Chevron Left
Seeing Through Photographs(으)로 돌아가기

뉴욕 현대 미술관의 Seeing Through Photographs 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
3,383개의 평가
924개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Although taking, sharing, and viewing photographs has become second nature for many of us, our regular engagement with images does not necessarily make us visually literate. This course aims to address the gap between seeing and truly understanding photographs by introducing a diversity of ideas, approaches, and technologies that inform their making. In this course you will look closely at photographs from the collection of The Museum of Modern Art and hear a variety of perspectives on what a photograph is and the ways that photography has been used throughout its nearly 180 year history: as a means of artistic expression, as a tool for science and exploration; as an instrument of documentation; to tell stories and record histories; and as a mode of communication and critique in our ever increasingly visual culture. Learning Objectives • Develop skills to better examine and understand the differences between photographs and photographic images. • Discover how context influences the production, circulation, and reception of photographic images. • Learn about different modes of artistic and technological experimentation and innovation in photography. • Investigate photography’s role in our increasingly visual culture....

최상위 리뷰

AQ

Mar 09, 2016

Seeing Through Photographs has given me a whole new way of looking at my own and other peoples' work. So many aspects, details and points of view, the world of photography now seems even more amazing.

AD

Dec 26, 2019

This is a really great way to get a beginners academic insight into photography, really interesting video and written content. I learned a lot and enjoyed studying again, thank you MoMA and Coursera!

필터링 기준:

Seeing Through Photographs의 912개 리뷰 중 101~125

교육 기관: harald w

Jun 11, 2020

Thank you so much for everything - all the in-between information I received, especially the invitations for discussions, all the wonderful online readings (and the it was possible to copy out text for translation - as english is not my mother language, that was sometimes helpful

Great experience!

kinds Harald

교육 기관: Jonathan H

May 04, 2020

A well structured course taking the pupil from the early days of photography through to the modern day, focusing on the many and varied subjects and methods used by the leaders in this medium. Both mandatory and optional reading materials mean you can do as little or as much as you want to complete the course.

교육 기관: Ella S

Aug 03, 2020

Very interesting and informative! I was able to complete the course alongside other studies as it's flexible and easily set out to follow progress and areas missed. Would highly recommend for anyone interested in photography or art as there are a wide variety of artists and themes within photography covered.

교육 기관: Maria X

Apr 03, 2020

Great course for reflections on photography and analysis of art. You will be provided with short interviews with artists and art professionals. You will discover photographers you didn't know and potential links among their photos. A really good option for anyone interested in photography, curating and art.

교육 기관: Elizabeth C

Feb 06, 2017

I developed a deeper understanding of the role of photography from this course. From the first lesson I was hooked. It has ample examples of all different types of photography and how they have influence society. I found the interviews with the photographers to be enlightening. Highly recommend this course.

교육 기관: Mridul K G

Feb 27, 2016

I learned a lot from the course on how to make develop your idea & sense as an Artist/ Humanitarian. I can see the world through a viewfinder for the love of light! This course is ever well structured. Guys , 'Seeing Through Photographs' is great photographic course for Activist/Visual Art lover.

Thank You.

교육 기관: William E

May 31, 2020

As a gallery owner (GALLERY5X7) and photographer with interest in what is termed "alternative process photography," I appreciated the course starting with a view to historic photographic process and ending with questions on the ocean of images we are inundated with from social media, etc. Great course!

교육 기관: Vidmantas V

Jun 11, 2020

It was enjoyable journey through the history of photography, technical means, methods, understanding, some prominent names and less known ones. I like the structure of the course, short videos, quizzes and materials provided. Definitely there is much more of reading than minutes shows and it is good.

교육 기관: Andy P

Apr 03, 2016

An extremely well organised, informative and educational course, with excellent materials including book extracts, web links and videos. A lot of time and effort has gone into making this course and it clearly shows. 'Seeing Through Photographs' is a must for anyone who is serious about photography.

