학생용
Chevron Left
Probability and Statistics: To p or not to p?(으)로 돌아가기

런던 대학교의 Probability and Statistics: To p or not to p? 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
별점
1,067개의 평가
371개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

We live in an uncertain and complex world, yet we continually have to make decisions in the present with uncertain future outcomes. Indeed, we should be on the look-out for "black swans" - low-probability high-impact events. To study, or not to study? To invest, or not to invest? To marry, or not to marry? While uncertainty makes decision-making difficult, it does at least make life exciting! If the entire future was known in advance, there would never be an element of surprise. Whether a good future or a bad future, it would be a known future. In this course we consider many useful tools to deal with uncertainty and help us to make informed (and hence better) decisions - essential skills for a lifetime of good decision-making. Key topics include quantifying uncertainty with probability, descriptive statistics, point and interval estimation of means and proportions, the basics of hypothesis testing, and a selection of multivariate applications of key terms and concepts seen throughout the course....

최상위 리뷰

TS
2020년 4월 30일

I would like to thank Dr. James Abdey for his wonderful explanation of probability and statistics in a short time. I definitely learnt many things which I can make use in my further courses. Thank you

SR
2020년 6월 23일

Excellent introductory course for probability and Statistics, Dr. Abdey made the course very lively with his approach of teaching. Hope to see many more online courses from you in the future.

필터링 기준:

Probability and Statistics: To p or not to p?의 368개 리뷰 중 51~75

교육 기관: Jaime V E S

2020년 3월 8일

Great overview of the subject. Great Price. Great content. Great instructor. But the written content is a bit repetitive (It has very similar information to what was on the videos); I think more in deep explanations, o at least different examples to those in the videos would´ve been better.

교육 기관: MASROAF S S

2020년 9월 2일

This course is for those who want to refresh their concepts on basic statistics (both inferential and descriptive). The course lectures are well delivered and Professor James Abdey covers the course material with a very good explanation of each topic. The farewell class is awesome.

교육 기관: Polly S X Y

2020년 5월 31일

I really enjoyed Dr James' lecture. Although it is distance learning but I feel connected and engaged to the lecturer. Dr James also gives a lot of real life examples to give us a better idea on the statistic problems. I will pursue further in other advanced courses in Statistics.

교육 기관: saswat m

2020년 7월 21일

This is actually a very good place to start if you want to learn probability and statistics. The instructor of this course is excellent and makes every bit of the topic understandable. If you want a realm of statistics just dive into this course. I promise you wouldn't regret.

교육 기관: Ting-Yu W

2020년 5월 23일

Dr. Abdey mingled great logical sense and humour into this introductory course. As a person who had feared any number-related course since teenage years, I found that this one helps people to take a small step at a time and gradually learn the thinking base for the start.

교육 기관: John S

2020년 5월 15일

Professor Abdey gave a very enthusiastic presentation of the subject matter. I took the course as a refresher and was pleased with the broad range of topics covered. I would gladly take another course by Professor Abdey or offered by the University of London.

교육 기관: Marc m

2019년 11월 10일

This introduction course is well presented and to the point, with ample examples of applications in the real world. I recommend this as an introduction to the topic. I am looking forward to follow- up with more advanced courses on Monte-Carlo simulation.

교육 기관: Norbert W

2020년 4월 14일

Great course on basic statistics! Really enjoyed the presentations, the tests were reasonably challenging. The material covered is basic, but it is a very well chosen starting point and helped me freshen up my quite old knowledge from school and university.

교육 기관: Aravindhan

2020년 5월 20일

Excellent course, offering clear video explanations along with pdfs to demonstrate concepts. Really liked the last segment of the course which extends the learnings to practical applications and also introduces pathways on how to explore and learn further.

교육 기관: Roderick G

2020년 6월 26일

Very good course. This was a great refresher and I enjoyed the pace. What I liked most is that it provided practical context and did not focus as much on the theory. I will be reviewing the course again before moving on to additional theory. Thanks!

교육 기관: P P

2020년 7월 27일

Great introductory course for high schoolers and freshmen college students...the professor is amazing ! His passion for the subject comes through with his examples and the lectures are absolutely fun to watch and learn. ! Highly recommend this course..

교육 기관: Graham P

2021년 1월 5일

Thank you Dr James Abdey for an excellent and very clear explanation, delivered with enthusiasm and appropriate detailed notes.

Wishing you every success in these very uncertain time and I am reminded that the only constant in life is change.

교육 기관: Pallav G

2020년 6월 15일

With vivid explanation and attention to detail of various course material along with the coverage provided. Highly recommend this course to people who want to learn the number crunching part of for a budding Business analyst and data scientist

교육 기관: Ashish T

2020년 6월 4일

Not much in depth dive into calculatory Probability and Statistics is present in the course, but still the best course out there for the beginners, who are looking for a solid base in the theoritical section of various Prob and Stats Jargons.

교육 기관: Jordan T

2020년 5월 27일

Dr James Abdey presents the course material in a straight forward manner and presents examples that are easy to grasp. I enjoyed taking this course and would recommend it to someone looking to learn the basics of probability and statistics.

교육 기관: Brian Y

2020년 12월 27일

Fantastic introduction course. Pacing was great and the instructor’s recorded lectures were very interesting. Would recommend to anyone looking for an intro probability and statistics course as a first time or as a refresher. Thank you!

교육 기관: Khoa d

2020년 7월 9일

Really enjoyed it. The lecturer was excellent in breaking down the principles into layman's terms. I do wish there was a bit of a smoother transition between the video lectures and the accompanying text which is more technical.

교육 기관: Derome R

2020년 5월 25일

Honestly an amazing MOOC! It has definitely heightened my interest in the field and I hope to learn even more in the near future. Anyone looking for a good introduction into Probability and Statistics should try this out!

교육 기관: Leonardo M

2020년 6월 8일

I was impressed by the way in which topics were explained, with such a dynamic approach that made lectures interesting. I would recommend this course to anyone who is willing to get introduced to the world of statistics.

교육 기관: Roshni R B

2020년 8월 2일

Very interesting subject and very nice way of teaching. The examples used in the lectures helped me a lot to understand the concepts properly. Thank you for putting up such course. Expecting more such courses in future.

교육 기관: Facundo N

2020년 7월 5일

The course was excellent !!! Obviously it was a basic course, however, the clarity, simplicity and ease with which the topics were transmitted make it one of the best courses available! Great job!!! I really enjoyed it.

교육 기관: Duvvuri Y S P

2019년 8월 2일

This course gives brief idea about different probabilistic methods used and their purpose in the real world. It's a very basic course where anyone can take and have a detailed knowledge on probability & Statistics.

교육 기관: Imad E

2020년 4월 29일

It was a great event for me to re learn statistics over 12 years from last course that i had in the business school.

Mr James abdey was fantastic and very helful to understand all statistic concet. thank to hime

교육 기관: Stefan H

2020년 6월 20일

Valuable learning. Concise format.

Some explanations were not as simple as they could have been though. Still, with some supplementary readings (or youtube/khan academy), it is very accessible and informative.

교육 기관: Reza G I

2020년 5월 20일

The course is great for introduction to Probability and Statistics. The instructor gives great explanation on basic theory with simple real world problem without touching too much detail with the formula.