Chevron Left
Sharpened Visions: A Poetry Workshop(으)로 돌아가기

캘리포니아 예술대학의 Sharpened Visions: A Poetry Workshop 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
1,506개의 평가

강좌 소개

Why just write poems when you can write better ones? This course is built on the notion that the most exciting writing begins after the first draft. It is specifically for folks who believe that writing poems just to express oneself is like using the Internet just for email. After all, poetry can change the way you and your readers think of the world and its inhabitants; it can break new ground for language; turn a blank sheet of paper into a teeming concert of voices and music. Though any of us may have the potential to make that happen, having an understanding of how several tools of poetic composition can be used (and audaciously “mis-used”) gives you more ways to try (and if we do this right, we might surprise ourselves most of all). We'll cover key poetic terms and devices by studying poems by a handful of modern and contemporary poets and then get a chance to try our own hand at writing new poem drafts from a select number of prompts. Throughout the course you will have the opportunity to workshop your poem drafts and get feedback on your work, working towards a more polished poem....

최상위 리뷰

ES

2022년 5월 4일

The professor and tasks were very engaging. I truly looked forward to tuning in and working through the lessons and assignments. My interest in poetry is further stoked and I can't wait to learn more.

SM

2020년 6월 11일

Loved the course. Douglas Kearney is amazing as an instructor. I love poetry and this workshop has made me happy during the times of COVID 19. I thank CalArts for the encouragement and appreciation.

필터링 기준:

Sharpened Visions: A Poetry Workshop의 614개 리뷰 중 551~575

교육 기관: Shruti R

2020년 8월 13일

Great course! What an insightful and fun workshop, it teaches interesting writing techniques as well as essential tools for writing a poem. Plus, the dramatic and funny professor is the cherry on the cake. I highly recommend. :D

교육 기관: Kapil C

2020년 5월 11일

It was absolutely lovely to be a part of this course. Mr. Douglas kept the energy going. The assignments were super interesting and reviewing peers was an exciting experience. I have learned so much from this. Thank you!

교육 기관: Johanna M

2018년 11월 9일

This course is great, but if you are looking for something challenging, this might not be the one. Overall, though, it helped me to go back to the basics and analyze my poetry from a foundational standpoint.

교육 기관: Sanelisiwe E M

2017년 2월 13일

This course truly opened my eyes on the importance of revision, I recommend this course not only for budding poets but even for those who have never attempted poetry. You will learn a great deal.

교육 기관: Sr. M A

2020년 4월 16일

This was a great poetry course that is for a person of beginning level. I really enjoyed it because I've been want to learn more about poetry and it helped get my poetic juices flowing again.

교육 기관: Laurie D

2019년 3월 8일

I appreciate the practicality of assignments and delivery of concepts for writing poetry. I learned some skills and it gave me structure. The conversation between students is less accessible.

교육 기관: Lia

2021년 2월 8일

Nice workshop! Informative and open to exploration. The instructor made the workshop fun without loosing the depth of poetry. I feel that I will read poetry with other eyes! Thank you

교육 기관: BI H

2020년 5월 10일

I really like this course and have learned a lot systematically from it! I hope the tutor mentoring and feedback can be a little bit more if possible in this course in future.

교육 기관: Rohini M

2019년 1월 16일

I Just loved this course. I learnt a lot of things about poetry. Soon i wish i would publish a book on poetry by writing and incorporating the lessons learnt in the class.

교육 기관: F. G S

2022년 2월 9일

I really enjoyed the content of the course and learned a lot about poetry. The time out to reset seemed a little quick for a self-paced course. Overall, very worthwhile.

교육 기관: alex d

2020년 1월 29일

Excellent course for poets of all levels! A great refresher course if you're looking to learn more about the beauty of poetry or if you're simply looking for inspiration!

교육 기관: Marsheila R

2021년 7월 13일

D​oug was great, the info was great. Peer review was often frustrating as you were not paired with people at the same level so their comments were often unhelpful.

교육 기관: Benedick G

2016년 7월 7일

Very fun instructor.

The peer review as a workshop is perfect.

I just wish that there are more poems to study and that it's longer or it has a continuation.

교육 기관: Adrienne P

2019년 3월 14일

This was an excellent workshop to help me brush up on poetic forms. Actually having to write, and revise was more useful than simply studying.

교육 기관: Eyal G

2015년 8월 19일

Great teacher and great content BUT I just wish that it would have been more abundant with information. it seemed for times maybe too short.

교육 기관: Vernon G

2015년 9월 18일

Early days yet but I've seen enough to realise it is interesting, intense, funny, persuasive, stimulating and creative. Thank you Douglas.

교육 기관: Guillemette A

2015년 9월 14일

Very nice course, with interesting material, taught in a witty and engaging manner, and pretty good prompts. I had a very nice experience!

교육 기관: Valeria L

2020년 5월 19일

A great workshop to learn the basis of poetry and to start writing and sharing your poems. The clases are fun and the people really kind

교육 기관: T. R I

2021년 10월 4일

Would have been more beneficial if there were instructor review instead of the review from peers that just responded n/a to everything.

교육 기관: Katya F

2015년 10월 12일

Loved the short but sharp classes! Thank you! Would love to see more peer reviews (didn't get any on my poems yet).

Best of luck!

Katya

교육 기관: Ryan S

2020년 4월 27일

Liked the way Doug made poetry accessible and fun to write. His enthusiasm and knowledge really made the course worth sticking with.

교육 기관: Lucia B

2021년 5월 18일

It was a really nice experience.

The teacher is awesome.

The only thing is that my certificate is written in Chinese characters.

교육 기관: Camilla A P

2021년 12월 14일

This is a good course. I think that having a calendar where you can view all your due dates for the course would be awesome!!

교육 기관: Kajol

2015년 10월 18일

Peer reviews can be a gamble. But the professor is excellent. Helpful to get started with poetry or get over writer's block.

교육 기관: Kuma B

2020년 4월 28일

Really helpful to take class, but the reviews from some students were not always accurate and it got mixed up sometimes.