Chevron Left
Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors(으)로 돌아가기

펜실베이니아 대학교의 Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
1,371개의 평가

강좌 소개

What is philosophy? How does it differ from science, religion, and other modes of human discourse? This course traces the origins of philosophy in the Western tradition in the thinkers of Ancient Greece. We begin with the Presocratic natural philosophers who were active in Ionia in the 6th century BCE and are also credited with being the first scientists. Thales, Anaximander, and Anaximines made bold proposals about the ultimate constituents of reality, while Heraclitus insisted that there is an underlying order to the changing world. Parmenides of Elea formulated a powerful objection to all these proposals, while later Greek theorists (such as Anaxagoras and the atomist Democritus) attempted to answer that objection. In fifth-century Athens, Socrates insisted on the importance of the fundamental ethical question—“How shall I live?”—and his pupil, Plato, and Plato’s pupil, Aristotle, developed elaborate philosophical systems to explain the nature of reality, knowledge, and human happiness. After the death of Aristotle, in the Hellenistic period, Epicureans and Stoics developed and transformed that earlier tradition. We will study the major doctrines of all these thinkers. Part I will cover Plato and his predecessors. Part II will cover Aristotle and his successors....

최상위 리뷰

AA

2020년 4월 18일

Excellent course. This course has opened up ancient philosophy to me and made it accessible. I feel I have finished the course a good understanding of such keys texts as Plato's Republic and Timaeus.

NM

2020년 7월 26일

I have never studied Philosophy before at school or on my own, but Professor Meyer made it very clear, interesting and fascinating for me to understand. Following this course has been a pleasure!

필터링 기준:

Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors의 408개 리뷰 중 376~400

교육 기관: Tim B

2016년 5월 1일

Intuitive, clear and logical progression through important ideas in early Western thought, surprisingly fresh and relevant today.

교육 기관: Ping Z

2016년 9월 26일

Very interesting and challenging. I need to spend a lot of time on the reading assignment, but I enjoyed the reading very much.

교육 기관: Yingyi Z

2019년 4월 22일

Very straightforward course. The professor explains things well, and I found this a very good intro to ancient philosophy.

교육 기관: Marilyn S

2021년 2월 14일

Good course. Wish I could access comments from peer review or continue to access the course itself.

교육 기관: Axel L

2016년 8월 10일

...excellent course for beginners but also for advanced - you will get always a new point of view.

교육 기관: Humfrido

2020년 5월 26일

I loved it. I give four stars only because I think that presential courses are better.

교육 기관: David M

2016년 6월 5일

A good introduction to Ancient Greek Philosophy, though not as in depth as it could be

교육 기관: Sisawad

2019년 12월 13일

I think it was an enriching course. Though not many other students to engage with.

교육 기관: Alina S

2016년 6월 2일

everything is fine but the music before each lecture is so loud and annoying

교육 기관: Louise H

2020년 6월 3일

Maybe a little boring at the end but I very enjoyed the final task !

교육 기관: Chatziiosifidis A

2017년 9월 16일

Very interesting , well designed and presented, introductory course

교육 기관: Clotilde D

2019년 2월 2일

Great course, interesting topics and explanations, thanks !

교육 기관: Francisco L

2019년 6월 26일

Very interesting but some parts too solid.

Many Thanks.

교육 기관: Vimal K

2020년 7월 20일

Loved the way Dr Susan's way of explaining.

교육 기관: Leonidas T

2016년 3월 11일

Very interesting and well structure course.

교육 기관: Warren C

2019년 4월 18일

Good background for further exploration.

교육 기관: Dennis D

2020년 10월 29일

Good overview of these philosophers.

교육 기관: Almis P S

2016년 6월 13일

Interesting material well presented.

교육 기관: Josef P

2016년 3월 10일

Clear and insightful explanation.

교육 기관: Morgan g

2020년 4월 17일

quick

교육 기관: Nada N

2020년 8월 8일

Good

교육 기관: Clare H

2018년 1월 12일

This course covers a lot of very interesting material and is presented in a calm, clear, organized manner. I thought the selected materials were well-chosen and presented in a way that captured the most important ideas of the philosophers discussed. I would not recommend this course to anyone with any formal background in philosophy, as the pace is somewhat slow, and the course spends a lot of time covering some basics of philosophy. (This may be an unfair critique, since I covered this material in college. I was drawn to this course as a refresher, but also hoping to learn something new or gain a new perspective on material I had already read. Rather, this is very much an introductory survey.) As a technical issue, I did not like the "pop quizzes" interspersed into the videos. These were annoying, breaking up the flow of the lecture merely to reiterate basic points. These interruptions added no value. I also disliked the introduction to each video: while it was well-produced, it was repetitive. The into music should be only on the first video, or, at most, on the first video of every section. Not each and every video. It may seem like a little thing, but each video is short, which means you're listening to the same musical into every 5 minutes or so. This is maddening. I skipped over it, but I'd prefer if the videos were edited in a way that acknowledges that people will likely be "binge watching" these, and formatted to flow one into the other seamlessly.

교육 기관: Jeffrey A S A

2019년 8월 12일

The content of the course is quite striking since this knowledge is not found everywhere, free and especially taught by a connoisseur. However, the videos are quite tedious since, in my opinion, the voice and tone of the teacher comes a time when it does not transmit energy and therefore is tedious, especially because they could help her with images, examples, animations etc. that could be more interesting and even more striking.

교육 기관: Nick d U

2016년 5월 9일

The course material is OK; the lectures are fun and interesting, but to pass the course you need to submit an assignment that is subjected to peer review and you will need to get approval by all of your peers. However the act of subscribing to a MOOC alone does not make people suited to review other peoples work...

교육 기관: Julie C

2016년 4월 12일

The professor is animated and clearly loves her subject. I don't think we need to stop so frequently to ask a quiz question though. It's best to keep going on one subject without interruption.