Chevron Left
Probability and Statistics: To p or not to p?(으)로 돌아가기

런던 대학교의 Probability and Statistics: To p or not to p? 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
별점
1,003개의 평가
343개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

We live in an uncertain and complex world, yet we continually have to make decisions in the present with uncertain future outcomes. Indeed, we should be on the look-out for "black swans" - low-probability high-impact events. To study, or not to study? To invest, or not to invest? To marry, or not to marry? While uncertainty makes decision-making difficult, it does at least make life exciting! If the entire future was known in advance, there would never be an element of surprise. Whether a good future or a bad future, it would be a known future. In this course we consider many useful tools to deal with uncertainty and help us to make informed (and hence better) decisions - essential skills for a lifetime of good decision-making. Key topics include quantifying uncertainty with probability, descriptive statistics, point and interval estimation of means and proportions, the basics of hypothesis testing, and a selection of multivariate applications of key terms and concepts seen throughout the course....

최상위 리뷰

TS

May 01, 2020

I would like to thank Dr. James Abdey for his wonderful explanation of probability and statistics in a short time. I definitely learnt many things which I can make use in my further courses. Thank you

SR

Jun 24, 2020

Excellent introductory course for probability and Statistics, Dr. Abdey made the course very lively with his approach of teaching. Hope to see many more online courses from you in the future.

필터링 기준:

Probability and Statistics: To p or not to p?의 340개 리뷰 중 51~75

교육 기관: Ting-Yu W

May 23, 2020

Dr. Abdey mingled great logical sense and humour into this introductory course. As a person who had feared any number-related course since teenage years, I found that this one helps people to take a small step at a time and gradually learn the thinking base for the start.

교육 기관: John S

May 16, 2020

Professor Abdey gave a very enthusiastic presentation of the subject matter. I took the course as a refresher and was pleased with the broad range of topics covered. I would gladly take another course by Professor Abdey or offered by the University of London.

교육 기관: Marc m

Nov 10, 2019

This introduction course is well presented and to the point, with ample examples of applications in the real world. I recommend this as an introduction to the topic. I am looking forward to follow- up with more advanced courses on Monte-Carlo simulation.

교육 기관: Norbert W

Apr 14, 2020

Great course on basic statistics! Really enjoyed the presentations, the tests were reasonably challenging. The material covered is basic, but it is a very well chosen starting point and helped me freshen up my quite old knowledge from school and university.

교육 기관: Aravindhan

May 20, 2020

Excellent course, offering clear video explanations along with pdfs to demonstrate concepts. Really liked the last segment of the course which extends the learnings to practical applications and also introduces pathways on how to explore and learn further.

교육 기관: Roderick G

Jun 26, 2020

Very good course. This was a great refresher and I enjoyed the pace. What I liked most is that it provided practical context and did not focus as much on the theory. I will be reviewing the course again before moving on to additional theory. Thanks!

교육 기관: P P

Jul 27, 2020

Great introductory course for high schoolers and freshmen college students...the professor is amazing ! His passion for the subject comes through with his examples and the lectures are absolutely fun to watch and learn. ! Highly recommend this course..

교육 기관: Pallav G

Jun 15, 2020

With vivid explanation and attention to detail of various course material along with the coverage provided. Highly recommend this course to people who want to learn the number crunching part of for a budding Business analyst and data scientist

교육 기관: Ashish T

Jun 05, 2020

Not much in depth dive into calculatory Probability and Statistics is present in the course, but still the best course out there for the beginners, who are looking for a solid base in the theoritical section of various Prob and Stats Jargons.

교육 기관: Jordan T

May 28, 2020

Dr James Abdey presents the course material in a straight forward manner and presents examples that are easy to grasp. I enjoyed taking this course and would recommend it to someone looking to learn the basics of probability and statistics.

교육 기관: Khoa d

Jul 09, 2020

Really enjoyed it. The lecturer was excellent in breaking down the principles into layman's terms. I do wish there was a bit of a smoother transition between the video lectures and the accompanying text which is more technical.

교육 기관: Derome R

May 26, 2020

Honestly an amazing MOOC! It has definitely heightened my interest in the field and I hope to learn even more in the near future. Anyone looking for a good introduction into Probability and Statistics should try this out!

교육 기관: Leonardo M

Jun 08, 2020

I was impressed by the way in which topics were explained, with such a dynamic approach that made lectures interesting. I would recommend this course to anyone who is willing to get introduced to the world of statistics.

교육 기관: Roshni R B

Aug 02, 2020

Very interesting subject and very nice way of teaching. The examples used in the lectures helped me a lot to understand the concepts properly. Thank you for putting up such course. Expecting more such courses in future.

교육 기관: Facundo N

Jul 05, 2020

The course was excellent !!! Obviously it was a basic course, however, the clarity, simplicity and ease with which the topics were transmitted make it one of the best courses available! Great job!!! I really enjoyed it.

교육 기관: Duvvuri Y S P

Aug 02, 2019

This course gives brief idea about different probabilistic methods used and their purpose in the real world. It's a very basic course where anyone can take and have a detailed knowledge on probability & Statistics.

교육 기관: Eljerrari

Apr 29, 2020

It was a great event for me to re learn statistics over 12 years from last course that i had in the business school.

Mr James abdey was fantastic and very helful to understand all statistic concet. thank to hime

교육 기관: Stefan H

Jun 20, 2020

Valuable learning. Concise format.

Some explanations were not as simple as they could have been though. Still, with some supplementary readings (or youtube/khan academy), it is very accessible and informative.

교육 기관: Reza G I

May 20, 2020

The course is great for introduction to Probability and Statistics. The instructor gives great explanation on basic theory with simple real world problem without touching too much detail with the formula.

교육 기관: Ludovic G

Aug 04, 2020

Thoroughly enjoyed this course. Aimed at beginners wishing to dip their toes in Probability and Statistics, Dr. James Abdey explains concepts in details while keeping the lessons lively and entertaining.

교육 기관: Murad J

Apr 27, 2020

Thanks for giving this great opportunity to get access to all resources and helping to learn lots of new statistical terms and data. I finally found the answer for "to p or not to p?" :)

thank you again!

교육 기관: Ludvík P

Sep 22, 2020

Recommend way more than statistics for international business - that one is terrible. Everything is explained in a slow, fun way. Absolutely loved it. Better than the teachers at my University!

교육 기관: Santiago M

Aug 20, 2020

Me quedo muy satisfecho de haber tomado este curso. Mi entendimiento de la incertidumbre, de el proceso de decision bajo incertidumbre, y del alcance la ciencia estadística, ha mejorado mucho.

교육 기관: Inge v d K

May 04, 2020

The basics of statistics are very well explained, with easy to follow and clear examples! Some concepts finally clicked (although explained before in a university statistics course).

교육 기관: Ivan

May 25, 2019

Really well done!

It starts slow, explaining everything clearly. If you want to add material to a specific lesson, you can easly do it following what the teacher already explained.