Chevron Left
Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors(으)로 돌아가기

펜실베이니아 대학교의 Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
1,361개의 평가
412개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

What is philosophy? How does it differ from science, religion, and other modes of human discourse? This course traces the origins of philosophy in the Western tradition in the thinkers of Ancient Greece. We begin with the Presocratic natural philosophers who were active in Ionia in the 6th century BCE and are also credited with being the first scientists. Thales, Anaximander, and Anaximines made bold proposals about the ultimate constituents of reality, while Heraclitus insisted that there is an underlying order to the changing world. Parmenides of Elea formulated a powerful objection to all these proposals, while later Greek theorists (such as Anaxagoras and the atomist Democritus) attempted to answer that objection. In fifth-century Athens, Socrates insisted on the importance of the fundamental ethical question—“How shall I live?”—and his pupil, Plato, and Plato’s pupil, Aristotle, developed elaborate philosophical systems to explain the nature of reality, knowledge, and human happiness. After the death of Aristotle, in the Hellenistic period, Epicureans and Stoics developed and transformed that earlier tradition. We will study the major doctrines of all these thinkers. Part I will cover Plato and his predecessors. Part II will cover Aristotle and his successors....

최상위 리뷰

AA

2020년 4월 18일

Excellent course. This course has opened up ancient philosophy to me and made it accessible. I feel I have finished the course a good understanding of such keys texts as Plato's Republic and Timaeus.

NM

2020년 7월 26일

I have never studied Philosophy before at school or on my own, but Professor Meyer made it very clear, interesting and fascinating for me to understand. Following this course has been a pleasure!

필터링 기준:

Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors의 407개 리뷰 중 101~125

교육 기관: Bruna F

2020년 7월 26일

I absolutely loved the whole experience available in this course! I've learned a lot, and I'm already beginning the second part! Great professor, thanks to all involved in the project!

교육 기관: Rey N

2022년 1월 3일

Me pareció un curso muy motivador, con una estructura clara pero flexible. Ideal para los tiempos de hoy donde necesitamos compatibilizar nuestro tiempos de trabajo con los estudios.

교육 기관: hezil k

2017년 9월 28일

wow i have enjoyed every single moment with the teacher , she was incredibly awesome and she had a way of explaining that made me really appreciating the whole topic and the course ♥

교육 기관: Oscar A R A

2020년 9월 11일

Un curso muy completo y muy detallado sobre el pensamiento platónico inicial. Excelentes apartados para dar una buena dinámica al curso y una excelente docente conocedora del tema.

교육 기관: Ademilton J D O

2019년 7월 15일

Para mim foi muito bom pois me deu oportunidade de estudar essa ciencia da qual eu amo muito que é a Filosofia muito obrigado e quando eu estiver com tempo quero pode fazer outros.

교육 기관: John W

2022년 2월 14일

Well-organized, very helpful videos with instructor commentary on readings. I also enjoyed the opportunity to read commentary / analysis of other students regarding the material.

교육 기관: Sebastião d O

2021년 12월 2일

The course was very well conducted by Susan, who managed to cover very important aspects of the work of Plato and his predecessors. The course really lived up to my expectations!

교육 기관: J R P

2019년 2월 15일

This is a brilliant course. Professionally designed and very well structured. I have enjoyed it thoroughly and more importantly I have learnt significantly. I highly recommen

교육 기관: Alison O

2018년 10월 28일

Although I do not have the time (or inclination, I guess) to write answers to the provocative questions, I found the lectures and the reading material fascinating. Thank you!

교육 기관: Langlen C

2020년 5월 15일

Its short duration course but so much new knowledge and conceptual. Really like the way of Socrates quesionning and moreover their analysis arguement is whole new best ever.

교육 기관: Nickson U

2020년 9월 4일

I really like this course, because it is well structured and explained to the point which made it easy to understand Socrates and his interlocutors many complex dialogues.

교육 기관: David Y

2017년 6월 2일

Insightful and informative course. Prof Meyer has managed to break down difficult concepts into simple, bite-sized knowledge for any lay person to understand effectively.

교육 기관: François S

2017년 8월 25일

Good, interesting introduction to the cosmology and ethics of Plato and presocratic thinkers. The reading material is good and the lectures are pleasant and interesting!

교육 기관: Camilo A G R

2016년 2월 28일

The course give us an excellent understanding of Ancient philosophers's thoughts with clear explanations and all this is made with an extraodinary order and conciseness.

교육 기관: Dimitris S

2019년 1월 18일

Absolutely marvelous Dr Meyer proved that philosophy is not a task for idle thinkers but the mean to face everyday practises under the right perspective and hierarchy.

교육 기관: Akhilesh S

2018년 3월 12일

If you love Philosophy and antiquity, this is the course for you. It lays down a foundation of Western philosophy, parts of which are still so relevant in the society.

교육 기관: Janani S

2021년 10월 27일

Very informative and enlightening! I am amazed that everyone gets access to such a well put together course, free of cost (unless they want a certificate, of course)!

교육 기관: skuiy

2020년 1월 5일

Thank a lot to the teacher . I felt very lucky to have the oportunity to learn so much about this subject . This course makes me think , learn and improve my english.

교육 기관: Mary J M

2021년 3월 12일

Excellent and intensive material. Presentation and format are also excellent. The instructor is Superior! I really enjoyed this course and will take her next course.

교육 기관: Leo B

2019년 8월 29일

A clear and thorough introduction by Susan Meyer. I have enough information as a result to know how little information I have, and look forward to taking Part II!

교육 기관: Jairo G P

2018년 11월 2일

Adorei. Para mim, que sou brasileiro, as legendas em espanhol ajudaram muito. Conteúdo conciso e claro, abordando questões fundamentais sobre a matéria. Muito bom!

교육 기관: IOANNA L

2020년 6월 25일

I think that this course is very useful, it helped me to understand better several issues related to the basic beliefs of the presocratic philosophers and Plato.

교육 기관: Eduardo A D

2020년 6월 24일

I strongly recommend this course. It's A life changer! Ms. Meyer is a great Professor, and a wise person, she was able to create on me the hunger for knowledge.

교육 기관: DAVID W

2021년 5월 24일

Succinct and to the point, this course provides the basics about Plato and the pre-Socrates in a straightforward and easily understandable manner. Well done!

교육 기관: Marquitta F

2020년 5월 25일

I really enjoyed this class. It was definitely challenging and took the time that was recommended. Though confusing at times I learned a lot from this class.