the extra material.

교육 기관: Kramer K

Feb 10, 2017

Fun, informative course that doesn't take too much time. I would suggest it for people who are new to learning Philosophy, because it may be too simple for people with a decent knowledge of philosophy.

교육 기관: Piyathida C

May 02, 2020

I gain a lot of knowledge about philosophy through this course. Until I ask myself after finishing, do I really know anything? Or I didn't know anything at all? HAHAHA! GREAT COURSE! Thank you so much!

교육 기관: Shashank S

Aug 08, 2020

Great course! Explained the basic concepts of philosophy in an extremely clear way. My thanks to all the professors for the lectures and for everyone responsible for this course to be available.

교육 기관: Nishtha A

May 10, 2020

The course can be considered enriching and fulfilling for the curious soul. It can get monotonous at times but with firm determination one can gain a new sense of perception and thought from it.

교육 기관: Nymoom S

May 16, 2020

I enjoyed the course a bit. But in middle i got stuck for some lectures which were designed in a bit difficult way to understand. Otherwise the rest of the materials were great. Learnt a Lot!

교육 기관: Megan

Dec 18, 2019

Abstract thinking and questioning of what we do know versus what is unknown to us. There isn't precise answers to everything but the exploration is what matters. Think, think and think again.

교육 기관: Jonás H

May 05, 2017

Excelente curso y maestros, solo recomendar que hay videos que no están traducidos al español creo que son 3, y que los exámenes no estén en español afecta mucho el desempeño. Pero muy bien,

교육 기관: Divyadarshan C

Jan 31, 2016

It was very interesting and of great relevance to many aspect of my fields of interest. They even had a special lecture on the philosophy of time travel that was a cherry on top of the cake!

교육 기관: sophia

May 18, 2020

I really like the course and contents are very interesting, but tricky sometimes to understand. Unfortunately I've got to de enroll due to new work commitment but will try and rejoin later.

교육 기관: Alan A S

Jan 14, 2016

Very interesting but the video ended abruptly when I was expecting a question. There appears to be no link to the next part of the course. I would have found a facility to rewind helpful.

교육 기관: Rubin S

Jul 08, 2017

Super good course. The course gives a birds' eye view of philosophy, various substrata of thinking within the field and really gave me a deeper understanding of what philosophy is about.

교육 기관: Gervasio C

Jul 31, 2020

Interesting class, makes you think about possibilities which I would not have expected. Also, great course to force you to think critically and objectively about questions and issues.