Chevron Left
Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows(으)로 돌아가기

텔 아비브 대학교의 Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
1,619개의 평가
476개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

For centuries we have collectively marveled at plant diversity and form—from Charles Darwin’s early fascination with stems and flowers to Seymour Krelborn’s distorted doting in Little Shop of Horrors. This course intends to present an intriguing and scientifically valid look at how plants themselves experience the world—from the colors they see to the sensations they feel. Highlighting the latest research in genetics and more, we will delve into the inner lives of plants and draw parallels with the human senses to reveal that we have much more in common with sunflowers and oak trees than we may realize. We’ll learn how plants know up from down, how they know when a neighbor has been infested by a group of hungry beetles, and whether they appreciate the music you’ve been playing for them or if they’re just deaf to the sounds around them. We’ll explore definitions of memory and consciousness as they relate to plants in asking whether we can say that plants might even be aware of their surroundings. This highly interdisciplinary course meshes historical studies with cutting edge modern research and will be relevant to all humans who seek their place in nature. This class has three main goals: 1. To introduce you to basic plant biology by exploring plant senses (sight, smell, hearing, touch, taste, balance). 2. To introduce you to biological research and the scientific method. 3. To get the student to question life in general and what defines us as humans. Once you've taken this course, if you are interested in a more in-depth study of plants, check out my follow-up course, Fundamentals of Plant Biology (https://www.coursera.org/learn/plant-biology/home/welcome). In order to receive academic credit for this course you must successfully pass the academic exam on campus. For information on how to register for the academic exam – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/registration Additionally, you can apply to certain degrees using the grades you received on the courses. Read more on this here – https://go.tau.ac.il/b.a/mooc-acceptance Teachers interested in teaching this course in their class rooms are invited to explore our Academic High school program here – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/online-highschool...

최상위 리뷰

DS

2021년 8월 14일

I really liked this course, the professor was engaging, clear, and informative, and did a great job explaining and simplifying the more complex biology topics so that it was digestible for beginners.

RV

2016년 12월 12일

Love the clarity of the instructors deliver which is supported by great explanations and most importantly visual aids & demonstrations. Ps... Especially loved the bloopers at the end. Nice treat! :)

필터링 기준:

Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows의 476개 리뷰 중 201~225

교육 기관: Tânia G M

2018년 1월 7일

It was a very interesting course and after finished it I really want to learn more and more about plants.

Thanks a lot!

교육 기관: Rinsha S

2020년 10월 25일

Helpfull and well clarification about each process is explained .make me more interested in studying about plants🌿🌿

교육 기관: ANJU C

2020년 8월 4일

This is one of the best course. The topic is very simple and no need worry about it. The presentation was superb....

교육 기관: Cotek T

2020년 4월 30일

One of the best courses I have ever undertaken. The knowledge and teaching style of prof. Chamovitz is awesome.

Thanks

교육 기관: Debasish P

2018년 5월 6일

I am very happy to complete this course. I am looking for more courses from Professor Dr. Daneil Chamovitz in future.

교육 기관: TEY W H

2017년 8월 9일

Great Lecturer and good content! plus it is really fun to hear and watch the videos. Thank you for making this course

교육 기관: Jo I M

2021년 12월 15일

It was very enlightning and didactic. Some of the videos could do with an update, but all in all a great experience.

교육 기관: Danise G R

2020년 11월 9일

I've acquired great knowledge about plants! Thank you so much for a wonderful priviledge! you have great instructor!

교육 기관: mariaschlatter@yahoo.co.uk

2021년 5월 24일

Great, enthusiastically and clearly presented course! So many amazing aha moments and takeaways! Really enjoyed it!

교육 기관: Lucero H S

2017년 11월 8일

This is a great course! I loved it, in the final video I cried, tears of happiness, obviously!! Daniel is the best!

교육 기관: janine r w

2020년 6월 19일

A very good course, love the videos and way the information is explained, I have learnt so much. thank you. Janine

교육 기관: Sofia S

2022년 4월 15일

REALLY worth taking. c​ourse very well structured, content is fascinating, prof is efficient and entertaining : )

교육 기관: Leticia X C R

2020년 6월 7일

I love this course. I learned a lot and it just opened my curiosity on plants even more. The lecturer is amazing.

교육 기관: HJ K

2020년 7월 30일

there was some question asking unlearned contents. But except that, perfect for me. be sure, It is for beginner.

교육 기관: Lino S

2018년 1월 4일

Very interesting, thought provoking and excellently delivered. Gives you the basic concepts to go learning more!

교육 기관: laura l

2021년 12월 28일

The information is very complex, but here it's been broken down into smaller bites to make it easier to grasp.

교육 기관: TONG X

2017년 5월 31일

An interesting and engaging course :) I have learnt a few fun facts about plants after completing this course.

교육 기관: Oren S

2016년 11월 8일

Will never look at plants the same again.

Fascinating course, great lecturer, easily understood, great delivery

교육 기관: Juan S H

2019년 3월 10일

Este curso es muy bueno, ayudan a entender de manera muy didáctica los mecanismos sensoriales de las plantas.

교육 기관: Brita F

2018년 2월 18일

An excellent course!!! It is well presented and provides a detailed insight into the sensory world of plants.

교육 기관: Lee C Q

2021년 10월 4일

Very interesting. This course give me a complete different view about how the plants sense its environment.

교육 기관: Dilshan J

2020년 7월 25일

Great course and interesting. This helps to understand the plants and nature in different way. Thank you..!

교육 기관: Ricardo A L L

2021년 10월 15일

This course help me to understood the plants fisiology and how they are similar to humans in basic senses.

교육 기관: Anushka A

2020년 7월 4일

Amazing course and great explanation. This course has enabled me to look at plants in a whole new light.

교육 기관: Maria A D E

2016년 10월 28일

De una forma didáctica y amena enseñan principios básico de fisiología vegetal. Este curso es excelente.