Chevron Left
Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows(으)로 돌아가기

텔 아비브 대학교의 Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
1,621개의 평가
476개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

For centuries we have collectively marveled at plant diversity and form—from Charles Darwin’s early fascination with stems and flowers to Seymour Krelborn’s distorted doting in Little Shop of Horrors. This course intends to present an intriguing and scientifically valid look at how plants themselves experience the world—from the colors they see to the sensations they feel. Highlighting the latest research in genetics and more, we will delve into the inner lives of plants and draw parallels with the human senses to reveal that we have much more in common with sunflowers and oak trees than we may realize. We’ll learn how plants know up from down, how they know when a neighbor has been infested by a group of hungry beetles, and whether they appreciate the music you’ve been playing for them or if they’re just deaf to the sounds around them. We’ll explore definitions of memory and consciousness as they relate to plants in asking whether we can say that plants might even be aware of their surroundings. This highly interdisciplinary course meshes historical studies with cutting edge modern research and will be relevant to all humans who seek their place in nature. This class has three main goals: 1. To introduce you to basic plant biology by exploring plant senses (sight, smell, hearing, touch, taste, balance). 2. To introduce you to biological research and the scientific method. 3. To get the student to question life in general and what defines us as humans. Once you've taken this course, if you are interested in a more in-depth study of plants, check out my follow-up course, Fundamentals of Plant Biology (https://www.coursera.org/learn/plant-biology/home/welcome). In order to receive academic credit for this course you must successfully pass the academic exam on campus. For information on how to register for the academic exam – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/registration Additionally, you can apply to certain degrees using the grades you received on the courses. Read more on this here – https://go.tau.ac.il/b.a/mooc-acceptance Teachers interested in teaching this course in their class rooms are invited to explore our Academic High school program here – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/online-highschool...

최상위 리뷰

DS

2021년 8월 14일

I really liked this course, the professor was engaging, clear, and informative, and did a great job explaining and simplifying the more complex biology topics so that it was digestible for beginners.

RV

2016년 12월 12일

Love the clarity of the instructors deliver which is supported by great explanations and most importantly visual aids & demonstrations. Ps... Especially loved the bloopers at the end. Nice treat! :)

필터링 기준:

Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows의 476개 리뷰 중 426~450

교육 기관: Ghaxala A

2017년 7월 21일

perfect

교육 기관: Jesus m m g

2018년 1월 23일

genial

교육 기관: Erik P

2022년 3월 3일

si

교육 기관: Asima K

2021년 6월 23일

.

교육 기관: Hans W

2017년 7월 21일

O

교육 기관: Marcelo d S Z

2018년 8월 15일

The course is brilliant, really insightful and enjoyable. Daniel Chamovitz is a very good teacher. Only issue that can be solved very easily is to adjust the rubrics of the final quiz to be clear if the questions allow one or more correct answers, as this doesn't follow a pattern and confuses while taking the test. I almost gave up to try it again after filed the first time (and ultimately purchase the certificate) because I was sure I opted for right answered many times but got a negative feedback until I realised what was going on.

교육 기관: Janet R

2020년 11월 27일

I enjoyed the class. The teacher was great. The readings took many hours due to being a beginning Botany student. I had to study the syllabus a lot for basics. The quizes could be more straight forward if each question had only one answer. I especially liked watching the time laps plants growing. The text was good and the lectures were often entertaining. He had some good questions.

Thanks for the free class. now I need to take a class in horticulture so I can improve my skills in the garden.

교육 기관: Jacqlyn S

2022년 5월 31일

A​ good overview of concepts and some of the related research. Be aware, however, that the lecturer tends to jump around topics without ever resolving them and that some of the exam questions aren't clear, are designed to trick you, and/or have typos. Overall, a good learning experience for a beginner looking to better understand plant biology.

교육 기관: Nancy L

2019년 3월 5일

Lots of great information - Thank you! It would have been helpful if some key concepts had been repeated/emphasized more throughout the course. Maybe include a unit summary or study guide before taking each quiz. And definitely include a course review before the final quiz! Thanks for a great course. I'm going on to take Part 2.

교육 기관: Lois B

2019년 11월 25일

Fascinating information, very interesting lectures. But the tests weren't designed very well - more likely to trip people up than provide a real review of the information. It would have been helpful if we were informed of how many of the possible answers were correct for each question.

교육 기관: Natthpan

2020년 5월 9일

This is a very good opportunity to learn plant. I once hated this lesson in school. Because the way my teacher taught was so boring, but this course is completely different, it is so interesting. The important thing is that it save a lot of time the lesson was short but got the point.

교육 기관: Amanda S

2017년 6월 27일

Very interesting course, although some of the concepts were beyond me and I couldn't get to grips with them! Very pleased to have passed though, so perseverance paid off. Never take plants for granted, they're amazing!

교육 기관: Aadra G

2020년 6월 26일

I highly commend the explanation of multiple core principles in cell biology, experiment design, and history while covering the topic. The pace suited me well.

교육 기관: Bat-el P

2017년 1월 19일

Professor Daniel Chamovitz was wonderful and very interesting. But it was difficult for me as I have very little preliminary information on plants and biology

교육 기관: Marjet B

2018년 2월 15일

Very educational! Some conclusions of some experiments I could recollect as detailed as was necessary for the final test. Learned a lot!! Thanks!

교육 기관: Saleem A

2017년 2월 10일

nicely covers the content for even a new learner its a good source of knowledge. i am impressed by the course content and teacher

교육 기관: Thembelihle M

2022년 4월 19일

Great course content, very relevant. I learned a lot about plants behavior concerning seasons, environment, weather patterns.

교육 기관: SK

2017년 6월 18일

It is a very interesting seminar, Teacher has very good communication skills. But the final exam was very difficult!

교육 기관: Mohamed . T

2020년 7월 13일

It is a good course and very developed. It woud be good to have more Laboratory expirements in the course.

교육 기관: Sonal D

2020년 4월 12일

This is a very interesting course. Very simply and nicely explained. Only Final quiz has some loopholes.

교육 기관: Sandra R S

2021년 12월 31일

The two take aways: the growing food insecurity and the negative impact of humanity on the environment.

교육 기관: Saikat D

2020년 7월 26일

I liked the lectures very much. However, I think the quiz design needs more attention.

교육 기관: Shirdheen R

2017년 8월 10일

It was a very interesting course and has made me look at plants with a different lens.

교육 기관: Priscilla v D

2018년 10월 6일

I really liked this course. Definatly a success. But how do i get my cerftificate.

교육 기관: Elana H

2017년 5월 3일

Very compelling and easy to follow (this coming from a Liberal Arts major).