Chevron Left
Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows(으)로 돌아가기

텔 아비브 대학교의 Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
1,603개의 평가
470개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

For centuries we have collectively marveled at plant diversity and form—from Charles Darwin’s early fascination with stems and flowers to Seymour Krelborn’s distorted doting in Little Shop of Horrors. This course intends to present an intriguing and scientifically valid look at how plants themselves experience the world—from the colors they see to the sensations they feel. Highlighting the latest research in genetics and more, we will delve into the inner lives of plants and draw parallels with the human senses to reveal that we have much more in common with sunflowers and oak trees than we may realize. We’ll learn how plants know up from down, how they know when a neighbor has been infested by a group of hungry beetles, and whether they appreciate the music you’ve been playing for them or if they’re just deaf to the sounds around them. We’ll explore definitions of memory and consciousness as they relate to plants in asking whether we can say that plants might even be aware of their surroundings. This highly interdisciplinary course meshes historical studies with cutting edge modern research and will be relevant to all humans who seek their place in nature. This class has three main goals: 1. To introduce you to basic plant biology by exploring plant senses (sight, smell, hearing, touch, taste, balance). 2. To introduce you to biological research and the scientific method. 3. To get the student to question life in general and what defines us as humans. Once you've taken this course, if you are interested in a more in-depth study of plants, check out my follow-up course, Fundamentals of Plant Biology (https://www.coursera.org/learn/plant-biology/home/welcome). In order to receive academic credit for this course you must successfully pass the academic exam on campus. For information on how to register for the academic exam – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/registration Additionally, you can apply to certain degrees using the grades you received on the courses. Read more on this here – https://go.tau.ac.il/b.a/mooc-acceptance Teachers interested in teaching this course in their class rooms are invited to explore our Academic High school program here – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/online-highschool...

최상위 리뷰

DS

2021년 8월 14일

I really liked this course, the professor was engaging, clear, and informative, and did a great job explaining and simplifying the more complex biology topics so that it was digestible for beginners.

RV

2016년 12월 12일

Love the clarity of the instructors deliver which is supported by great explanations and most importantly visual aids & demonstrations. Ps... Especially loved the bloopers at the end. Nice treat! :)

필터링 기준:

Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows의 470개 리뷰 중 101~125

교육 기관: Agustin D

2020년 2월 26일

I found this course an amazing opportunity to understand in a better way how plants interact with their environment. It was also very interesting to understand many plant functions from the cell structure and receptors.

교육 기관: Richard S

2017년 7월 18일

One of the most fulfilling courses I've taken in awhile. Had some really interesting facts about plants. Also, the teaching style of the instructor was GREAT! Something about the way he taught draws your attention.

교육 기관: Nikolas M

2021년 9월 7일

What an amazing experience. Professor Chamovitz is an inspiring educator and I can't wait to pursue this area of science further. So glad I was able to participate. Thank you Professor, I appreciate your dedication.

교육 기관: Adrian N A

2020년 6월 26일

Super interesting course about plant senses. This gave so much interesting knowledge about plants and how they behave, and why they behave. Daniel is a wonderful teacher & i had such a great time doing this course.

교육 기관: Hari K K

2020년 4월 13일

This course is absolutely great!!! I enjoyed this course a lot. I am a student from Computer Science background with less knowledge in Plant Biology. Prof. Daniel made my learning cakewalk. Hats off to him!!!!

교육 기관: Fernando J d S

2017년 10월 28일

Congratulations, professor Daniel Chamovitz. I liked very much this course. I'm teaching biodesign in the course here in Belo Horizonte, Brazil, in the university, and I'll use this informations. Best Regards.

교육 기관: Vasseur B

2020년 3월 7일

Excellent class,

Professor Daniel Chamovitz teach plant biology with a very interesting approach of the subject. I definitely advise this class to anyone interested in beginning learning about the subject

교육 기관: Naomi E W

2016년 12월 19일

This was great for me as I am just starting to study biology. It put complicated concepts into accessible language and was a great way to ease myself into studying. I'm looking forward to starting part 2!

교육 기관: Brandy B

2020년 5월 31일

This class provided beneficial education in plant biology and botany. I thoroughly enjoyed the way the material was presented and the various levels of complexity that was taught. This was a great class!

교육 기관: Alejandra M M S

2020년 4월 29일

This course was beyond my expectations, it is amazing to understand what a plant sees, feels and how it grows. The proffesor is very good and the drawings are helpful to understand biology for everyone.

교육 기관: Chia C L

2018년 9월 3일

I did this course for pure curiosity. They may be some terms I find it hard to remember but the course content is interesting enough to keep me going.

Thank you, plants! Thank you professor! Well done!

교육 기관: D S

2021년 8월 14일

I really liked this course, the professor was engaging, clear, and informative, and did a great job explaining and simplifying the more complex biology topics so that it was digestible for beginners.

교육 기관: Camila F D

2020년 10월 26일

O curso é ótimo e é possível apreender muita coisa. Para algumas pessoas com nível mais avançado de biologia e fisiologia vegetal o curso pode parecer introdutório, mas vale a pena fazer. Recomendo!

교육 기관: Dean P

2018년 8월 29일

One of the best courses I have ever watched online. Great choice, and really great teaching. Organized stuff, I wouldn't expect something less from an Israeli University professor. Great work!

교육 기관: Lilian L

2017년 3월 21일

This course is amazing. A very interresting way to undestand the "inteligence" in the adaptation of plants in the enviroment. Professor Daniel Chamovitz is very competent and funny and teach

교육 기관: Abdur R Y

2020년 6월 27일

Excellent course, with a terrific Teacher explaining the subject. Dr Shamovitz keeps you intrigued with the way he presents his knowledge. Looking forward to more courses conducted by him

교육 기관: Miriam D

2022년 5월 6일

T​hank you Pr. Chamovitz for making this amazing knowledge accessible to all! Your teaching will support me going ahead with my entrepreneurial project which is about ecology and IA.

교육 기관: Volodya T

2021년 11월 20일

Thanks for the course and the book. It was interesting and useful. Course completion will help me to substantiate to my relatives my willingness to buy a parcel of land for gardening.

교육 기관: Felix K

2020년 9월 13일

This course is excellent for someone who has minimal understanding about plants or a beginner. Very informative and knowledge densed course. Explained in the most concise way. Thanks!

교육 기관: José A H S

2020년 6월 13일

Excelente curso, me siento realmente fascinado. Sin duda alguna puedo decir que me ha cambiado la forma de ver las plantas, además de incrementar mi interés por la fisiología vegetal.

교육 기관: Ivan S

2017년 9월 24일

Very well explained. Professor put some serious effort in this lectures and it is really useful for everybody who is working with plants, or just enjoying them, to pass this course :)

교육 기관: Larissa D

2019년 9월 18일

I started this course with very little knowledge of biology and finished it with a solid foundation in plant biology. I'd recommend it to anybody wanting to learn more about plants.

교육 기관: Jon P

2019년 11월 17일

Daniel Chamovitz is a very good teacher, the material is a clearly presented. There is also a lot of discussion of experiments which underpin the ideas in the course in a nice way.

교육 기관: Victor Z

2019년 2월 6일

I really liked the clear and neat way the instructor explains every single point with a very natura aproach, the visual explanations and demonstrationswere great and so detaieled

교육 기관: Ruth R

2017년 10월 20일

This was a great course! I loved learning about plants which to be honest i knew very little before completing this course and now I am very well informed and want to know more.