Chevron Left
Introduction to Power Electronics(으)로 돌아가기

콜로라도 대학교 볼더 캠퍼스의 Introduction to Power Electronics 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
2,580개의 평가
634개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course can also be taken for academic credit as ECEA 5700, part of CU Boulder’s Master of Science in Electrical Engineering degree. This course introduces the basic concepts of switched-mode converter circuits for controlling and converting electrical power with high efficiency. Principles of converter circuit analysis are introduced, and are developed for finding the steady state voltages, current, and efficiency of power converters. Assignments include simulation of a dc-dc converter, analysis of an inverting dc-dc converter, and modeling and efficiency analysis of an electric vehicle system and of a USB power regulator. After completing this course, you will: ● Understand what a switched-mode converter is and its basic operating principles ● Be able to solve for the steady-state voltages and currents of step-down, step-up, inverting, and other power converters ● Know how to derive an averaged equivalent circuit model and solve for the converter efficiency A basic understanding of electrical circuit analysis is an assumed prerequisite for this course....

최상위 리뷰

SA
2017년 7월 31일

This course sets the groundwork for more advanced concepts in Power Electronics. The Professor was very explicit and the homework assignments were of a good strength to help ground the notions learnt.

PK
2020년 6월 18일

Very nice course. Even if you are already familiar with power electronics, it will help you to form a system of knowledge and utilize rational approaches for task solution of any level of complicity.

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Power Electronics의 619개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: Egbeola A

2020년 4월 17일

Very Difficult with very poor lecture videos.

교육 기관: Tommi J

2020년 10월 21일

Very clear and concise explanations about basic analysis methods for power electronic circuits. What's great is the emphasis on general methodologies - you are not expeted to memorize the operation of all different power electronics circuits but are rather taught generally applicable tools to analyse any power electronic circuits you are given. I have taken this course as a refresher as I previously have a Master's in power electronics but have been working in other industries for the past 5 years. Thus, I think I can confidently say that the coverage in this course is good and the lectures and exercises have clearly been carefully constructed. My only minor negative point is that the exercises, while generally very good for making the student apply the skills taught in the course, are a little bit unforgiving in the sense that if you have somewhere along the way made a mistake when deriving analytical expressions, it might be quite difficult and time-consuming to find the error as it is difficult to get hints or to get pointed in the right direction. Of course, that might be expected from an online course and I guess there is also a (more expensive) version of this course available where you also have access to course staff which would certainly help when running into such issues. It's quite a time-consuming course so be prepared, I spent much more than the quoted 3h per exercise (without counting the first exercise which was pretty straightforward).

교육 기관: Sharmila P

2020년 7월 26일

The subject material is very well organized. Prof Bob Erickson explains the subject in a way that makes it simple and intuitive to understand the concept. It's such a welcome change from a 'push the book material' style of the most. The HW and Assignment questions are extremely well designed. They make the students to go through 'nooks and corners' of the subject. My only unfulfilled wish from the course is live demos with real life components and explanation of their relative merits over others. A 'virtual power electronics lab' to this course will be a welcome addendum.

A gratifying experience to receive the certificate signed by Dr Robert Erickson!

교육 기관: Michael B

2017년 6월 29일

Well laid out review of the math behind switching converter designs. Course provides some above and beyond material (ie an example of a MOSFET driving circuit) for those looking to learn more.

Only negative comment I have is regarding the forums. The moderators appear to be semi-active and answers conclusively, but it has pages on pages of people asking the same questions, so sometimes it's hard to find the right discussion. Highly recommend the moderator 'closes' similar questions and refer's the author via link or something to the full discussion on that question wherever it is.

교육 기관: Augusto H E

2020년 2월 14일

Muy buena introducción a la electrónica de potencia!

El doctor Erickson hace posible con sus vídeos y eplicaciones que conceptos muy complejos sean asimilados sin grandes traumas. Sería un curso perfecto si se incluyeran más ejercicios resueltos para poder practicar bien antes de realizar los tests, cuyo nivel de dificultad puede resultar algo elevado para los principiantes en esta materia.

Animo a todo el mundo interesado en este campo de la electrónica a participar en este magnífico curso!!!

교육 기관: Sebastian L

2017년 9월 30일

I am a professional hardware developer working outside of the field of power electronics, so for me this course is an attempt to gain knowledge in a new field.... succsessfully. The introduction ends with quite a hardcore homework that may break some nerves but going through this is definitely worth it. I recommend this course to anyone that has some experience with electronics and wants to push their knowledge boundaries towards the field of power electronics

교육 기관: Dhaval P

2018년 7월 1일

I am very happy to write this review, not just because i have completed this introductory course in power electronics, but because I feel this first course has tempted me enough to go for the next course and also to dive deeper into the mathematical analysis of converters. I absolutely recommend this course as a "soft" start into the world of power electronics. Prof. Erikson , thank you very much. I shall be joining the next course in line to this one.

교육 기관: Gianyacomo Z

2020년 11월 12일

The course developed by the teacher is of excellent quality. The knowledge was transmitted in different stages that helped to better understand the principles associated with the principles of power electronics.

As for the tasks assigned were rhetorical, which is very pleasant.

