Chevron Left
Sharpened Visions: A Poetry Workshop(으)로 돌아가기

캘리포니아 예술대학의 Sharpened Visions: A Poetry Workshop 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
1,411개의 평가
576개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Why just write poems when you can write better ones? This course is built on the notion that the most exciting writing begins after the first draft. It is specifically for folks who believe that writing poems just to express oneself is like using the Internet just for email. After all, poetry can change the way you and your readers think of the world and its inhabitants; it can break new ground for language; turn a blank sheet of paper into a teeming concert of voices and music. Though any of us may have the potential to make that happen, having an understanding of how several tools of poetic composition can be used (and audaciously “mis-used”) gives you more ways to try (and if we do this right, we might surprise ourselves most of all). We'll cover key poetic terms and devices by studying poems by a handful of modern and contemporary poets and then get a chance to try our own hand at writing new poem drafts from a select number of prompts. Throughout the course you will have the opportunity to workshop your poem drafts and get feedback on your work, working towards a more polished poem....

최상위 리뷰

SM
2020년 6월 11일

Loved the course. Douglas Kearney is amazing as an instructor. I love poetry and this workshop has made me happy during the times of COVID 19. I thank CalArts for the encouragement and appreciation.

VS
2020년 6월 22일

This was a superb workshop. I enjoyed myself thoroughly and learned a lot that came in my way. Grasping poetry devices taught in such an fun way was really awesome. The mentors were very supportive.

필터링 기준:

Sharpened Visions: A Poetry Workshop의 577개 리뷰 중 201~225

교육 기관: Ashish K

2021년 12월 2일

It is a very good course and the workshop thing is very beneficial as it gives you real reviews from your peers. You get to know the strong and loose points of your work.

교육 기관: Rajni M

2020년 11월 16일

Exceptional Course ! Much gratitude to Doug who is a great teacher. The peers enriched the experience too. My pandemic hobby turned out to be a great learning experience.

교육 기관: Michelle C C

2019년 1월 4일

This course has so much substance in it, very engaging and lively. I loved the way Doug teaches and passes across lessons! Perhaps I should come take a course at CALARTS.

교육 기관: Karen J

2017년 1월 13일

A very easy yet enlightening course.. Doug is a great professor..funny too! Assignments were very easy and fun to do.. got a lot to learn in a short time... Great course!

교육 기관: Dan B

2015년 11월 17일

This was an excellent course. The material was relevant, the assignments were meaningful, and the instructor was effective and motivating. I highly recommend this course.

교육 기관: Elisabeth S

2020년 12월 30일

Brilliant course! Although it is short and manageable, I feel like I learned a lot. And I feel so much better in general for having deepened my relationship with poetry!

교육 기관: Jesus J L

2016년 12월 15일

This course was very helpful to me in understanding poetry a little better. The professor was very engaging and I hope he will teach another poetry course in the future.

교육 기관: nandiya n

2021년 4월 30일

Appreciated the opportunity to take the course. TOTAL. ENJOYMENT.

Wish it were longer -- this is just a wee taste and now am mightily hankering for more.

More please ...

교육 기관: Hannah G

2021년 3월 4일

I really enjoyed this course all the way through. I learned a lot and will continue to keep challenging myself to write poetry, using what I’ve learned here. Thank you!

교육 기관: Jayashri R S

2019년 3월 15일

Thank you for introducing me to poetry that I was never aware of before.I thank the mentor and my peers for their constant virtual support.Looking forward to learn more

교육 기관: Rebecca K

2021년 11월 22일

Douglas Kearney has so much class, great style and really served up the perfect introduction (although with more depth than a typical intro class) to poetry. Loved it!

교육 기관: Jennifer G

2020년 6월 20일

This poetry workshop really has helped me expanded my poetry skills! Definitely would recommend this course if you’re a beginner or interested more in learning Poetry!

교육 기관: Cynthia C

2016년 5월 7일

Thus far, this has been the most enjoyable course that I've taken in Coursera. Thanks, Mr. Kearney and CalArts. I hope you can make Sharpened Visions Parts 2 and 3 :)

교육 기관: Rashi R S

2020년 6월 10일

In this course, I learnt a lot about poetry and I got to work with many others who were just as keen about it. Moreover, Professor Doug is the coolest professor ever!

교육 기관: LeAnn S

2020년 5월 7일

I was very disappointed to receive an 87.5 on my revised last poem. It was partially because I a native English speaker did not understand my images or colloquiums.🙁

교육 기관: Julie B

2016년 11월 30일

I love poetry but I have to admit that this wasn't my cup of tea so to speak. This was a different kind of poetry and the instructor was kind of odd...in a good way.

교육 기관: roz h

2017년 7월 5일

I found this course fun, practical and very, very useful. The peer process was excellent and Douglas was thoroughly entertaining and engaging. Highly recommended.

교육 기관: Emily K

2021년 6월 1일

I enjoyed the diversity of poets included, as well as the excellent writing prompts. I learned some new vocabulary, and I feel my understanding of poetry improved.

교육 기관: Leeland J

2019년 10월 8일

The instructor in very engaging. I am learning poetry to have a stronger understanding of voice and style, and I believe I will get infinity more from this course.

교육 기관: Zubair F A

2019년 1월 1일

This was a brilliant course. I audited the course with interest, and completed it. It acquainted me with essentials of writing and understanding poetry. Brilliant!

교육 기관: Arielle M

2020년 5월 19일

Such an enjoyable course! Doug is a very enthusiastic professor, and there wasn't a single module or exercise that felt unnecessary or redundant. I learned a lot!

교육 기관: Jenny R A

2015년 8월 23일

I am loving this course. It opens new stanzas in my psyche! Opens me up to the rhythms of poetry all around. What a great fun and enlightening experience. Thanks!

교육 기관: Cliff T

2020년 11월 16일

Engaging, fun and thoughtful. The assignments opened my eyes to bits of creativity I didn't know I had and challenged me to work harder to strengthen my poetry.

교육 기관: Shane A

2019년 3월 20일

Great skill-sharpener for practicing poets and literature teachers. Doug is a very engaging teacher. His selection of poems is thought-provoking and informative.

교육 기관: Reshmisadhana

2021년 5월 26일

I loved the course and the mentor was absolutely brilliant. Not a single session was boring. it was all packed with lots of guidelines for improving my writing.