Chevron Left
Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors(으)로 돌아가기

펜실베이니아 대학교의 Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
1,335개의 평가
404개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

What is philosophy? How does it differ from science, religion, and other modes of human discourse? This course traces the origins of philosophy in the Western tradition in the thinkers of Ancient Greece. We begin with the Presocratic natural philosophers who were active in Ionia in the 6th century BCE and are also credited with being the first scientists. Thales, Anaximander, and Anaximines made bold proposals about the ultimate constituents of reality, while Heraclitus insisted that there is an underlying order to the changing world. Parmenides of Elea formulated a powerful objection to all these proposals, while later Greek theorists (such as Anaxagoras and the atomist Democritus) attempted to answer that objection. In fifth-century Athens, Socrates insisted on the importance of the fundamental ethical question—“How shall I live?”—and his pupil, Plato, and Plato’s pupil, Aristotle, developed elaborate philosophical systems to explain the nature of reality, knowledge, and human happiness. After the death of Aristotle, in the Hellenistic period, Epicureans and Stoics developed and transformed that earlier tradition. We will study the major doctrines of all these thinkers. Part I will cover Plato and his predecessors. Part II will cover Aristotle and his successors....

최상위 리뷰

AA
2020년 4월 18일

Excellent course. This course has opened up ancient philosophy to me and made it accessible. I feel I have finished the course a good understanding of such keys texts as Plato's Republic and Timaeus.

LL
2016년 3월 8일

Good intro to early Greek philosophy. Dr Meyer has a simple and subtly humorous approach to the material. Dr Meyer makes the subject approachable so that the student wants to do further reading.

필터링 기준:

Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors의 399개 리뷰 중 151~175

교육 기관: Stefanos M

2021년 1월 17일

Great lecturer with great background for stuff I should be knowing! I will definitely be back in the next course!

교육 기관: Sylvia H K

2016년 6월 20일

Very fine lectures on Plato and the visions of those philosophers that went before him. I've learned a lot of it.

교육 기관: Astra A K

2016년 6월 20일

it was absolutely DELICIOUS!!!!! This was a very well organized, well conceived course, i thoroughly enjoyed it!

교육 기관: Lisa ( C

2018년 2월 12일

Excellent course. Broken into logical sections with great videos and tests to check your knowledge. Thank you!

교육 기관: Caroline S d A

2020년 5월 22일

It was better than I expected. I've learned so much in these weeks and in a very simple way. Thanks Coursera!

교육 기관: Rabeet T

2020년 7월 9일

Great Explanations! This course really helped me to start reading the original works of ancient philosophers

교육 기관: Patrick K

2017년 6월 9일

Very enjoyable overview of PreSocratic thought and how it pertains to Plato's own works. Highly recommended!

교육 기관: Diane N

2016년 3월 6일

Great course for the introduction of Socrates and all of the other great Philosophers, I enjoyed this class.

교육 기관: Beatriz m d

2021년 7월 14일

Ha sido un curso excelente.No puedo hacer los pares por que no hablo inglés,todo el curso está completado.

교육 기관: Steven B

2020년 7월 20일

Interesting, but not too involved. One can get through the weeks material in a reasonable amount of time.

교육 기관: Chew R

2019년 1월 14일

Delivery of course is very clear and concise and had a very enjoyable and insightful learning experience.

교육 기관: Hila J

2021년 7월 26일

had so much fun learning with the professor and I feel like I've learned a lot. Great job and thank you!

교육 기관: Benson H

2018년 8월 2일

Beautifully organized, crystal clear, this is a phenomenal introduction to the Pre-Socratics and Plato.

교육 기관: Andrea V

2017년 12월 18일

Excelente curso. Solo queda agregar la traducción en español y poder bajar las lecciones en pdf o html.

교육 기관: Ferlin P

2016년 2월 19일

This course does a great job at supplementing my University studies. Really high quality intro content.

교육 기관: Megan R

2020년 4월 13일

A great introduction of ancient philosophies. I like the instructor's explanations and lecture style.

교육 기관: José A G R

2017년 9월 15일

very helpfull and atractive course, lots of information and access to material to help understand it.

교육 기관: Alejandra T

2020년 5월 19일

Me encanto ya que comprendí cada tema y la manera de enseñanza es muy entendible para muchos gracias

교육 기관: Areaba S

2020년 5월 17일

It was a wonderful journey of 4 weeks of learning.

Thanks to the Greek legends and Professor Susan.

교육 기관: Yifei W

2019년 8월 18일

Really love this course! Very comprehensive coverage of Plato's theories and significant works. :)

교육 기관: Oscar D

2018년 1월 18일

Beautiful course. It made me inquire about things like I never did before. I enjoyed It very much.

교육 기관: Mandhir S

2021년 3월 22일

Very nicely done by the Instructor. Just the correct amount of rigor for an introductory course.

교육 기관: Sajid K

2020년 6월 17일

I really enjoyed doing this course! Loved the way the instructor explained complex ideas simply.

교육 기관: Monica B

2020년 6월 1일

I have learned a lot about Plato and the philosophers who came before him. Thank you very much!

교육 기관: Eduardo S P

2016년 3월 11일

I really enjoyed this course, the topics were fascinating and the explanations were very clear.