교육 기관: Saida I

May 31, 2020

I want to thank all the teachers and those supported the course, it's an amazing opportunity to sort out the knowledge and get a deep understanding of photography as art and medium. It filled the gaps in my understanding of this art form and gave me so many new ideas and inspiration! Thank you!!!!!

교육 기관: Emile C

Oct 18, 2018

This course is great if you interested in the history of photography. It looks at the past so you know why photography is the way it is today. Whether you enjoy taking pictures or just looking at photographs. This course breaks it down indepth so you can anaylize photographs on a day-to-day basis.

교육 기관: Mirella C

Jun 14, 2020

This course offers an excellent overview of the movements and styles that made the history of photography. The Readings & Additional Resources they complete each week are real treasures through which exploring and be inspired by the deep analysis of the authors. Now I love photography even more.

교육 기관: Filipe C

Jun 01, 2017

Eu achei o curso super interessante. Há 10 anos já venho estudando fotografia, desde a técnica, como sua história. Fiz mestrado na área e mesmo assim havia muitas informações novas para mim. Recomendo muito este curso, principalmente para aqueles que tem a fotografia como meio de ganhar a vida.

교육 기관: Ivone R d F

Jan 09, 2018

The course offers knowledge about photography and its history, classes are carefully prepared and in order to facilitate understanding. The questions were clear, instructive and of good quality.

Thank you for the opportunity to participate in this course, my expectation has been reached.

교육 기관: Cíntia A

Nov 14, 2017

The course is great. I am not expert about photograph just a fan of it but with this course I learnt a lot about the history of photograph and about the artists as well. Deffinitily if I could have a chance to attend a second module of this course I would do it. Thanks MoMA and Coursera.

교육 기관: Stéphane I

Jul 03, 2020

Seeing Through Photographs is an excellently curated and presented course. The historical images assembled and the new content created for the course are all pertinent to the subject being discussed. Seeing Through Photographs helped me understand and appreciate photography even more.

교육 기관: Fernando A

Nov 03, 2019

Gran curso, el contenido es bastante moderno en su presentaciòn. Las referencias amplias con bastantes entrevistas personalizados de los artistas nombrados a traves de cada semana. El curso tambien ofrece la posibilidad de discutir en grupo y de dar su propio trabajo al final de este.

교육 기관: Shilpa S

Dec 12, 2018

This course gave me such a valuable perspective on all that photography can be and do, to see the diverse work of some greats in the field, the constant reinvention (and innovation) in the field as the world around us changes, especially in the way we make and consume images everyday.

교육 기관: Pannawat M

May 03, 2020

Thank you for this great course. The content covers both the general public and focuses on deep content. I have just additions to the Indicates required readings and resources. The file is a ★ PDF. I would like to have the image of artist of the sample in the content as well.

best,

교육 기관: Matilde B

Nov 18, 2017

Excelente curso. Un viaje ilustrativo y exacto a través de la fotografía, desde sus inicios hasta nuestros días. Transmite conocimientos que ayudan a comprender el sentido de hacer fotografía y que estimulan al crecimiento en la manera de capturar imágenes. Aprendí y lo disfruté.

교육 기관: Ale R

May 31, 2016

So beautifully "curated", so intricate but simple in execution, such an amazing insight into American photography. Fully recommended to anybody remotely interested in photography and its history. Thank you MoMA, and Ms. Meister for carefully putting together this marvelous course!

교육 기관: Mauro

Jul 21, 2020

Very good course!

The platform is very organized, the course is interesting and the material is very rich.

The course helped me to improve my knowledge of photography and its narrative forms. It's a great course. I recommend

Congratulations to the creators for their excellent work.

교육 기관: Pecherskikh A

May 10, 2020

Both insightful and inspiring story about the medium's history through the look at the outstanding American artists and their works. It was a real pleasure to take part. I especially enjoyed emails with additional materials and invites for online sessions of questions & answers.

교육 기관: Alexandra C J

May 26, 2020

I recommend this class as a wonderful historical overview of photography. Take advantage of the extra readings and video presentations. Course is very comprehensive about the history of photography - it lightly touches on post modernism and artists of today. Wonderful teacher!