Chevron Left
Introduction to Philosophy(으)로 돌아가기

에든버러대학교의 Introduction to Philosophy 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
5,487개의 평가
1,275개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course will introduce you to some of the main areas of research in contemporary philosophy. Each module a different philosopher will talk you through some of the most important questions and issues in their area of expertise. We’ll begin by trying to understand what philosophy is – what are its characteristic aims and methods, and how does it differ from other subjects? Then we’ll spend the rest of the course gaining an introductory overview of several different areas of philosophy. Topics you’ll learn about will include: Epistemology, where we’ll consider what our knowledge of the world and ourselves consists in, and how we come to have it; Philosophy of science, where we’ll investigate foundational conceptual issues in scientific research and practice; Philosophy of Mind, where we’ll ask questions about what it means for something to have a mind, and how minds should be understood and explained; Political Philosophy, where we'll investigate whether we have an obligation to obey the law; Moral Philosophy, where we’ll attempt to understand the nature of our moral judgements and reactions – whether they aim at some objective moral truth, or are mere personal or cultural preferences, and; Metaphysics, where we’ll think through some fundamental conceptual questions about free will and the nature of reality. The development of this MOOC has been led by the University of Edinburgh's Eidyn research centre. To accompany 'Introduction to Philosophy', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Introduction to Philosophy' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please click "Start Here" and navigate to the "Optional Reading" page for more information....

최상위 리뷰

LT

Sep 02, 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and find that it encouragingly sets some directions, and of course, raises my excitement for further study into some of the different fields of philosophy. Thank you.

CC

Oct 08, 2015

Great explanations that is broken down with examples for understanding. Quizzes test for your understanding of the topic rather than just the textbook explanations. Challenging and thought revoking.

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Philosophy의 1,264개 리뷰 중 126~150

교육 기관: Christopher B

Oct 18, 2019

I had a great time on this course and I learned many new interesting concepts that got me thinking, and will help me to learn any other course I take. In particular, I enjoyed learning about Are Scientific Theories True?, Minds, Brains and Computers, and Time Travel and Philosophy.

교육 기관: Laura Y

Mar 30, 2020

I absolutely loved this! Really good overview of all these subjects, with an options and information to go deeper. The lecturers were all amazing, and I'm going to be going over these notes quite a bit! Really helped reignite my interest in thinking about things differently :)

교육 기관: Viviana Q

Apr 22, 2020

Awesome introduction course. It invites you to think critically and challenges you in order to question your own conclusion. Thank you for all the teachings and easy and funny examples so that we can better understand the complex vocabulary of the quoted ancient philosophers.

교육 기관: José M N L

May 21, 2020

Great course around a modern vision of the basis of philosophy; good material, very high level of equipment docent. I get skill on analysis and several 'trends' of the 'actual philosophy' in form of introduction. Thanks for all, then, to University of Edimburgh and Coursera.

교육 기관: Hernan M

Jun 12, 2016

Great course from one of the top universities in the world! Deep throughout, fast-paced but easy to understand, this course will give you a first impression of what Philosophy really is, making you want to delve more into this awesome world of thinking.

I highly recommend it!

교육 기관: James D R

May 19, 2019

An excellent course that does precisely what it says. It provides a fantastic taste of some of the foundations of philosophy. The content of the video lecturers are wonderful.

My only complaint is that the multiple choice tests at the end of each section have bugs in them.

교육 기관: Terrance J M

Apr 28, 2020

Never even thought about philosophy before (pun unintended), but this introductory course to the subject was a great awakening. Plans are to continue in philosophical studies. Much thanks to the University of Edinburgh, Coursera and the great lecturers in this course.

교육 기관: Crista M

Jun 11, 2020

Super interesting course and excellent lecturers. There’s a lot to wrap your head around, but it’s engaging and thought provoking. It was easy to feel motivated to continue through the lectures and the quizzes are well crafted to help ensure that you truly do “get it.”

교육 기관: Ajnabi K P

Jun 08, 2020

Philosophy is a way of thinking about the world, the universe, and society. It works by asking very basic questions about the nature of human thought, the nature of the universe, and the connections between them. The ideas in philosophy are often general and abstract.

