Chevron Left
Sharpened Visions: A Poetry Workshop(으)로 돌아가기

캘리포니아 예술대학의 Sharpened Visions: A Poetry Workshop 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
1,411개의 평가
576개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Why just write poems when you can write better ones? This course is built on the notion that the most exciting writing begins after the first draft. It is specifically for folks who believe that writing poems just to express oneself is like using the Internet just for email. After all, poetry can change the way you and your readers think of the world and its inhabitants; it can break new ground for language; turn a blank sheet of paper into a teeming concert of voices and music. Though any of us may have the potential to make that happen, having an understanding of how several tools of poetic composition can be used (and audaciously “mis-used”) gives you more ways to try (and if we do this right, we might surprise ourselves most of all). We'll cover key poetic terms and devices by studying poems by a handful of modern and contemporary poets and then get a chance to try our own hand at writing new poem drafts from a select number of prompts. Throughout the course you will have the opportunity to workshop your poem drafts and get feedback on your work, working towards a more polished poem....

최상위 리뷰

SM
2020년 6월 11일

Loved the course. Douglas Kearney is amazing as an instructor. I love poetry and this workshop has made me happy during the times of COVID 19. I thank CalArts for the encouragement and appreciation.

VS
2020년 6월 22일

This was a superb workshop. I enjoyed myself thoroughly and learned a lot that came in my way. Grasping poetry devices taught in such an fun way was really awesome. The mentors were very supportive.

필터링 기준:

Sharpened Visions: A Poetry Workshop의 576개 리뷰 중 176~200

교육 기관: jane r k

2016년 8월 22일

Wonderful, learning about writing poetry here is IT! I will always use this to go forward and once in a while come back to freshen up. Thank you, there's nothing else out there like this class!

교육 기관: Devon B

2020년 5월 5일

This course was so fun. I was beyond anxious to start as I am fairly new to poetry and poem writing, but this course forced me out of my shell in a truly good way. I tip my hat to the teacher!

교육 기관: Jacque R

2020년 10월 12일

best class. the information was presented in a dynamic and clear way. Made learning enjoyable, and the difficult parts challenging. would love to take more classes from this instructor.

교육 기관: Melanie B

2021년 2월 26일

Captivating, engaging and thoroughly enjoyable course! I've always adored poetry and this course enhanced my ability to express myself accurately (and in a variety of ways) ten thumbs up!

교육 기관: King C M T D

2020년 7월 20일

I learned a lot from this workshop. It's very straightforward and easy to learn and I produced better poems that are far more better from the poems that I've written for the past 3 years.

교육 기관: Matteo T

2016년 11월 4일

I'd like to thank M. Douglas Kearney, Calarts and Coursera for this course. I learned a lot about poetry with the help of M. Kearney whose explantions were really clear and entertaining!

교육 기관: Swati B

2020년 1월 8일

Excellent course !! Previously I had never read or appreciated poetry much. This course has been an eye opener. The course is very well structure! And I learnt a lot from my peers too!

교육 기관: Steven B

2015년 10월 8일

I enjoyed the class. The small corny bits in the videos made me feel at home, while the informative parts were very easy for me to understand. I'll likely revisit the class again later.

교육 기관: Melle S

2019년 11월 2일

I loved this course. It has expanded my vision for my own writing. I found it helpful to receive feedback from my peers. I now can go back to previous works and revise with confidence.

교육 기관: Amanda n

2018년 2월 23일

wonderful! I suggest to anyone who wants to learn more about poetry and even writing in general. Fun, doable, and informative! The homework prompts were well thought out and fun to do.

교육 기관: Sreelakshmi C G 1 9

2021년 3월 5일

It was a great experience. With such a short time you covered most topics and more importantly stressed on the practical part, the writing! Thanks to you I brushed up my writings....

교육 기관: Marilyn A

2018년 4월 16일

This was a brilliant course. Loved having to write poems for it. Loved the guy taking it. Just had trouble getting in to put assignments in and talk to people. Otherwise I loved it.

교육 기관: Shimbo P W

2021년 8월 10일

Prof. Douglas is the best at it. The course has been very informative. It has indeed transformed y rendition as well as appreciation of poetry. Much love from Tanzania, East Africa.

교육 기관: Muhsina K I

2020년 3월 19일

Sharpened visions was a wonderful course. Thanks to the mentors who worked behind it. thank you so much for sharing your knowledge with us. a must do course who wants to be a poet.

교육 기관: Cristofer C L

2016년 8월 9일

Douglas Kearney is the best teacher I ever had. He really knows his stuff. His video lectures are so much fun to watch that I find myself wishing that his course would last forever.

교육 기관: Justyna A

2017년 5월 11일

I wish all of my professors passed on knowledge like you did!!! It was theoretical and it was fun, it was practical and stimulating! I definitely wanna keep on writing, so thanks!

교육 기관: Deleted A

2020년 7월 20일

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. I learned many poetry writing techniques and was adequately challenged with the assignments.

The professor was pretty funny and engaging as well.

교육 기관: ummu s e

2019년 2월 1일

Amazing course, very well structured. Helped develop my poetic voice and provided technical knowledge as well. Experimented in poetic forms I'd never heard of. Thank you so much.

교육 기관: Shelly K

2020년 10월 11일

I got so much out of this class that I never expected. Doug made it fun, interesting, and challenging. I couldn't wait until it was time to get to my class every day. Thank you!

교육 기관: Zoe C

2016년 10월 28일

Fun and concise bite sized lectures. Challenging yet manageable tasks to complete. If you want to begin to explore the basics of poetry in a fun way, this is the course for you!

교육 기관: Óscar R

2020년 6월 29일

Excellent Course! I took this course as an introduction, because i really didn't know anything about poetry and now i am interested in learning more and trying to write poems.

교육 기관: Steven M

2021년 7월 7일

This was a very good course, very enjoyable. I was especially blown away by Doug's session on revision. It was very much an aha moment for me. I highly recommend this course.

교육 기관: Vinesh B

2020년 8월 16일

Really enjoyed this course along with coursework which involved submitting poems and reviewing other participants' submissions. Very good introduction to the subject matter.

교육 기관: lisa r

2016년 6월 10일

I loved every part of this course. The tutorials were brilliant, the assignments were fun but the most important thing is that the course made me want to write more poetry.

교육 기관: Sonali G

2020년 8월 28일

I absolutely loved this course. This course was thorough and designed in a structured way. After finishing this course I am more confident about my work. Fully recommended.