Chevron Left
Sharpened Visions: A Poetry Workshop(으)로 돌아가기

캘리포니아 예술대학의 Sharpened Visions: A Poetry Workshop 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
1,405개의 평가
574개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Why just write poems when you can write better ones? This course is built on the notion that the most exciting writing begins after the first draft. It is specifically for folks who believe that writing poems just to express oneself is like using the Internet just for email. After all, poetry can change the way you and your readers think of the world and its inhabitants; it can break new ground for language; turn a blank sheet of paper into a teeming concert of voices and music. Though any of us may have the potential to make that happen, having an understanding of how several tools of poetic composition can be used (and audaciously “mis-used”) gives you more ways to try (and if we do this right, we might surprise ourselves most of all). We'll cover key poetic terms and devices by studying poems by a handful of modern and contemporary poets and then get a chance to try our own hand at writing new poem drafts from a select number of prompts. Throughout the course you will have the opportunity to workshop your poem drafts and get feedback on your work, working towards a more polished poem....

최상위 리뷰

VS
2020년 6월 22일

This was a superb workshop. I enjoyed myself thoroughly and learned a lot that came in my way. Grasping poetry devices taught in such an fun way was really awesome. The mentors were very supportive.

SM
2020년 6월 11일

Loved the course. Douglas Kearney is amazing as an instructor. I love poetry and this workshop has made me happy during the times of COVID 19. I thank CalArts for the encouragement and appreciation.

필터링 기준:

Sharpened Visions: A Poetry Workshop의 574개 리뷰 중 251~275

교육 기관: Vladimir M

2020년 7월 15일

Loved it! great prompts, collaborations and very clear information. Also, I really appreciate the links to other information, websites and poems

교육 기관: Shani C

2017년 4월 14일

I originally took this course at Coppin State University in 2001. I missed a week and decided to withdraw. Glad I decided to retake this course.

교육 기관: Allysson F

2017년 1월 6일

The instructor is engaging and obviously loves poetry. This was such a fun class, I highly recommend it to anyone wanting to learn about poetry.

교육 기관: Ibrahim U

2020년 7월 13일

A great introduction to get you into reading and writing poetry. It also helps find your way of entertainment in poetry with very good prompts

교육 기관: Luiza B

2020년 6월 22일

The instructor makes the course flow easily and in a fun and engaging way. I discovered abilities I did not dream I had. Very nice experience.

교육 기관: Deleted A

2020년 4월 29일

Wonderful course! Absolutely enjoyed it, and I learned so much about poetry, things I knew but did not know how to use it. Thank you so much!

교육 기관: billye r

2017년 8월 1일

This review is about the course I'm taking. Poetry brings such great things to me. And best of all, poetry brings out the best in me as well.

교육 기관: janet w

2016년 1월 1일

Everything I could have wanted and more, deep gratitude to Douglas Kearney and Coursera. I felt very welcome and nurtured. 5 stars at least

교육 기관: Deleted A

2020년 5월 30일

The course is superb but the explosive personality of the tutor may be charming to some, but it was a bit too much and way cacophonic for me

교육 기관: Lynn A

2020년 10월 25일

This was a great refresher course. I knew a lot of the information, but the challenges were a great opportunity to try new forms of poetry.

교육 기관: Arnel A P

2020년 7월 22일

Very inspiring and also very education. Instructor is engaging and selection of sample poetry is diverse. I learned a lot from this course.

교육 기관: Deanna B

2020년 6월 1일

Great workshop for anyone that is trying to get into the basic understanding of Poetry. Definitely improved my skills as a poet and writer.

교육 기관: Alicia E R D

2021년 5월 1일

Aprendí muchísimo más el enfoque poético que solo escribir por escribir. Recomendado! Excelente que este tipo de cursos estén en Coursera.

교육 기관: Alexis T

2015년 10월 12일

A wonderful opportunity to learn about poetry and to participate in peer reviews of poetry. One of my favorite Coursera courses/workshops!

교육 기관: Nina B

2015년 9월 3일

Doug is so entertaining. I would probably take any course if he taught it but he made this poetry workshop live for me. I'm better for it.

교육 기관: Tenzin C

2020년 6월 3일

I took this course with my two kids. We learned a lot about Poetry.

The instructor is fun and upbeat. He made learning very interesting.

교육 기관: Alicia C

2018년 11월 19일

Loved it! Great teaching, well paced, can't get enough of the transcripts with the videos. Very fun and really pushed me in my craft.

교육 기관: Maria I M G

2017년 11월 27일

I have learned a lot from this course. Thank you . I wish we could have an advanced level of the workshop. I would definitely take it!

교육 기관: Stephanie P

2016년 6월 4일

This course was excellent! It really helped me on my journey in poetry appreciation and writing. I would highly recommend it to anyone.

교육 기관: Sheryl L

2021년 8월 12일

Excellent, thought-provoking class. Thoroughly enjoyed it and learned a great deal about poetry. I definitely recommend this course.

교육 기관: luciana a a

2020년 10월 10일

Inspiring and very handy tools are proposed to help us write and review our poetry. Loved the videos, our lecturer and the exercises.

교육 기관: Francisco O

2020년 7월 21일

Excellent program. Wonderfully and entertainingly presented. Plenty of information with use of examples. Much use of peer assessment.

교육 기관: Sahil J

2020년 4월 19일

Engaging, low-commitment, and genuinely rewarding. An amazing learning experience for neophytes, dabblers, and practiced poets alike.

교육 기관: G M L 2

2020년 12월 24일

This course got me writing poems again after a long time. It helped me refine my writing and the prompts were very though-provoking.

교육 기관: Francoise B

2017년 7월 31일

Great course to learn about the basics but also to gain the confidence to write one's own poems. Great professor. I loved the humor.