Chevron Left
Poverty & Population: How Demographics Shape Policy(으)로 돌아가기

컬럼비아대학교의 Poverty & Population: How Demographics Shape Policy 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.9
별점
104개의 평가
28개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course has four modules, or foci. The first is to understand the categories of social welfare—populations, income, earnings, and assets— and some related concepts that play a very large role in shaping policy decisions: unemployment, inflation, and the minimum wage. The second deals with the central institution of social welfare—the labor market, which largely determines how many resources a person has. The labor market also establishes hierarchy, both through meritocracy and through categories of privilege. The third is poverty: the differing ways we define who is poor, and how effective U.S. anti-poverty efforts have been. The final module looks directly at federal decision making, the political organization of ideas, the structure of U.S. government, and the legislative process that shapes much of our social policy. This course addresses issues of power, oppression, and white supremacy. The course is part of a sequence in social policy that has an HONORS TRACK. This track will prepare the learner for masters-level work in policy, which involves reading the literature, writing concise summaries and probing critiques. Over the sequence the learner will develop a policy analysis that will create a foundation for professional policy analyst assignments....

최상위 리뷰

ZN
2021년 8월 4일

It was a great learning and easy to understand. The reading materials were so helpful. I will choose more courses related to development and planning.

ZR
2019년 11월 6일

Well-packaged instructional set that combines video lectures, readings, and testing in a manageable approach on the part of the student.

필터링 기준:

Poverty & Population: How Demographics Shape Policy의 28개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Zandro G R

2019년 11월 6일

Well-packaged instructional set that combines video lectures, readings, and testing in a manageable approach on the part of the student.

교육 기관: Joel A C

2020년 1월 11일

☼ i was quite surprised by how my mind was changed and by how even the things i thought i was well versed in, like the number of places things can be killed in comte: oh, it is well worse! The need for childcare is important enough to be grouped in w/healthcare - i see that now. & we need to eat the billionaires (and above). i thought that was leftist rhetoric, but you need 3 generations just to get back on ones feet BECAUSE of a system that allows wealth accumulation at that scale. & you dont have to be racist or sexist for it to happen - it is so clear. & it will not end on its own. So it can not be allowed.* A great course.

(*after the first 150Mil.& obvi no inheritance death tax. i mean we arent savages.)

교육 기관: Hemant

2020년 5월 5일

This is a brilliantly developed course by Prof Robertson which gives in depth information and insights into how public policy is formulated within the United States. It also helps to understand how the benefits of government policies accrue unequally across people in which race, age, gender and ethnicity play an importat role.

교육 기관: Evaluation R

2019년 12월 14일

The first half of the course was a little redundant, but the second half on government was EXCELLENT!!! Thanks again!

교육 기관: Ayobami O

2020년 4월 9일

Highly informative and skill enhancing course on demographic considerations in policy development

교육 기관: Robert B S M

2020년 1월 11일

Great course. .. thanks...

교육 기관: RAHUL B

2019년 3월 30일

really helpful ,too good

교육 기관: Ety K

2019년 2월 19일

It's Very great for me

교육 기관: Gadim G

2020년 5월 11일

Very very Perfect

교육 기관: Paulo R V P

2019년 6월 16일

Excellent course!

교육 기관: JELVIN J

2019년 12월 13일

excellent course

교육 기관: Nebi R T o

2020년 5월 11일

fine

교육 기관: Quanchai K

2021년 4월 22일

It is an excellent course that helps me better understand general social welfare in the United States, which is very unique compared to that in other Western countries. The instructor can very well explain and discuss complex issues that allows me as a non-American citizen to follow the contents easily. Thank you very much for offering the wonderful course.

교육 기관: Clément S

2020년 12월 5일

An amazing course if you want to know more about poverty, demographics and social policy in the US. The lecturer seems passionate and we can feel it. If you are a foreign student looking forward to studying in the US, then you should follow this course for sure.

교육 기관: Rudolf N

2021년 7월 20일

I really enjoyed this course. My goal was the specific part of demography as a public policy tool, but I enjoyed the entire course content. Professor John Robertson has the ability to explain the most complex topics in a clear and simple way.

교육 기관: Melisa K O

2021년 4월 6일

This course is very useful in increasing my knowledge. America's poverty alleviation policy can be one of the best practices for undeveloped countries. Thank you for the course, Prof. John Robertson, Columbia University, dan Coursera.

교육 기관: Tisa L

2021년 3월 19일

A brief but comprehensive overview of policy-making in terms of social work. Explanations are really easy to understand. This made me want to pursue my master's in social work instead of public policy now.

교육 기관: Zar N

2021년 8월 5일

It was a great learning and easy to understand. The reading materials were so helpful. I will choose more courses related to development and planning.

교육 기관: Eltik J

2021년 6월 11일

This course makes me understand what poverty really is, what is needed, how to approach it and what can be done as a policy-maker.

교육 기관: Theo M

2021년 4월 30일

Very insightful, well-organized, and interesting guest speakers. Overall an experience I would recommend!

교육 기관: Eyasu M

2021년 8월 27일

It is an amazing course. It is changing my life.

Thank you Columbia, school of social work and coursera!

교육 기관: Miriam E

2020년 8월 3일

Excellent course. I love the professor--very engaging, compassionate, and clear.

교육 기관: Gina D

2021년 7월 8일

Very well done. I gained solid base knowledge from this course.

교육 기관: Michael L B J

2020년 8월 17일

Un excelente curso.

교육 기관: aabid n s

2020년 9월 7일

excellent