Chevron Left
Poverty & Population: How Demographics Shape Policy(으)로 돌아가기

컬럼비아대학교의 Poverty & Population: How Demographics Shape Policy 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.9
별점
73개의 평가
16개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course has four modules, or foci. The first is to understand the categories of social welfare—populations, income, earnings, and assets— and some related concepts that play a very large role in shaping policy decisions: unemployment, inflation, and the minimum wage. The second deals with the central institution of social welfare—the labor market, which largely determines how many resources a person has. The labor market also establishes hierarchy, both through meritocracy and through categories of privilege. The third is poverty: the differing ways we define who is poor, and how effective U.S. anti-poverty efforts have been. The final module looks directly at federal decision making, the political organization of ideas, the structure of U.S. government, and the legislative process that shapes much of our social policy. This course addresses issues of power, oppression, and white supremacy. The course is part of a sequence in social policy that has an HONORS TRACK. This track will prepare the learner for masters-level work in policy, which involves reading the literature, writing concise summaries and probing critiques. Over the sequence the learner will develop a policy analysis that will create a foundation for professional policy analyst assignments....

최상위 리뷰

ZR
2019년 11월 6일

Well-packaged instructional set that combines video lectures, readings, and testing in a manageable approach on the part of the student.

L
2019년 12월 13일

The first half of the course was a little redundant, but the second half on government was EXCELLENT!!! Thanks again!

필터링 기준:

Poverty & Population: How Demographics Shape Policy의 16개 리뷰 중 1~16

교육 기관: Zandro G R

2019년 11월 6일

Well-packaged instructional set that combines video lectures, readings, and testing in a manageable approach on the part of the student.

교육 기관: Joel A C

2020년 1월 11일

☼ i was quite surprised by how my mind was changed and by how even the things i thought i was well versed in, like the number of places things can be killed in comte: oh, it is well worse! The need for childcare is important enough to be grouped in w/healthcare - i see that now. & we need to eat the billionaires (and above). i thought that was leftist rhetoric, but you need 3 generations just to get back on ones feet BECAUSE of a system that allows wealth accumulation at that scale. & you dont have to be racist or sexist for it to happen - it is so clear. & it will not end on its own. So it can not be allowed.* A great course.

(*after the first 150Mil.& obvi no inheritance death tax. i mean we arent savages.)

교육 기관: Hemant M

2020년 5월 5일

This is a brilliantly developed course by Prof Robertson which gives in depth information and insights into how public policy is formulated within the United States. It also helps to understand how the benefits of government policies accrue unequally across people in which race, age, gender and ethnicity play an importat role.

교육 기관: Evaluation R

2019년 12월 14일

The first half of the course was a little redundant, but the second half on government was EXCELLENT!!! Thanks again!

교육 기관: Ayobami O

2020년 4월 9일

Highly informative and skill enhancing course on demographic considerations in policy development

교육 기관: Robert B S M

2020년 1월 11일

Great course. .. thanks...

교육 기관: RAHUL B

2019년 3월 30일

really helpful ,too good

교육 기관: Ety K

2019년 2월 19일

It's Very great for me

교육 기관: Gadim G

2020년 5월 11일

Very very Perfect

교육 기관: Paulo R V P

2019년 6월 16일

Excellent course!

교육 기관: JELVIN J

2019년 12월 13일

excellent course

교육 기관: Nebi R T o

2020년 5월 11일

fine

교육 기관: Miriam E

2020년 8월 3일

Excellent course. I love the professor--very engaging, compassionate, and clear.

교육 기관: Michael L B J

2020년 8월 17일

Un excelente curso.

교육 기관: aabid n s

2020년 9월 7일

excellent

교육 기관: Mona A A

2020년 8월 18일

good