Chevron Left
Practical Time Series Analysis(으)로 돌아가기

뉴욕주립대학교의 Practical Time Series Analysis 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
별점
1,235개의 평가
348개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Welcome to Practical Time Series Analysis! Many of us are "accidental" data analysts. We trained in the sciences, business, or engineering and then found ourselves confronted with data for which we have no formal analytic training. This course is designed for people with some technical competencies who would like more than a "cookbook" approach, but who still need to concentrate on the routine sorts of presentation and analysis that deepen the understanding of our professional topics. In practical Time Series Analysis we look at data sets that represent sequential information, such as stock prices, annual rainfall, sunspot activity, the price of agricultural products, and more. We look at several mathematical models that might be used to describe the processes which generate these types of data. We also look at graphical representations that provide insights into our data. Finally, we also learn how to make forecasts that say intelligent things about what we might expect in the future. Please take a few minutes to explore the course site. You will find video lectures with supporting written materials as well as quizzes to help emphasize important points. The language for the course is R, a free implementation of the S language. It is a professional environment and fairly easy to learn. You can discuss material from the course with your fellow learners. Please take a moment to introduce yourself! Time Series Analysis can take effort to learn- we have tried to present those ideas that are "mission critical" in a way where you understand enough of the math to fell satisfied while also being immediately productive. We hope you enjoy the class!...

최상위 리뷰

SA
2020년 1월 23일

Excelente, uno de los mejores cursos que he tomado. Lo más importante es que se practica muy seguido y hay examenes durante los vídeos. Si hay un nivel más avanzado de este tema, seguro que lo tomo.

JM
2019년 3월 20일

This was a very good and detailed course. I liked this course for two reasons mainly:\n\nIt started from the basics of timeseries analysis, covering theory and secondly it took me gradually to r.

필터링 기준:

Practical Time Series Analysis의 345개 리뷰 중 326~345

교육 기관: Artem M

2018년 5월 18일

Contents of the course are very good. It provides a compact introduction to the most important statistical methods for time series estimation. Nevertheless, there are many mistakes in slides/exercises, necessity to download datasets instead of using predefined ones, and a great number of time series libraries to download when we could just use 2 of those, which is ok, but I took 1 star for it. The other star taken was because I think the course could still include more information on the theory of time series (yes, I understand that the name is PRACTICAL time series, but still), and more meaningful exercises. Most of those were pretty trivial.

교육 기관: Miguel L

2018년 9월 5일

Overall, it is a pretty good course: in just a few weeks you are introduced to a satisfactory level of time series analysis with R even if your background in R and/or statistics is not that high. I have personally missed some more depth (even if optional: for example, providing additional optional readings, or creating an honours track with extra difficult assignments for motivated students). Instructors are pretty good but they should make an extra effort to be clearer and not to speed up too much: some more additional videos or just more time for each video covering the same content would be better.

교육 기관: Sharon M

2020년 2월 27일

While this course was pretty thorough, it was way too mathematical and not nearly as applied as I would have expected a 'practical' course to be. It was also extremely frustrating that a large proportion of the forum messages went unanswered - I've never done a Coursera course before where there hasn't at least been a research assistance answering questions. You really had to try to follow everything yourself, and if you had a question, you had to find the answer yourself. A bit disappointing.

교육 기관: Richelle S A

2019년 7월 21일

It was a nice course, very informative. But week 3 simply had way too much matter in it in comparison with the previous 2 weeks which makes it difficult if you've set a timetable. Also, week 6 had poorly maintained data availability, and missing code. Lastly, the professors are absent from the discussions. There are unanswered doubts from longer than a year ago.

But if you dedicate enough time and effort, this course is pretty good.

교육 기관: Lyla F

2020년 1월 24일

It's decent for what it is - a course trying to balance theory with practicality. However, it uses R for the target implementation environment. That's fine, but as a matter of taste, I prefer python. Therefore, for me, the practicality aspect of the course wasn't the greatest, and that was its main selling point.

교육 기관: Arman A

2020년 10월 8일

It is in R, making it rather limited for applications in industry, however using Python's statsmodel you should be able to keep up with the notes.

I was expecting a lot more theoretical explanation of the concepts rather than just demo'ing some R code and fitting some libraries to data.

교육 기관: Christopher K

2020년 11월 13일

It was definitely a gentle and accessible introduction to time series analysis. I was hoping for something a little more comprehensive and challenging, however, and sound quality was sometimes poor. This would serve as good preparation for an introductory course on time series.

교육 기관: Pablo C T

2018년 10월 14일

Overall, this is a good course for beginners in time series analysis.

However, I wish they had go beyond the basics. I missed more advanced content, discussions between different forecasting techniques, multivariate forecasting...It is pretty basic.

교육 기관: Herman d V

2019년 11월 6일

Very interesting course. For a 'practical' course, I did find it rather theoretical. Also, some links to downloadable data are missing and there are some small errors in the R scripts that are offered. Nonetheless a good course, I learned a lot!

교육 기관: Loganathan S

2020년 11월 20일

The coding for the steps confusing and can follow how the tutor explained. I would like to suggest for the course coordinator to create a document on steps with coding for each model or test we want to run. Thank you.

교육 기관: Andrew G

2021년 1월 17일

Good/thorough introduction to moving average, auto-regressive, intetgrade, and seasonal models as well as basic forecasting. Some of the labs don't work, as well as links, and the organization is messy in places.

교육 기관: Emanuel N

2020년 3월 9일

While professor Thistetlon gave the classes in a way that kept my attention,Prof Sadigov wasn't so good at it. Clearly he know a lot but not as a teacher.

교육 기관: Mark H

2018년 6월 27일

Would have loved more work with the ready made packages, I feel like I still can't master using them in R, although I did understand the material.

교육 기관: Ivan D

2021년 1월 17일

good, but not great. needs more explanation about the intuition. needs a lot more exercises. needs to cover more topics.

교육 기관: SAKET M

2020년 4월 18일

Instructors are good but as per the title this is not more than 30% practical Time Series Analysis

교육 기관: Maria B

2018년 10월 19일

The content was great, but I'd have liked to see more practical exercises.

교육 기관: Stéphane D

2020년 3월 21일

I find the course a little too theoretical

교육 기관: António M F B d C C

2020년 7월 18일

I finished this course with grade over 90% and yet I feel disappointed with it.

Divided between intense theoretical (I could say "impractical") formulations and forcing implementations in R, it feels like the course could never really achieve the objectives of teaching what it was meant to.

And so, I feel like I will hardly be able to implement any of the given topics by myself with my current knowledge...

Apart from my critique of the course, the course really needs a revision because many contents are not up-to-date (like filenames) or even working (several pieces of code throughout the course, specially crucial in quizzes)...

교육 기관: John S

2020년 10월 23일

Not as practical as I expected

교육 기관: Andrew G

2020년 8월 3일

The title and prereq's to don't reflect reality.