학생용
Chevron Left
Introduction to Philosophy(으)로 돌아가기

에든버러대학교의 Introduction to Philosophy 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
7,100개의 평가
1,661개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course will introduce you to some of the main areas of research in contemporary philosophy. Each module a different philosopher will talk you through some of the most important questions and issues in their area of expertise. We’ll begin by trying to understand what philosophy is – what are its characteristic aims and methods, and how does it differ from other subjects? Then we’ll spend the rest of the course gaining an introductory overview of several different areas of philosophy. Topics you’ll learn about will include: Epistemology, where we’ll consider what our knowledge of the world and ourselves consists in, and how we come to have it; Philosophy of science, where we’ll investigate foundational conceptual issues in scientific research and practice; Philosophy of Mind, where we’ll ask questions about what it means for something to have a mind, and how minds should be understood and explained; Political Philosophy, where we'll investigate whether we have an obligation to obey the law; Moral Philosophy, where we’ll attempt to understand the nature of our moral judgements and reactions – whether they aim at some objective moral truth, or are mere personal or cultural preferences, and; Metaphysics, where we’ll think through some fundamental conceptual questions about free will and the nature of reality. The development of this MOOC has been led by the University of Edinburgh's Eidyn research centre. To accompany 'Introduction to Philosophy', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Introduction to Philosophy' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please click "Start Here" and navigate to the "Optional Reading" page for more information....

최상위 리뷰

LT
2015년 9월 1일

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and find that it encouragingly sets some directions, and of course, raises my excitement for further study into some of the different fields of philosophy. Thank you.

CC
2015년 10월 7일

Great explanations that is broken down with examples for understanding. Quizzes test for your understanding of the topic rather than just the textbook explanations. Challenging and thought revoking.

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Philosophy의 1,642개 리뷰 중 1351~1375

교육 기관: William P

2016년 3월 31일

From an engineer perspective this was hard to see obvious value in but i enjoyed the thought provoking topics. Some of the tests were very hard and the questions were not directly form the lectures while others were. Some presenters were hard to understand due to accent.

교육 기관: vanita T

2020년 8월 28일

I enjoyed this course. Curiosity about philosophy increased. contents of this course bring a new way to see philosophical arguments separately as per subjective fundamental questions. Readings will help me to conceptualized philosophical questions and arguments further.

교육 기관: Yee C H

2020년 4월 24일

As this is a Introduction courses, the course content that presented are fairly easy to understand for any new beginner. Is a good starting point for anyone who is intend to start to understand philosophy. Looking forward for much deeper courses for Philosophy.

교육 기관: onur m

2015년 9월 18일

a lovely introduction class. touches some of the most important philosophical fields and multiple approaches to said fields. if you are into philosophy in a beginner level, you should check this out (for the fancy steampunk clothes in week7 if nothing else)

교육 기관: ZifengHuang

2020년 9월 25일

It's my first lesson taken in Coursera. It is a good lesson but some Chinese subtitles are wrong, this make some trouble to me. I hadn't take the whole lesson, however, I think this lesson is a little boring. Nevertheless, it still a good class, UpVote!

교육 기관: Alex M

2020년 2월 22일

Interesting course, gives a bird's eye view on the fundamental topics of philosophy. I'd prefer it to go deeper on some topics, like philosophy of science, but it's just an introduction and they had to cover everything in a relatively short time.

교육 기관: Ivan D G

2017년 8월 3일

I am an Engineer, always with a curiosity for Philosophy. This is an excellent course to understand some of the basic concepts in philosophy, but the best I got is the vocabulary, the meaning of language and some historic context.

Thank you.

교육 기관: Shivani M

2020년 9월 19일

This was a decent course for an introduction to Philosophy. The lectures and the topics were pretty thought provoking. It could have had maybe a few assignments apart from the quizes. Nevertheless, I enjoyed it and learned quite a lot.

교육 기관: Jaideep J

2019년 7월 8일

This course really helped me in exploring the field of Philosophy on the surface level which was my objective of joining the course. I still felt that course content was much tilted towards western culture and hence gave 4 star.

교육 기관: syedzainaliraza

2017년 1월 12일

This is an excellent course but some complex topics could have been explained more like Quantum indeterminacy and the time / travel part to help the new person grasp the idea. However, its an excellent course to start with!!

교육 기관: Joshua V

2017년 3월 25일

Was a pleasure to study. I feel this was a satisfactory entry into the study of philosophy. I quite enjoyed the final portions in week five, particularly that of Sir Richard, and his discussion of the logic of time travel.

교육 기관: Gagan K K

2020년 6월 12일

Everything starts with a theory before doing practical, if we think life is a practical attempt then philosophy is the theory to that life. And I learnt some interesting things in life.

Thank you for providing this course.

교육 기관: Satyajit K

2020년 5월 20일

Very informative & thought-provoking content.

I personally liked module on the philosophy of mind & time travel.

Truly, the contents of this course can serve as building blocks for any learner to develop his research work.

교육 기관: Bert M

2020년 9월 10일

As an introduction this course seems sufficient.

A small inconvenience was the impossibility to edit my peer review submission.

On the certificate the signature was "Signature" in handwriting, which seems a bit silly.

교육 기관: Alok T

2016년 1월 4일

It's a great introduction to the variety of philosophical topics, being introductory it just scratches the surface though. Could be made more interesting, but nonetheless a good course to get started with philosophy.

교육 기관: Nicholas V

2017년 8월 29일

I understand it is an introductory course, but I would have appreciated more and more in-depth discussions of the topics brought up. This made me aware of some historical questions but I am eager to dig in further.

교육 기관: Himal k

2020년 4월 30일

Thank you very much for this cousera.this is moving from a fixed Midwest to learning Midwest with Coursera even if I don't know sometimes,I can learn it.thats a Life change Coursera...thank u very much

😊😊🥰🥰😃

교육 기관: Risto M

2017년 1월 27일

Where is the course discussion forum? It definitely needs one!

Why was determinism taken as granted in the lectures? It is a highly disputed topic which undermines most of the free will arguments that were shown.

교육 기관: Samuel S

2016년 3월 5일

Very good introduction to philosophy. The amount of work and care that was used to create this course is clearly visible in the videos with the speakers, backgrounds, video and sound quality. Thanks very much!

교육 기관: Jialiang P

2017년 8월 31일

The course design is not well-structured because the questions embedded in the lecture may turn out not to be in agreement with the videos.

Other than that, I find this course overall enlightening and useful.

교육 기관: David S

2017년 9월 29일

Excellent introduction to philosophy! At least in my mind. Interesting topics: free will, moral obligation in a society, etc. Good presenters with good examples and arguments/counter arguments. Very pleased.

교육 기관: christopher l s

2015년 9월 25일

I enjoyed this course immensely. I wanted to gain a general idea of what the science or belief behind Philosophy was. This course gave me just that. A good over view of the subjects and the ideas behind it.

교육 기관: Aloke N P

2015년 12월 2일

Classes were interesting apart from a bit of pronunciation problem to understand the professors, I guess the course was informative and lays down a foundation for thinking about the wider problems around.

교육 기관: Mahmoud A

2019년 11월 28일

Great content, it's an eye-opener that makes me see the big spectrum of philosophical topics that are discussed during the course. I'm looking forward to learning more about philosophy and human history.

교육 기관: Paul B

2019년 6월 3일

As a complete novice I struggled at times with the content and my understanding of the topics being taught, but its important to not only listen and watch the video's but to also read the extra material.