Chevron Left
Sharpened Visions: A Poetry Workshop(으)로 돌아가기

캘리포니아 예술대학의 Sharpened Visions: A Poetry Workshop 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
1,471개의 평가
600개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Why just write poems when you can write better ones? This course is built on the notion that the most exciting writing begins after the first draft. It is specifically for folks who believe that writing poems just to express oneself is like using the Internet just for email. After all, poetry can change the way you and your readers think of the world and its inhabitants; it can break new ground for language; turn a blank sheet of paper into a teeming concert of voices and music. Though any of us may have the potential to make that happen, having an understanding of how several tools of poetic composition can be used (and audaciously “mis-used”) gives you more ways to try (and if we do this right, we might surprise ourselves most of all). We'll cover key poetic terms and devices by studying poems by a handful of modern and contemporary poets and then get a chance to try our own hand at writing new poem drafts from a select number of prompts. Throughout the course you will have the opportunity to workshop your poem drafts and get feedback on your work, working towards a more polished poem....

최상위 리뷰

ES

2022년 5월 4일

The professor and tasks were very engaging. I truly looked forward to tuning in and working through the lessons and assignments. My interest in poetry is further stoked and I can't wait to learn more.

SM

2020년 6월 11일

Loved the course. Douglas Kearney is amazing as an instructor. I love poetry and this workshop has made me happy during the times of COVID 19. I thank CalArts for the encouragement and appreciation.

필터링 기준:

Sharpened Visions: A Poetry Workshop의 604개 리뷰 중 326~350

교육 기관: Rubén J

2017년 12월 8일

Extremely useful and well explained for anybody from someone who has never seen the topics to English graduates

교육 기관: Lindsay M

2020년 9월 22일

Lots of fun while learning key concepts. Exercises and Assignments really helped me engage with the material.

교육 기관: Vladislav L

2016년 11월 24일

An amazing, interesting and very thought-provoking course! Thank you, Douglas Kearney and all fellow students!

교육 기관: Sieran Y

2021년 11월 14일

L​oved the prof! Funny, engaging, and eloquent presenter. I enjoyed giving feedback to classmates the most.

교육 기관: Brandy R

2022년 1월 28일

I enjoyed the peer review process the most. The course was great. The professor was insightful and creative.

교육 기관: Larry W

2018년 3월 22일

Engaging and informative but not overwhelming. A wonderful introduction to the various components of poetry.

교육 기관: Gustavo A G A

2017년 8월 28일

Extraordinario maestro. Gran curso. Hace que la poesía sea algo asequible para todos. Altamente recomendable

교육 기관: Xie W

2017년 3월 9일

It's a lot of fun to study this course, especially the peer review could be very rewarding and entertaining.

교육 기관: Mariam

2017년 4월 10일

The setup and information provided and partnered with prompts is really helpful in aquiring greater skills.

교육 기관: Joseph F

2021년 2월 2일

Fun instructor, very good choices of poems to examine and a concise breakdown of the many literary devices

교육 기관: Alisha B

2020년 6월 21일

Amazing course! I learned so much about not only writing poetry, but reading it and analyzing. I loved it!

교육 기관: Stephanie R

2021년 2월 13일

Douglas Kearney is an exceptional teacher. I've taken many online courses and he gets 10/10 for delivery!

교육 기관: Megan A

2020년 11월 30일

This was such a fun learning experience! It challenged me and pushed me to get creative and build skills.

교육 기관: Mo A

2020년 6월 21일

Doug is a great teacher and I enjoyed his methods a lot. I learned a lot from him. I appreciate it all!

교육 기관: katie w

2019년 8월 1일

The instructor is great and we get to read some really awesome poetry. The prompts are fun and creative!

교육 기관: Kamila Ś

2017년 8월 30일

Nice, easy and informative. Enjoyed it very much. Now I'm starting work on my own little book of poetry.

교육 기관: Deepika S

2017년 7월 11일

Learning a lot of things relevant for this course; I think the peer graded workshop is very helpful too.

교육 기관: Erin

2018년 3월 7일

This was an entry level course to poetry and I feel like by taking it I have become a much better poet.

교육 기관: Charlie

2018년 1월 2일

Amazing! An engaging, pleasing, and intelligible (as well as intelligent) instructor—I fully recommend.

교육 기관: E. S S

2015년 12월 22일

fun and informative class, with interesting exercises, instructor grabs your attention in short videos.

교육 기관: Walter A G C

2021년 1월 31일

This workshop is a great starting point, very easy to understand, it leads to other useful resources.

교육 기관: Durga D

2021년 7월 7일

The professor OMG absolutely wonderful. The course is paced well and topics are covered well enough.

교육 기관: Vaida A

2021년 3월 2일

Very helpful! Interesting! Interactive! The teacher is a great poet, actor and everything in one:)

교육 기관: Usraat

2020년 6월 10일

Beautifully taught. The professor is one of the most enthusiastic educator I have ever come across!

교육 기관: H K

2020년 5월 21일

An amazing experience, learned a great deal and I now feel slightly more confident about my poetry.