Chevron Left
Introduction to Probability and Data with R(으)로 돌아가기

듀크대학교의 Introduction to Probability and Data with R 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
5,198개의 평가
1,248개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course introduces you to sampling and exploring data, as well as basic probability theory and Bayes' rule. You will examine various types of sampling methods, and discuss how such methods can impact the scope of inference. A variety of exploratory data analysis techniques will be covered, including numeric summary statistics and basic data visualization. You will be guided through installing and using R and RStudio (free statistical software), and will use this software for lab exercises and a final project. The concepts and techniques in this course will serve as building blocks for the inference and modeling courses in the Specialization....

최상위 리뷰

AM

2021년 2월 7일

After trying several courses to get me started with R programming, this one came to the rescue and had all the info I wanted. It also provides a great way to practice through labs and a final project!

AA

2021년 2월 24일

I always wanted to learn statistics from scratch, but I never had a good university teacher. Here I found a good teacher and also the opportunity to learn whenever I want ( and skipping parts I knew!)

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Probability and Data with R의 1,236개 리뷰 중 1201~1225

교육 기관: Saumya Arya

2020년 7월 31일

The teachers dont focus on teaching R , but rather on only the basics statistics.

교육 기관: Aaron D

2017년 7월 16일

Mediocre. Not much in the way of help for using R

교육 기관: Arunav C

2020년 7월 22일

Very poor explanation skills

교육 기관: Darrell W

2017년 11월 21일

banana

교육 기관: Shawn

2021년 8월 2일

First off, how do you get off teaching a class with an R specialization without even explaining some of the most basic operators and functions of R first? Or barely teaching R at all when the name implies you will learn a lot of R. Well they've managed to do it here. As a result, I had to dig around the internet for several days to learn some of the core functions of R that should have been taught by this class. While we are on that subject, I wasn't taught anything that I actually wanted to learn R for...things like the t-test, ANOVA, CFA, etc. Instead you just learn how to do random stuff like pnorm functions and how to filter variables (or how to run dplr without explaining why the piping function '%>%' matters). As much as its good to brush up on the basics like histograms and boxplots, the core tests that are extremely common and useful to learn are to my great amazement missing. Idk how you can run a stats course without even a single explanation of a t-test. During the various times I was confused by the teaching, I would normally refer to my book, but the book chapters they give you literally never align with what you're learning that week, which is astounding given the whole point of a book is for reference. I checked to make sure I had the most recent book, and even with having the most up to date text, its completely disconnected from the video content. You're better off just Googling and YouTubing whatever you wanna learn (which is basically what I did since it was free and much easier to understand).

교육 기관: Paul A

2020년 8월 12일

Avoid, this is a crash grab. The instructors don't seem to know a whole lot of R, or are unwilling to teach what they know. Making the labs work is a hassle on itself, not to mention the final assignment outrageous demands come out of nowhere and blindside you.

The introduction of R to the statistics and probability subjects is shallow at best. To learn the same amount of statistics and R on this course; a good textbook, some videos and a tutorial on R will give you better results on a fraction of the time.

The language used on the quizzes and labs is obscure to say the least. You have to navigate through what feels like booby traps in the hopes of figuring out what you're supposed to answer, not to mention the multiple choices are trap them selves. On the quiz feedback it actually said several times, things like: "Although this is partially correct, this other answer is more correct."

The quizzes took me back to my dreaded time in university where the teachers were out to fail you. Allegedly the instructor has a PhD and focused on pedagogy, to be honest I didn't feel this pedagogy approach anywhere and more like a padded resume.

교육 기관: James B C

2019년 3월 13일

By the textbook it appears to be a very vanilla Stat 101 course, chapter 2 of the textbook did cover some conditional probability and Bayes theory otherwise very similar to stat 101 course I took in 1978. In other words, not exactly 21st century data science. Taught at high school / college freshman level (one of the exercises was writing mean and standard deviation with Greek letters -- pure busywork). The textbook inaccurately described a data set with several different data types as a "data matrix" a word usage that conflicts with both linear algebra and the statistical language R. This course is an obsolete and lame intro to statistics; I would recommend instead either Stanford's Introduction to Statistical Learning or the Coursera's Data Science Specialization.

