Chevron Left
Capstone Design Project in Power Electronics(으)로 돌아가기

콜로라도 대학교 볼더 캠퍼스의 Capstone Design Project in Power Electronics 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.9
65개의 평가
21개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Learners will design a DC-DC converter that powers USB-C devices (20 V at 3 A) from a dc input voltage source such as a lithium-ion battery pack or a desktop computer power bus. Aspects of the project will include: ● Design of converter power stage and magnetics. Requires mastery of courses 1, 2, and 5. ● Simulation to verify correct steady-state operation. Requires mastery of courses 1, 2 and 4. ● Design of converter control system. Requires mastery of courses 3 and 4. ● Simulation to verify correct control system operation. Requires mastery of courses 3 and 4. ● Preparation of milestone reports documenting the design and its performance The reports will be peer graded....

최상위 리뷰

AR

Sep 30, 2016

Great course. Thanks to prof Erickson, prof. Maksimovic and prof. Afridi and all the volunteers involved for their effort in making such a wonderful course for the power electronics community.

SM

Mar 24, 2017

I will always go back to the lectures of this course and use these principles in my work. Thank you University of Boulder Colorado and Coursera.

필터링 기준:

Capstone Design Project in Power Electronics의 20개 리뷰 중 1~20

교육 기관: Carsten S

Nov 01, 2018

The lectures of this specialization were really great, but I did not like the design project too much. From technial point of view, the implementation of the circuit has been very interesting as well, but there are a few things that could be improved.

a) the time frame is quite challenging if you have a full time job and a family (and have to remind everything from the last 10 months) I think it should therefore at least be avoided to introduce new things that could have been done easily in the lectures (LTSpice transformer model etc.).

b) there is almost no support in the forum for anything. 80% of the questions remain completely unanswered, although there are not too many questions in the end. That's a pitty.

c) The final result of the peer review is highly dependent on LTSpice and especially the rubrics of milestone 2 could be improved regarding these problems. The convergence problems of LTSpice are well known and can be caused by anything (version, OS, whatever). It is very easy to fail this milestone for problems that are actually not caused by you.

d) I've had very inconsistent review results and ended up not knowing what was wrong or how to improve. There is nothing much to do about this, but still I'd wish to get some more input regarding my designs.

As a result, I have a design that somehow passes the milestones, but is far away from something that i would want to "sell". I also see that is difficult to implement a project like this, so it's fine in the end, but maybe a few changes could improve the situation for the students. In summary, the whole specialization is still a great thing to do, so thanks to the professors for sharing their knowledge with us.

BR

Carsten

교육 기관: Akanimo I

Feb 14, 2019

This course is super! I needed to learn how to design flyback converter and how to close feedback loop with the TL431.That's majorly what led me to taking this course. At first it felt like flyback converter was not treated in great detail but upon trying out simulation I realized I could actually design one with the TL431. A working flyback converter that I just built based based on a simulation I had done sealed it up. I am happy and fulfilled to have taken this course.

I am waiting for the advanced level course!

Thanks to The University of Colorado. Thanks to Coursera.

교육 기관: Rubem P

Nov 06, 2018

Fantastic!

교육 기관: Chathuranga J

Mar 21, 2017

Gained a lot of hands on experience from this capstone project. Great supervisors and the peers were also helpful. Thank you CU Boulder

교육 기관: Yun W

Mar 11, 2017

The whole specialization series is definite a 5 star Coursera course. As a electrical engineer designing lab and industrial use power supplies, I found the material in this class review and enhance my knowledge, and more importantly, a systematic view of DC-DC converter concepts, which is a good reference of my future career.

The book those professors wrote is called "bible" in the power electronic industry, and most of the interviewers will ask questions related to the material in that book when you take a job interview in this industry, especially for an entry level or junior position. Watching the videos and doing the homework and final project help me understand those material more efficiently.

The six classes are still too short for all the material. Some good techniques such as soft-start, snubber, and input filtering may be added, even as an optional video. And I am also looking forward to some advance classes with the material like digital control, resonant (LLC) and soft switching, which is popular and widely used in the industry recently.

About this final capstone design project, it leads me through the procedure: transfer the requirement to topology selection -> open loop design -> linear modeling and ac analysis -> final time domain analysis. Further, the requirements are well designed so that I need to make trade-offs during these procedure. It takes me quite a while to do the tweaking and simulation iteration, but I found it is a good practice. This is the real life of an engineer!

I appreciate the great work from all three professors!

교육 기관: Алексей Б

Sep 29, 2016

The capstone project makes you realize info that you learned in previous courses. Reviews of other learners could help you to see your mistakes. The most interesting opportunity here, that you can see how others completed their designs. It is extremely helpfull!

교육 기관: PANDU R R S

Oct 03, 2016

It's been a great experience to undergo the capstone project. I should thank Prof. Maksimovic, Prof. Erickson and Prof. Afridi for designing such a good project material and their support for all the questions asked by the students in the forum. I will look forward for the next advanced courses offered by Colorado. Once again thanks to all.

교육 기관: Jayakrishnan H

Jan 08, 2018

I cannot recommend this course as well as the whole specialization enough. Absolute value for the money spent.

교육 기관: Anand V R

Sep 30, 2016

Great course. Thanks to prof Erickson, prof. Maksimovic and prof. Afridi and all the volunteers involved for their effort in making such a wonderful course for the power electronics community.

교육 기관: Luheng Q

Aug 22, 2017

very good practice of designing a dc/dc converter, you choose the topology, select components based on what you have learned. Some previous experience with PMIC would make you understand much better. Thanks for the UC Boulder team and whoever contributes in developing this course and provide help in discussion forum!

교육 기관: Ajibade S

May 15, 2018

Capstone Design Project test every aspect of skills and knowledge that have been acquired during the course of the Specialization program. It's fun, tasking and worth while.

A million thanks to the program design team!

교육 기관: Ambar P

Oct 04, 2016

Excellent design project which provides an opportunity to utilize the knowledge acquired from previous five courses of this specialization. The understanding of power electronics is put to test for solving a real life problem which is very relevant. Peer grading provides wonderful feedback and interaction among fellow learners.

교육 기관: Xiaoguang J

Oct 02, 2016

This is one of best Courses in Power electronics I have learned ! They are worth learning .Thank you , Professors!

교육 기관: Miguel B A

Oct 07, 2016

Dear Professors,

Thank you Very much for all your dedication in this Specialization. Excellent course and Capstone Project Design. Many Thanks to Coursera.org

Best Regards,

Miguel Baldera.

교육 기관: Sufi S H J

Aug 05, 2017

Extremely useful course for power engineers.

교육 기관: insend

Mar 23, 2017

Very helpful,thanks all of the people in this course.

교육 기관: Laurel L N

Nov 30, 2017

This was an amazing course. I am almost sad it's over.

The very best teachers and fellow learners.

Great job COURSERA and University of Colorado Boulder

교육 기관: Hellenic S

Aug 03, 2017

Excellent Project!

교육 기관: Manuel M G

Sep 28, 2016

Simply, the best!

교육 기관: Nicolas K

Mar 23, 2017

Good design projects, but very difficult at some times