교육 기관: Jose M G

Dec 09, 2016

Una excelente introducción al pensamiento filosófico, desde una visión bastante práctica. Me ha sorprendido especialmente el último tema sobre viajes en el tiempo, que en principio parece no cuadrar con el resto de "topics", pero resulta muy interesante y divertido.

교육 기관: Emmanual P J

Jun 12, 2020

The first thing I wanted to highlight is the remarkable wisdom of the professors. The ease with which they discuss the ideas is an evidence of the command they have over the philosophy of knowledge. They made the discussions so appealing with intelligible examples.

교육 기관: Pablo G A

Jun 05, 2017

I think this course is interesting and well structured. I think it is a good introduction to philosophy. I learned a lot about morality, knowledge, laws, politics, minds, science, free will, and time travel.

The course also helped me to practice English :-)

Thanks!

교육 기관: Jake G

Oct 25, 2015

While the indidivual lectureres did have a breadth of knowledge, a manditory discusion should be held with the homeworks instead of just the quizzes for completion. Perhaps a page on each week should be good enough. Just to understand each lecturer's main points.

교육 기관: JORGE E M L V

Mar 23, 2019

MUY BUEN CURSO PARA INTRODUCIRSE AL MUNDO DE LA FILOSOFÍA, DE VERDAD QUE ES BASTANTE INTERESANTE APRENDER COSAS DE FILOSOFÍA LO RECOMIENDO MUCHO APRA PERSONAS QUE ESTUDIAN CARRERAS DE CIENCIAS SOCIALES COMO DERECHO, EDUCACIÓN, FILOSOFÍA, PSICOLOGÍA Y HUMANIDADES

교육 기관: Sophia A

Nov 09, 2017

Lead me to the beginning of doing philosophy and bring me with how to work out the right way of thinking about things. Share with me the big questions in contemporary philosophy.

I start to love Philosophy after this course! Thank you so much for your efforts!

교육 기관: Valery M

May 12, 2020

This course was great!

Definitely a good introduction to Philosophy, as they do an excellent job covering many different topics in such a short amount of time. The way concepts and ideas are explained is clear and perfect for beginners. Totally recommend it.

교육 기관: Jessica H

Sep 26, 2015

Clear, well-paced and engaging classes. I appreciated the overview of key debates in each topic, and my experience with this course was made all the more enjoyable through the passion with which the lecturers spoke about their respective areas of interest.

교육 기관: Ratul D

Jun 24, 2020

I had an amazing time while going through this course. It helped me to deliberate the ideas and to have a proper subjective goals to it with topics of Idealism, Ethics which HSS brought a change in me. I'm Thankful to coursers for letting me a part of it.

교육 기관: Jolanta F

Oct 13, 2016

I have enjoyed this course from the first class; it shows the philosophy as a set of ideas we may discuss using logic and not as a set of dates and Names attached to the Books. The professors are brilliant, lectures neither intimidated nor oversimplified.

교육 기관: Bo P

Apr 13, 2019

I really enjoyed this course. Many intro to Philosophy can be pretty boring and hard to get into. However, this was accessible and introduced enough topics to get you interested. Also liked the balance and diversity in teaching staff. Highly recommended!

교육 기관: stephen

May 25, 2020

A great introduction to Philosophy in general and i really enjoyed the lecturers the content. The lectures were long enough but not to detailed that i got lost in the subject matter. I will definitely continue on my path of self knowledge. Thank you.

교육 기관: Juan C C G

Jun 20, 2019

Casi perfecto, muy versatil, diferente, ameno, solo un poco complicados los cuestionarios de evaluación, aunque como profesor me ayudaron a dificultar mis exámenes. Nota la parte más difícil es la de filosofía de la ciencia, la Doctora habló muy rápido.

교육 기관: Elad

May 09, 2020

This was really a great starting point to explore a field that I have for many years yearned to discover and has brought me to a point where I can better reason and understand about the nature of (some) philosophical discussions and ideas. Many thanks!

교육 기관: Chung-Han L

May 06, 2019

This course is highly recommended. It makes me be more humble in front of knowledge and request me to think more and more differently. Philosophy is not only a subject but also a way of thinking. I believe it helps you in any field you are focusing on.

교육 기관: Weiwei H

Sep 02, 2015

Very thought-provoking. Every teacher gives a comprehensible and approachable lecture about the given topics. The complementary material also helps. Be very contented with all of them. Thank you for all the contribution for making this course possible!