교육 기관: Jim

2021년 10월 22일

The labs are terribly written. The instructions don't work in many cases. Even if they did, they assume a fair amount of prerequisite understanding of RStudio. Also, several quiz questions are written incorrectly. There were cases where I had to assume what I thought the question meant, even though the opposite was written, and I was marked correct (proving the question was written incorrectly). I have a statistics degree and have used R in several past projects, so I'm not just complaining out of ignorance.

교육 기관: Emilio H B A

2021년 12월 10일

I've been trying for a week to get the RMD file "intro_to_r_Coursera" working in RStudio. The instructions provided are not clear as they include a multitude of options for errors, errors that really exist. It is not a beginner's course in R. Make an effort to provide code that works without errors. If other universities get it, you can too. Try it! My time is too precious to waste on this project. Never again a Mooc on Duke University!

교육 기관: aparna j

2020년 8월 9일

Before assigning such a tough project in week 5 using R, the course should have dealt with R more thoroughly along with theory about probability. Week 5 mentions project to be of 2hrs, but it took me 1 week to understand R all by myself and then complete the assignment somehow. I would say, i chose the wrong course. Highly dissapointed. Should have opted some other course to learn R in depth.

교육 기관: Michael K

2020년 11월 14일

The very first setup of R packages is broken. I paid $49 dollars because I waited 2 days past the 7 day free trial. After spending hours reading through the forums of many people having many different configuration problems, it is clear that the content creators should have fixed these issues on their end. Instead they leave students to figure it out.

교육 기관: Yavor P

2021년 10월 6일

T​here is no support from Duke with the practical tasks using R. In fact, their cloud environment no longer supports additional projects to be created. The team doesn't anwer student questions. The only positive thing about the course is that their recommendation for an open source statistics book - that one's worth reading.

교육 기관: Pamela G

2017년 7월 6일

While the videos and quizzes were easy to use, I had extreme difficulty using the DataCamp and could not find any tutorials that would answer my questions. Also, am unable to complete the course because of technical difficulties with RStudio. The course should have more online resources for those with little experience.

교육 기관: Niharika K

2020년 12월 18일

For Beginners, it is very difficult to understand the mechanism of how R works without the video guidance. Though reading is available, but it does not give a good understanding due to the complexities of R.

교육 기관: Bo W

2016년 4월 15일

thanks for your effort to make videos, but this is the first time find a class that i can not submit my answer to check if it is correct or not before my account is upgraded. Disappoint to Coursera and Duke.

교육 기관: Chung K K

2021년 10월 24일

h​ow to unenroll the course? Other courses have a three-dot button from which I can choose "unenrol", but I cannot do the same in this course, all I have is to "rate the course", which I did.

교육 기관: Piotr Z

2020년 6월 7일

The course was not very helpful for me, as practical cases with R were poorly developed and the final data capstone project is badly formulated which makes it extremely difficult to pass.

교육 기관: Parth P

2022년 2월 18일

This course is too theoretical and certainly not helpful to learn the R language. Better to watch free youtube videos on Stats and R. Just avoid this one.

교육 기관: Isis K

2022년 7월 29일

Explanation of how to download the packages and do the Knit thing did not work for me, so I searched for a course explaining better

교육 기관: Derek E

2021년 2월 7일

The lab instructions are terrible and the code used for this course is dependent on software libraries that are out of date.

교육 기관: Devam R

2021년 5월 23일

Although the course is alright but the focus is not on R. Thus, the course is not suitable for people who want to learn R.

교육 기관: Rukshan M T

2022년 7월 27일

I have to drop this specialization because the so called 'nycflights' data set doesn't exist. What a waste of time

교육 기관: Manoj G

2016년 9월 23일

Speed is very fast for a basic level student. The data explanation and correlation demonstrated is not clear.

교육 기관: Philomena

2016년 5월 9일

There's no point in auditing the course since you don't get access to the answers

교육 기관: Eduardo F

2021년 1월 24일

the introduction with R is extremely confused for someone who is from scratch