Chevron Left
Probability and Statistics: To p or not to p?(으)로 돌아가기

런던 대학교의 Probability and Statistics: To p or not to p? 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
별점
1,330개의 평가
446개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

We live in an uncertain and complex world, yet we continually have to make decisions in the present with uncertain future outcomes. Indeed, we should be on the look-out for "black swans" - low-probability high-impact events. To study, or not to study? To invest, or not to invest? To marry, or not to marry? While uncertainty makes decision-making difficult, it does at least make life exciting! If the entire future was known in advance, there would never be an element of surprise. Whether a good future or a bad future, it would be a known future. In this course we consider many useful tools to deal with uncertainty and help us to make informed (and hence better) decisions - essential skills for a lifetime of good decision-making. Key topics include quantifying uncertainty with probability, descriptive statistics, point and interval estimation of means and proportions, the basics of hypothesis testing, and a selection of multivariate applications of key terms and concepts seen throughout the course....

최상위 리뷰

TS

2020년 4월 30일

I would like to thank Dr. James Abdey for his wonderful explanation of probability and statistics in a short time. I definitely learnt many things which I can make use in my further courses. Thank you

NS

2021년 4월 22일

James Abdey is an excellent lecturer. He explains clearly while using a lot of examples from real life applications. I am considering to read his PhD thesis (even though I don't have insomnia :-))

필터링 기준:

Probability and Statistics: To p or not to p?의 445개 리뷰 중 76~100

교육 기관: Anastasia S

2021년 5월 24일

I find the course valuable for beginners. Here there is no practical implementation, but this is not a focus of the course. The point is to understand the main points of statistics and probability. Dr Abdey has a great enthusiasm to explain the topic.

교육 기관: Graham P

2021년 1월 5일

Thank you Dr James Abdey for an excellent and very clear explanation, delivered with enthusiasm and appropriate detailed notes.

Wishing you every success in these very uncertain time and I am reminded that the only constant in life is change.

교육 기관: Pallav G

2020년 6월 15일

With vivid explanation and attention to detail of various course material along with the coverage provided. Highly recommend this course to people who want to learn the number crunching part of for a budding Business analyst and data scientist

교육 기관: Ashish T

2020년 6월 4일

Not much in depth dive into calculatory Probability and Statistics is present in the course, but still the best course out there for the beginners, who are looking for a solid base in the theoritical section of various Prob and Stats Jargons.

교육 기관: Jordan T

2020년 5월 27일

Dr James Abdey presents the course material in a straight forward manner and presents examples that are easy to grasp. I enjoyed taking this course and would recommend it to someone looking to learn the basics of probability and statistics.

교육 기관: Brian Y

2020년 12월 27일

Fantastic introduction course. Pacing was great and the instructor’s recorded lectures were very interesting. Would recommend to anyone looking for an intro probability and statistics course as a first time or as a refresher. Thank you!

교육 기관: Khoa d

2020년 7월 9일

Really enjoyed it. The lecturer was excellent in breaking down the principles into layman's terms. I do wish there was a bit of a smoother transition between the video lectures and the accompanying text which is more technical.

교육 기관: Greta T

2021년 6월 6일

Great introductory course! Dr James Abdey is a great lecturer: simple but precise language, excellent examples, always interesting. All these features really helped me to enjoy this course and improve my skills on the subject.

교육 기관: Derome R

2020년 5월 25일

Honestly an amazing MOOC! It has definitely heightened my interest in the field and I hope to learn even more in the near future. Anyone looking for a good introduction into Probability and Statistics should try this out!

교육 기관: Leonardo M

2020년 6월 8일

I was impressed by the way in which topics were explained, with such a dynamic approach that made lectures interesting. I would recommend this course to anyone who is willing to get introduced to the world of statistics.

교육 기관: Roshni R B

2020년 8월 2일

Very interesting subject and very nice way of teaching. The examples used in the lectures helped me a lot to understand the concepts properly. Thank you for putting up such course. Expecting more such courses in future.

교육 기관: Facundo N

2020년 7월 5일

The course was excellent !!! Obviously it was a basic course, however, the clarity, simplicity and ease with which the topics were transmitted make it one of the best courses available! Great job!!! I really enjoyed it.

교육 기관: Duvvuri Y S P

2019년 8월 2일

This course gives brief idea about different probabilistic methods used and their purpose in the real world. It's a very basic course where anyone can take and have a detailed knowledge on probability & Statistics.

교육 기관: Imad E

2020년 4월 29일

It was a great event for me to re learn statistics over 12 years from last course that i had in the business school.

Mr James abdey was fantastic and very helful to understand all statistic concet. thank to hime

교육 기관: Stefan H

2020년 6월 20일

Valuable learning. Concise format.

Some explanations were not as simple as they could have been though. Still, with some supplementary readings (or youtube/khan academy), it is very accessible and informative.

교육 기관: Reza G I

2020년 5월 20일

The course is great for introduction to Probability and Statistics. The instructor gives great explanation on basic theory with simple real world problem without touching too much detail with the formula.

교육 기관: Ludovic G

2020년 8월 4일

Thoroughly enjoyed this course. Aimed at beginners wishing to dip their toes in Probability and Statistics, Dr. James Abdey explains concepts in details while keeping the lessons lively and entertaining.

교육 기관: Murad J

2020년 4월 27일

Thanks for giving this great opportunity to get access to all resources and helping to learn lots of new statistical terms and data. I finally found the answer for "to p or not to p?" :)

thank you again!

교육 기관: Nebojsa S

2021년 4월 23일

James Abdey is an excellent lecturer. He explains clearly while using a lot of examples from real life applications. I am considering to read his PhD thesis (even though I don't have insomnia :-))

교육 기관: Ludvík P

2020년 9월 22일

Recommend way more than statistics for international business - that one is terrible. Everything is explained in a slow, fun way. Absolutely loved it. Better than the teachers at my University!

교육 기관: Santiago M

2020년 8월 20일

Me quedo muy satisfecho de haber tomado este curso. Mi entendimiento de la incertidumbre, de el proceso de decision bajo incertidumbre, y del alcance la ciencia estadística, ha mejorado mucho.

교육 기관: Cody P

2021년 2월 27일

Wonderful course, the kind that makes you excited about a subject. Dr Abdey is a great lecturer. Sometimes the contents in quizzes isn't quite formatted right, but otherwise no complaints.

교육 기관: Hanna M M S

2021년 3월 4일

This is a very mind-blowing course and it helped me in many ways. The subtitles and note-taking are great ideas too, plus they are not strict which is a total opposite in real classes

교육 기관: Inge v d K

2020년 5월 4일

The basics of statistics are very well explained, with easy to follow and clear examples! Some concepts finally clicked (although explained before in a university statistics course).

교육 기관: Ivan

2019년 5월 25일

Really well done!

It starts slow, explaining everything clearly. If you want to add material to a specific lesson, you can easly do it following what the teacher already explained.