Chevron Left
Sharpened Visions: A Poetry Workshop(으)로 돌아가기

캘리포니아 예술대학의 Sharpened Visions: A Poetry Workshop 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
1,506개의 평가

강좌 소개

Why just write poems when you can write better ones? This course is built on the notion that the most exciting writing begins after the first draft. It is specifically for folks who believe that writing poems just to express oneself is like using the Internet just for email. After all, poetry can change the way you and your readers think of the world and its inhabitants; it can break new ground for language; turn a blank sheet of paper into a teeming concert of voices and music. Though any of us may have the potential to make that happen, having an understanding of how several tools of poetic composition can be used (and audaciously “mis-used”) gives you more ways to try (and if we do this right, we might surprise ourselves most of all). We'll cover key poetic terms and devices by studying poems by a handful of modern and contemporary poets and then get a chance to try our own hand at writing new poem drafts from a select number of prompts. Throughout the course you will have the opportunity to workshop your poem drafts and get feedback on your work, working towards a more polished poem....

최상위 리뷰

ES

2022년 5월 4일

The professor and tasks were very engaging. I truly looked forward to tuning in and working through the lessons and assignments. My interest in poetry is further stoked and I can't wait to learn more.

SM

2020년 6월 11일

Loved the course. Douglas Kearney is amazing as an instructor. I love poetry and this workshop has made me happy during the times of COVID 19. I thank CalArts for the encouragement and appreciation.

필터링 기준:

Sharpened Visions: A Poetry Workshop의 614개 리뷰 중 151~175

교육 기관: Ariel B

2015년 8월 26일

Fantastic course! A great introduction to poetry and workshopping. Also, thanks for bringing Phil Och's version of The Bells to my attention. It's definitely my new favorite song. The Bells has always been one of my most favorite poems.

교육 기관: Lucy P

2020년 10월 11일

I gained a lot of poetry writing skills from this course. . Douglas is a humorous and easy going teacher who presented a syllabus which helps beginners like me focus on necessary strategies and skill required to write better poetry.

교육 기관: Mariangie C

2021년 6월 11일

Great information, maybe not in depth but good enough. I really like the workshops, I learned something new and i loved getting feedback. Never shared my poems with anyone and now I think im comfortable to share them with the world.

교육 기관: SANA A

2020년 11월 10일

I stumbled upon this course and I really enjoyed it. The instructor is quite engaging and makes the course very interesting even though poetry is not my forte. Would recommend this course to anyone looking to improve their writing.

교육 기관: Derek O

2020년 8월 2일

This course was engaging, informative and entertaining. The instructor clearly loves his subject and enjoys teaching. His lectures are insightful and on point. I learned something in every unit. Thank you for this wonderful course.

교육 기관: YJ K

2019년 4월 3일

The students giving feedback on my work was impressive, and I certainly learnt a whole load of things during this course. One of the best workshops I've done that gave me the chance to actually develop on my skills! :) Thanks Doug.

교육 기관: esther j

2021년 6월 13일

I have enjoyed learning this course. This course is Useful, Informative, Fun. I liked doing Prompts which has helped me to enhance my writing. By learning this course now I see poetry from different dimensions. Thank You so much .

교육 기관: liza m b

2020년 6월 1일

Incredible course! The information I learned was invaluable to my writing practice, understanding of poetry, and revision process. I gained so much confidence in my writing and had fun experimenting with different forms of poetry.

교육 기관: Kevin G

2020년 5월 4일

Great course overall, and delivered in a fun / non-intimidating way. I had wanted an introduction into reading and writing poetry for a long time, but not felt comfortable with other courses / materials but this was near perfect.

교육 기관: Misha B

2020년 6월 17일

Great class. I think the rhyme and revision sections were the most helpful for me personally. The professor was extremely knowledge, and the course contents were explained thoughtfully, yet in a concise manner. Highly recommend!

교육 기관: Ezra E

2017년 9월 23일

I enjoyed this workshop. It has helped me to rethink what poetry is, and it has given me valuable knowledge so I can write better poems. The length of the workshop is ideal. I feel the peer review aspect could be strengthened.

교육 기관: Eric H R

2016년 7월 27일

This course was a lot of fun and very helpful. Even though I have been involved with poetry for many years, I found the Professor's presentations entertaining and enlightening. I have learned a lot from this course. Thanks.

교육 기관: Trapper M

2020년 5월 20일

Just what I needed. A fantastic intro to get you thinking about some of the key concepts in your writing. I highly recommend this as a starting point for new poets. The exercises are also motivational to write in new ways.

교육 기관: rochel l b

2022년 6월 13일

i thought this course to be so clear!

it gave all the information needed to start in the poetry career.

it is also a great course for already learned poets to remind themselves of some basic rules and guidelines to follow.

교육 기관: Samreen

2021년 1월 5일

The course was informative and provided an enriching learning experience. I loved the instructor's teaching style which made learning fun. I am encouraged to take up more such courses now and enhance my writing skills.

교육 기관: Siddhi D

2019년 6월 14일

This was an amazing course that made me learn a lot about poem writing and completely changed the way I perceived poems. My skills have improved greatly thanks to this course. It was probably the best I've ever taken.

교육 기관: Logan R

2018년 3월 13일

Great place to start as some one who has always had an interest in poetry but never really knew where to start. I got a good poem out of this workshop and I have seen my work change over this 6 weeks. Lovely course!

교육 기관: Gaurie S

2021년 5월 23일

Sharpened visions indeed. If you feel like you need something like the Dead Poets' Society, take this course! This is a write-your-heart-out course, learning, expanding and analyzing yourself all the way! Much thanks

교육 기관: Maryam S

2017년 4월 5일

A nice refresher course in poetry. Love the prompts given by the instructor. Simple method of teaching, but it covers all aspects of poetry writing. Good pace as well. Highly recommended for new and seasoned poets.

교육 기관: Mariette S

2022년 7월 1일

The instructor covered a lot of poetry topics in an entertaining and succinct way. I learned a lot about poetry construction and enjoyed the videos. I also appreciate the solid peer reviews from fellow classmates.

교육 기관: Kirsten C

2021년 5월 31일

Very comprehensive course! I thought I knew all I needed to know about poetry, but this course stepped it up. It's a great way to build up the writing arsenal of poets from any skill level. Would highly recommend!

교육 기관: Sierra C

2020년 10월 23일

I learned a lot about technical details that I hadn't learned/had forgotten about, and I got some really great feedback from the workshops. Definitely turned me into a believer of the revision/editing process. :)

교육 기관: Kimberly C

2017년 7월 28일

This was an excellent course. The short lectures were informative and never dull! It was well designed with a great balance of info, resources and chances to try out new techniques in a supportive environment.

교육 기관: Lidia G

2016년 1월 5일

Absolutely wonderful course. Simple and well explained videos, nice instructor, great suggestions from the other students and fun exercises to get better and better in writing your own poems.

Highly suggested.

교육 기관: Ashley R

2020년 7월 2일

It was amazing to relearn and learn the basics of poetry. As a poet, I wanted to learn ways to improve my work. This course was engaging and gave me the space to practice and be exposed to multiple examples!