Chevron Left
Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors(으)로 돌아가기

펜실베이니아 대학교의 Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
830개의 평가
214개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

What is philosophy? How does it differ from science, religion, and other modes of human discourse? This course traces the origins of philosophy in the Western tradition in the thinkers of Ancient Greece. We begin with the Presocratic natural philosophers who were active in Ionia in the 6th century BCE and are also credited with being the first scientists. Thales, Anaximander, and Anaximines made bold proposals about the ultimate constituents of reality, while Heraclitus insisted that there is an underlying order to the changing world. Parmenides of Elea formulated a powerful objection to all these proposals, while later Greek theorists (such as Anaxagoras and the atomist Democritus) attempted to answer that objection. In fifth-century Athens, Socrates insisted on the importance of the fundamental ethical question—“How shall I live?”—and his pupil, Plato, and Plato’s pupil, Aristotle, developed elaborate philosophical systems to explain the nature of reality, knowledge, and human happiness. After the death of Aristotle, in the Hellenistic period, Epicureans and Stoics developed and transformed that earlier tradition. We will study the major doctrines of all these thinkers. Part I will cover Plato and his predecessors. Part II will cover Aristotle and his successors....

최상위 리뷰

LL

Mar 09, 2016

Good intro to early Greek philosophy. Dr Meyer has a simple and subtly humorous approach to the material. Dr Meyer makes the subject approachable so that the student wants to do further reading.

LG

Apr 26, 2019

Excellent course, Pr. Sauvé-Meyer keeps the material very engaging, and makes it very clear and easily accessible. Knowing how difficult the original texts are sometimes, this is very valuable.

필터링 기준:

Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors의 207개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Laurent G

Apr 26, 2019

Excellent course, Pr. Sauvé-Meyer keeps the material very engaging, and makes it very clear and easily accessible. Knowing how difficult the original texts are sometimes, this is very valuable.

교육 기관: SHILKUMAR P

Feb 05, 2019

Excellent Course guide (Professor Meyer) and Materials.

Very short but effective lectures.Its difficult to provide whole theme in short lectures but Professor has done this job fabulously.

교육 기관: Jaclyn

Nov 29, 2018

Fantastic course. I know the English translation of the text is hard to follow sometime, but Professor Meyer breaks it down wonderfully. The best part about this philosophy course is that it's strictly about the Plato, Socrates, and the written material. The past philosophy lectures I've heard from professors but their personal opinion and interpretation of the text. I don't care about your personal philosophy I care about Plato and Socrates! Again take this course, Professor Meyer is fantastic!

교육 기관: Chew R

Jan 14, 2019

Delivery of course is very clear and concise and had a very enjoyable and insightful learning experience.

교육 기관: ehab a o

Jan 03, 2019

great

교육 기관: Javier

Feb 15, 2019

This is a brilliant course. Professionally designed and very well structured. I have enjoyed it thoroughly and more importantly I have learnt significantly. I highly recommen

교육 기관: Juan L P B

Feb 24, 2019

Aprendí mucho con éste curso recomendable para quien se interese por la filosofía.

교육 기관: Natalia G M

Mar 21, 2019

Clear course to get introduced into ancient philosophers.

교육 기관: Alvaro J F

Mar 23, 2019

Very good class

교육 기관: mukesh k c

Mar 29, 2019

great course

교육 기관: Marcela C

Jan 30, 2019

Great teacher, it really captures the essence of the ancient philosophers and teaches you the general views in their different philosophical perspectives.

교육 기관: Dimitris S

Jan 18, 2019

Absolutely marvelous Dr Meyer proved that philosophy is not a task for idle thinkers but the mean to face everyday practises under the right perspective and hierarchy.

교육 기관: Yashika

Apr 02, 2019

I was always wanted to know things on Ancient Philosophy, This course has an over all understanding for Plato's work and his students with their different prospective on him and his philosophy.

교육 기관: Robert C C

Apr 01, 2019

Though I don't like doing peer-reviews or peer-reviewed assignments, overall this was an interesting course. Thank you.

교육 기관: Antonia T B

Apr 15, 2019

This course is fascinating. The professor's lectures are very clear and the course is very well structured. It could be longer and it could go deeper, but still is a great course. Compulsory for all philosophy lovers. Thanks & greetings from Spain / Antonia

교육 기관: Luiz C M D

Apr 15, 2019

Um curso introdutório ao tema e as problemáticas da filosofia antiga. Recomendo para aqueles que nunca tiveram contato com o assunto e também para aqueles que querem revisar o tema. A metodologia do curso é super didática, o uso das citações e indicações de bibliografia são o forte do curso. Enfim, recomendo!

교육 기관: Carlos M G

Mar 16, 2019

Excellent teacher

교육 기관: Vangel V

Jul 10, 2018

The lectures were excellent and very clear. The material was familiar to me but still very interesting. I could not be happier with the instructor's demeanour and competence. My only issue was with some of the questions in the quizzes. Being impatient, it was easy to be misdirected into thinking that the question was about one thing when it was about another. That is not a critique of the course because the problem was with my somewhat cavalier approach. Just keep in mind that if you take the course to pay as much attention as possible and to read every word and punctuation mark as it was intended.

교육 기관: Sage F

Aug 18, 2018

Awesome course! One little notice though. I don't think the indicated time of the reading assignments are accurate. I am not good as skimming but I am confident that I read faster than average people. They definitely take longer than 10 min, so do consider that when making your schedule.

교육 기관: Alison O

Oct 28, 2018

Although I do not have the time (or inclination, I guess) to write answers to the provocative questions, I found the lectures and the reading material fascinating. Thank you!

교육 기관: Jairo G P

Nov 02, 2018

Adorei. Para mim, que sou brasileiro, as legendas em espanhol ajudaram muito. Conteúdo conciso e claro, abordando questões fundamentais sobre a matéria. Muito bom!

교육 기관: Benson H

Aug 03, 2018

Beautifully organized, crystal clear, this is a phenomenal introduction to the Pre-Socratics and Plato.

교육 기관: Juan S G P

Sep 19, 2018

Excellent!

교육 기관: Ramiro F V P

Aug 24, 2018

Great!

교육 기관: Gavin C

Oct 17, 2017

In ancient philosophy you will learn who asked the 'big' questions. Questions that are still being debated in our own times by the religious and philosophically minded as well as explored in the arts and sciences. Prof. Meyer's narrative is informative and probing while not being judgemental. Assessing the quality of the ideas and underlying logic is left up to the student. A first rate course by a top class teacher!