I would like to improve the support or help in line with the tasks or exercises proposed, through mentors or a forum where you can discuss the doubts that appear

교육 기관: Mustafa U B

2016년 2월 20일

Great course and a great teacher. The assignments were great and really prompted you to learn. I liked how they weren't too easy and at the same time they weren't insanely difficult. Any effort that you put in learning the course was payed off. Hopefully the other courses in the specialization will be similar.

And of course, the content of the course was very interesting and informative. Looking forward to the future courses.

교육 기관: Dimitrios G

2020년 1월 26일

I am an electrical engineer and decided to take the course as a refresh. But what I found is that this course is more than a simple approach to power electronics. The explanations and the flow of the course are the most helpful. I wish I had a professor like Dr. Erickson at my university.

I like that homework is quite challenging to solve but always you have on guidance the theory from the previous courses.

교육 기관: Murat O

2016년 2월 17일

Exceptionally useful and very well organized lectures and homework assignments. Even as an industry professional I felt challenged. I am taking away information and fundamental knowledge of DC-DC converters that I will be able to apply in future projects. The lectures are easy to follow and very thorough. I would highly recommend this class to anybody interested in learning more about DC-DC converters.

교육 기관: Arun N

2020년 6월 12일

The course was really informative. The instructor gave a lot of insights along with intuitive explanation for the circuits' working. The assignment problems were also challenging. The only drawback I felt was no official solution is provided for the assignment problems after we submit the assignments. The solutions for those problems will help in having a better grasp of the concepts.

교육 기관: Alexander N

2017년 11월 22일

The homework is the right level of complexity - that is ... I had to think a bit. That's what I'm looking for - not impossible but enough to engage the brain. Now that I've passed second homework assignment I'm going to re-listen to the lectures to see what I missed. My first pass through I don't think I got all the details needed. Thank you for putting this together !

교육 기관: Carlos F H P

2016년 2월 26일

It has been one of my favorites MOOCs, I would say a top 3 of the best courses i have taken.

Even though you have to work so hard to deal with the homeworks, you are going to learn a lot. Professor Erickson is a great master in his field and he explains so clear. I really recommend this course to those who love electronics and want to develop their own projects.

교육 기관: Taylor M

2019년 1월 16일

Fantastic Course! Material is well developed.

Only thing I would change is being able to submit individual answers to the quizzes instead of having to submit the quiz all at once. Many of the questions rely on calculating based off of previous answers. So to make sure you are on the right track you can burn through your attempts and have to wait an hour.

교육 기관: Bhushan C P

2017년 6월 19일

Awesome!!! Best way to understand core power electronics concepts with details including mathematics, circuit designing, component selection parameters, practical difficulties involved with circuits ...etc... I am really thankful to Prof.Robert W. Erickson, his team, University of Colorado and Coursera for providing this great knowledge to us!!!

교육 기관: Vivek S G

2016년 1월 26일

WOOO .. This course is great ,, with the quiz in between the video lectures makes learning fun.

the home work problems are also great to work. More emphasis laid on the simulations results to be read correctly and reflecting those results onto the solution for the home work problems...

still looking forward more to learn and simulate.....

교육 기관: Dina Č

2016년 2월 7일

I have taken this course live in my university, but the messy way it was taught created so much confusion. Now, it's all being cleared up. I really appreciate the slow pace the course is taking and the way that difficult matter is easily explained by the professor. I am looking forward to taking other courses in the Specialization.

교육 기관: Henry G

2016년 2월 13일

Professor Erickson explains both the mathematical and physical definitions of all converter equations. His methods enable you to tackle more complicated problems while maintaining a physical insight (not just playing with the math). Very good derivation of how to include losses and calculate the efficiency of a dc-dc converter.

교육 기관: David J D

2020년 3월 12일

This course allowed me to read widely to fully understand. It was intellectually stimulating. I, however, feel for a course entitled "Introduction to Power Electronics", it was quite advanced. It is part of a masters' course so I guess the definition of "beginner level" is quite different. I give it my full thumbs up

교육 기관: Victor H G V

2019년 9월 10일

Very interesting and challenging, you will need to dedicate a couple additional hours to the ones suggested in order to complete the homeworks. I would recommend the use of Mathcad or similar software to solve equations once you have the hold of it, it will save you a lot of time that you could use for design.

교육 기관: mostafahamdy

2019년 9월 4일

the instructor is knowledgeable and his explanation is clear and simple to understand every parameter you need to add to make your dc-dc converter . it`s a great beginning to this field (power electronics )and recommended to take this course and continue with the rest 5 courses of this great instructor

교육 기관: SURYA V

2016년 5월 10일

The best course on line for a beginners aspiring to become experts in the field of power electronics.

> Chief Course Instructor is a expert in this field with focussed research on power electronics.

> Course has a specialization with course design.

> Book is will greatly help students taking this course.

교육 기관: SRIKRISHNA.Y.HUNSWADKAR

2020년 4월 17일

The Course is excellent, it covered various aspects involved in Modeling of DC Converter Circuits and computing their losses. Prof Erickson taught this course very well. I am very thankful to University of Colorado, Boulder for this course and Coursera for Creating such a wonderful platform.

교육 기관: Grant J " U

2017년 7월 19일

A very good introduction to the concepts of power electronics. Having a background in physics II (Freshman level 2 and/or Electromagnetic physics) is about all you need. I would recommend a firm grasp on Kirchoff's laws and listening closely to the professor. He is very good at what he does.