Chevron Left
Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows(으)로 돌아가기

텔 아비브 대학교의 Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
1,621개의 평가
476개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

For centuries we have collectively marveled at plant diversity and form—from Charles Darwin’s early fascination with stems and flowers to Seymour Krelborn’s distorted doting in Little Shop of Horrors. This course intends to present an intriguing and scientifically valid look at how plants themselves experience the world—from the colors they see to the sensations they feel. Highlighting the latest research in genetics and more, we will delve into the inner lives of plants and draw parallels with the human senses to reveal that we have much more in common with sunflowers and oak trees than we may realize. We’ll learn how plants know up from down, how they know when a neighbor has been infested by a group of hungry beetles, and whether they appreciate the music you’ve been playing for them or if they’re just deaf to the sounds around them. We’ll explore definitions of memory and consciousness as they relate to plants in asking whether we can say that plants might even be aware of their surroundings. This highly interdisciplinary course meshes historical studies with cutting edge modern research and will be relevant to all humans who seek their place in nature. This class has three main goals: 1. To introduce you to basic plant biology by exploring plant senses (sight, smell, hearing, touch, taste, balance). 2. To introduce you to biological research and the scientific method. 3. To get the student to question life in general and what defines us as humans. Once you've taken this course, if you are interested in a more in-depth study of plants, check out my follow-up course, Fundamentals of Plant Biology (https://www.coursera.org/learn/plant-biology/home/welcome). In order to receive academic credit for this course you must successfully pass the academic exam on campus. For information on how to register for the academic exam – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/registration Additionally, you can apply to certain degrees using the grades you received on the courses. Read more on this here – https://go.tau.ac.il/b.a/mooc-acceptance Teachers interested in teaching this course in their class rooms are invited to explore our Academic High school program here – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/online-highschool...

최상위 리뷰

DS

2021년 8월 14일

I really liked this course, the professor was engaging, clear, and informative, and did a great job explaining and simplifying the more complex biology topics so that it was digestible for beginners.

RV

2016년 12월 12일

Love the clarity of the instructors deliver which is supported by great explanations and most importantly visual aids & demonstrations. Ps... Especially loved the bloopers at the end. Nice treat! :)

필터링 기준:

Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows의 476개 리뷰 중 451~475

교육 기관: Sandra P M M

2018년 1월 13일

The videos are quite interesting, but the final test is a bit confusing.

교육 기관: Ananya K

2017년 6월 14일

A very good course.. Really enjoyed it. Teaching was the best. Loved it

교육 기관: Amusan M K

2017년 12월 31일

Very interesting introduction into the world of plants. Amazing!!!

교육 기관: CLEMENT-COTTUZ

2016년 11월 21일

Les questionnaires sont un peu piégeux. Le cours est pas mal.

교육 기관: Francine

2017년 3월 24일

Very interesting subject matter, presented very well

교육 기관: Mark

2016년 11월 1일

Very informative--IMPOSSIBLY HARD FINAL EXAM though.

교육 기관: FAGE D

2017년 1월 16일

Very interesting course and enthusiastic professor

교육 기관: Eduardo E D

2018년 10월 16일

Learning a lot. I am very excited

교육 기관: CRISTIAN D A O

2018년 1월 21일

Excellent didactics and material.

교육 기관: Paul K

2016년 11월 13일

very unique method of teaching

교육 기관: Gil K

2018년 1월 12일

מעניין, מחדש, פוקח עיניים.

교육 기관: Laura M

2020년 6월 5일

Ive enjoyed very much

교육 기관: gowtham K

2018년 4월 19일

good course.........

교육 기관: Apurva B

2018년 9월 2일

Interesting course

교육 기관: Ayoubpp

2017년 8월 26일

Very nice course

교육 기관: Alex L

2017년 7월 20일

very difficult

교육 기관: Wang X

2022년 5월 12일

very helpful

교육 기관: Jim D

2022년 3월 9일

I​'m just a retired backyard gardener that wanted to know more about plants. However, I should have done a little more research before committing myself to this course. I didn't realize it would be at the cellular level and was totally unprepared for that. Most of what was taught I'll never use in the real world, but I still found the information fascinating. The biggest take-a-way I got from this course was it completely reinforced my belief in God and that it takes more faith to believe in the evolution theory than it does to believe in creationism. All the inner workings and complexity of plants at the cellular level just showed me more and more that the theory of evolution is nothing but an agenda pushed by spiritually blind "educators" that refuse to believe in a Creator. I'm sure that wasn't the professors intentions, but that was the greatest thing I got from this course and so I must thank him for settling that issue for me. Plants are truly amazing inside and out and to say it all happened by chance is complete nonsense. So thanks again for enlightening me and for solidifying the fact that a Creator was indeed involved in creating plants.

교육 기관: Valery J S

2020년 7월 8일

Professor is interesting but I just don't get it. Algebra is much easier. No wonder I do not have a green thumb.

교육 기관: Pat B

2022년 2월 10일

If this had been my first Coursera course rather than my 18th it would have been my last. The material delivered was very interesting and the instructor appeared to be very knowledgeable but the structure left much to be desired. There were issues with the links to materials that were tested on beyond the course videos. The quizzes were less a test of knowledge than a test of patience, there were so many multiple answer questions without the note that there were multiple answers. Eventually you figure out that you need to click a couple of boxes to discover the need for the extras. The lack of feedback other than correct or wrong is very discouraging.

교육 기관: Patricia M

2022년 5월 11일

Great lectures, but review tests are poorly written and you find quizes ahead of the actual material.

교육 기관: Kim B

2022년 1월 28일

I was initially excited to take this course. The quiz format on multiple modules quickly tired me to pursuing the course. I found that the questions with multiple options to include very frustrating because if one portion of checking all that applied was incorrect then the answer would be wrong. This lead to attempts to correct and and resubmit only to find that I was not reading the question correctly, would remove one of the options I had chosen or I would try to change the answer and still get the question wrong. I tried to go directly to the quiz and write down the questions and potential answers and have this beside me as the videos were listened to. This strategy did not work for me. A very frustrating experience overall. I could see through emails that there was interest and many new participants. I was very interested but do not want to pursue investing the time in this course any longer.

교육 기관: Jerri. M L

2020년 12월 14일

I was stuck on 2nd week. Took the test a number of times. I used all the answers each time that were provided. And still the response was wrong with the choices given.

I took notes to refer to and still i was not successful.

교육 기관: Shrihari N

2021년 2월 24일

It is an amazing course in which I learned a lot. But I still give the one star because the final quiz is extremely difficult, and has many issues that are not being addressed.

교육 기관: Isabelle M

2021년 11월 5일

I liked the information given in this course. The professor really pushed his ideas which was very annoying. The exams are terrible, badly worded, with many typos.