Chevron Left
Privacy Law and Data Protection(으)로 돌아가기

펜실베이니아 대학교의 Privacy Law and Data Protection 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
485개의 평가
86개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

What does it take to comply with privacy laws? In this course, we’ll look at the practical aspects of navigating the complex landscape of privacy requirements. Better understanding privacy laws and data protection will enable you to protect your organization and the constituents that depend on your organization to safeguard their personal information. First, we will examine the historical context that drove the creation of laws, best practices, and other standards for protecting personal information. We will also consider where in the U.S. privacy laws exist and which sectors remain unregulated. Next, we will focus on the federal health privacy law, the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 (HIPAA) – and what it takes to comply with it. How do you know the scope of the requirements? And once you know HIPAA applies, how do you actually put measures in place to ensure compliance? We’ll explore the notion that one cannot have privacy without strong security and examine various models that promote the security of personal information. We’ll look closely at breach notification laws – one of the most significant drivers of change in organizations – and discuss strategies for the improvement of data protection overall. Lastly, we will look at international law, state law, the unique and important role of the Federal Trade Commission in protecting privacy. Most importantly, we get practical – we will discuss real-world, practical approaches to how compliance professionals can navigate the complex landscape of privacy requirements to best protect their organizations....

최상위 리뷰

RC
2020년 1월 2일

I was particularly pleased to see the sections on GDPR and CCPA. They are relatively new laws and extremely important, so it was nice to see the content being so current.

SA
2020년 6월 29일

Great overview of privacy and data protection. Heavy emphasis on HIPAA given Lecturer background and expertise. Would recommend to any beginners or curious individuals.

필터링 기준:

Privacy Law and Data Protection의 86개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Aidan O D

2020년 1월 24일

I know the course is by an American college, but there is an over-focus on American information. As this course is a MOOC, you would expect that the content covered would be more general and only use specific examples to help support ideas.

An entire section was dedicated to the American health insurance system, which was just incredibly repetitive and uninteresting. As many of your students are from outside the US you should consider this.

교육 기관: ‘Toni N

2019년 11월 14일

I found this course to be very interesting. Lauren Steinfeld of the University of Pennsylvania was an amazing teacher and always found a way to summarise vital concepts and points in a succinct manner. The course was also exposed me to multi-jurisdictional aspects of privacy law in the US and Europe and this helped me to appreciate the way privacy and data protection are treated in different parts of the world.

교육 기관: Fuad T A Q A

2019년 11월 22일

Thank you very much for this effort in the work of this training course, which is one of the most important courses in the field of data privacy protection

교육 기관: Mehmet B K

2019년 7월 15일

Its a great cours for those who does not have a clue about USA privacy law. If you want to make your first step, this is a great opportunity.

교육 기관: Lena E

2019년 11월 11일

Good overview of general principles of privacy law and data protection.

교육 기관: manish k j

2021년 2월 20일

The course gave me insights into Fair Information Principles, HIPPA guidelines, GDPR, and FTC enforcement. In a single course, one can learn the fundamentals of Data Privacy Principles and why it is of utmost importance for compliance officers in any company dealing with customer data or information. The course is optimum even for someone who wants to know about the importance of data privacy in this age and time and how one should protect consumer data information and avoid law enforcement actions. Great course!

교육 기관: Robert O

2021년 3월 4일

Professor Steinfeld was clear and to the point. She provided background to the material. The organizing principles and sources of the rules, regulations and laws governing the current practice. She provided exercises that highlighted real-world examples of concerns and solutions. In the end, I believe myself to be more prepared to address management and oversight of Privacy and Data protection at my company going forward.

교육 기관: William R O S

2021년 3월 29일

Excellent theme and always current. Discuss the importance of data security and personal information privacy is part of the nowadays scenario where the concern with how our personal information are used and for what purpose, always having in mind mechanisms to protect that information from theft, misuse, violation and breach.

교육 기관: Alex H

2019년 11월 3일

Good overview of privacy law, both US FIP and EU GDPR. Would have preferred if the example privacy law explored in Week 2 were something finance-related like FDCPA or FACTA/FCRA, rather than HIPPA, but the discussions were good (including a quick dive into data security and cyber threat protection).

교육 기관: Andres P d L

2019년 10월 31일

This course covering legal Issues, HIPPA and privacy topics proved to be the most challenging of the 4 courses. I need to go back and review this section and take it a bit slower next time. However everything in there was broken down nicely and supplied great supplemental examples.

교육 기관: Sally V C

2019년 8월 20일

Professor Steinfeld is extremely knowledgeable, responsive and she provides an engaging learning experience. I really enjoyed learning through the useful combination of video and content. A tremendous help to anyone interested in learning more about the privacy landscape.

교육 기관: Zuleymi V

2020년 11월 9일

Data protection is one of the most important new skills to learn about this decade, it is growing and demanding new job positions. Which is great for Compliance Professionals who whishes to learn new things and make minimun changes in their professional carrier.

교육 기관: Grace C

2020년 3월 29일

I thought this course was well organized and thought out. I appreciated that it included a brief segment on the CCPA. I actually would love if in the future they built out the CCPA section a bit more since that seems particularly relevant in today's landscape.

교육 기관: Zhiyao L

2019년 7월 14일

This is a very good course. It gave me an overview knowledge of the data privacy protections both in the US (HIPAA, FERMA, COPPA) and Europe (GDPR). I would highly recommend for anyone trying to learn about the basic regimes of data privacy.

교육 기관: Muzzil Q K

2019년 4월 22일

I am quite familiar with the privacy regime in the EU and other individual States such as Malaysia and Australia but this course gave me an important perspective on privacy and information security particularly from a US perspective.

교육 기관: Amah A

2020년 3월 27일

This Course is very instructive and interactive. It helped me understand and do a comparative analysis between the US data protection regulatory framework and the Nigerian NDPR which is quite similar to the EU-GDPR framework.

교육 기관: Casimiro V

2020년 12월 27일

Very easy to understand, but at the same time provides a very good introduction to the subject. After this Course is a lot easier to understand these areas of knowledge and know what other courses we must look for.

교육 기관: Aniuska R

2020년 8월 17일

Lecture are easy to follow and most of the articles included great examples on the topics. For the instructors: I would recommend using different articles, as some were not accessible unless you had a subscription.

교육 기관: Kungwang H

2020년 5월 5일

A very good overview of privacy law and data protection. My only complaint is that it is a tad too easy and the final paper writing assignment, which is graded by peer, can have a higher grading standard.

교육 기관: Emmanuel V

2021년 2월 14일

Great overview of Privacy Law and Data Protection. Format can be slightly improved to ease future reference to course material. But content is very well tuned to the scope. Thanks a lot for the learning!

교육 기관: Gonzalo R P

2021년 4월 12일

Interesting and usefull course on the topic. However I would have appreciated it even more if the focus was more international with deeper analysis of the GDPR. Too much focus on the HIPPA.

교육 기관: Jorge G C

2021년 1월 30일

The professor is excellent. She exposes in a very clear and convincing way aspects of private, administrative and international law that are not as simple as we may think.

교육 기관: Sultan A

2020년 6월 30일

Great overview of privacy and data protection. Heavy emphasis on HIPAA given Lecturer background and expertise. Would recommend to any beginners or curious individuals.

교육 기관: ALEXANDRE J D S

2020년 9월 25일

Very good course, however it should have more descriptive content and a greater number of classes, due to the interest of great resourcefulness today.

교육 기관: Pauline

2020년 5월 11일

Good course that provides a very basic overview of privacy regulation and law in the USA. It is good for people that have never studied the system.