Chevron Left
Probability Theory: Foundation for Data Science(으)로 돌아가기

콜로라도 대학교 볼더 캠퍼스의 Probability Theory: Foundation for Data Science 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.3
별점
64개의 평가
21개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Understand the foundations of probability and its relationship to statistics and data science.  We’ll learn what it means to calculate a probability, independent and dependent outcomes, and conditional events.  We’ll study discrete and continuous random variables and see how this fits with data collection.  We’ll end the course with Gaussian (normal) random variables and the Central Limit Theorem and understand its fundamental importance for all of statistics and data science. This course can be taken for academic credit as part of CU Boulder’s Master of Science in Data Science (MS-DS) degree offered on the Coursera platform. The MS-DS is an interdisciplinary degree that brings together faculty from CU Boulder’s departments of Applied Mathematics, Computer Science, Information Science, and others. With performance-based admissions and no application process, the MS-DS is ideal for individuals with a broad range of undergraduate education and/or professional experience in computer science, information science, mathematics, and statistics. Learn more about the MS-DS program at https://www.coursera.org/degrees/master-of-science-data-science-boulder. Logo adapted from photo by Christopher Burns on Unsplash....

최상위 리뷰

필터링 기준:

Probability Theory: Foundation for Data Science의 22개 리뷰 중 1~22

교육 기관: Cora M

2021년 11월 20일

My rating applies to the first week, as I'm dropping after my experience with the first assignment. This is not a commentary on Prof. Dougherty, who seems like a teacher I'd really like to have in an in-person setting. It refers instead to the Gilliamesque homework submission and grading system. Before you join the class, be prepared:

All homework is submitted in an ipynb using an R kernel, and homework is autograded. The grader gives zero feedback regarding what was incorrect, not to mention why or what the correct answer is. All you get is the number of cells that didn't pass; when you reload the assignment, there is no indication of what was wrong.

As a math nerd troll, however, it's magnificent—the grading mechanism itself is a probability problem that provides one with hours of fun. By which I mean frustration.

I joined this class as a refresher, because I love probability. I'm dropping this course before that changes.

교육 기관: Mattia G

2021년 12월 18일

peer review assignments are useless

교육 기관: Essam S

2021년 10월 11일

The instructor is very good, more examples need to be added, there are mistakes in the evaluation

교육 기관: Ke M

2021년 11월 15일

Sorry, but I can't learn R by myself. I know how to do all the calculations, just don't know how to put it in the R language.

교육 기관: Tim S

2021년 9월 5일

T​his was a very good course. The material was well thought/planned out such that the readings, lectures, and homeworks built off each other in a constructive manner, which reinforced the material. I highly recommend taking this course as an introduction to probability.

교육 기관: Jun I

2021년 10월 13일

Great course which covers from fundamental probability theory with good examples for better understandings.

교육 기관: Ping Q

2022년 1월 22일

Very logical arrangement, proper speech rate, crystal clear!

교육 기관: P A

2022년 1월 17일

G​reat intro and very well presented by the prof

교육 기관: Michelle W

2022년 4월 30일

The professor's instruction is clear and concise, but I wish there were more videos to expand on topics not discussed. The auto-graded assignments are painful since there is no feedback on which problem was wrong (hint: only do one problem at a time and submit to grader. it is painfully slow but this way you know how you did on each question). This course assumes you have basic familiarity with R and can do basic differentiation & integration. I would not recommend this as a first course in probability - this course is best for those who have had some exposure to probability already (E.g., undergraduate level course).

교육 기관: Nathan H

2022년 3월 23일

I​t's pretty basic material, but that's not a bad thing. I​ had no trouble with the content.

I​t took a month, or something like that, for Coursera to let do the peer grading that's required by the course.

교육 기관: Paul R P

2022년 4월 18일

Need to brush up integral calculus for thios course. Something I haven't looked at for 40 years.

교육 기관: Michael B

2022년 6월 16일

This is a great course on probability. Although I felt like it was too easy and should include more PDFs (such as Beta and Gamma) and random variable transformations.

교육 기관: Mauricio F

2021년 7월 20일

It was a great course. Good combination between theory and practice.

교육 기관: 상은 김

2021년 10월 5일

H​elpful to understand data sciences basic thories

교육 기관: Daniel C

2022년 2월 3일

Exactly the probability course I was looking for

교육 기관: Hidetake T

2022년 3월 30일

Good course with sufficient amount of practice.

교육 기관: Claudia G D

2022년 3월 3일

T​he course is very good.

교육 기관: Kyle A

2022년 2월 21일

Great Course!

교육 기관: Matthew E

2022년 5월 8일

Lots of fun

교육 기관: Derek B

2022년 6월 18일

Overall I thought this course was very good. The lectures were clear. I was even more impressed by the work that was put into designing different kinds of assignments. After completing them, I felt like I understood concepts and techniques much better than before.

That said, I have two big criticisms. First, I really did not like the textbook that was provided. It is supposed to be different from a traditional text book, in a way that makes it easier to understand, I guess. But honestly I thought it had the opposite effect. The non-traditional style made it harder to look up information I wanted to review. I ended up searching for other online sources for better explanations of what was going on.

Second, while I think the class is great on its own, it is part of the Statistical Inference Specialization, and it feels like there was a lack of coordination between the people designing this course and those designing the second course in the series. The second course seems to presuppose much more advanced understanding of probability distributions than this course provides. So while I think the course is great on its own, if you are expecting it to prepare you for the second course in the series, it honestly fails to do so.

교육 기관: Kevin H

2022년 5월 14일

N​ot enough participants for peer review, not quite enough time spent on curriculum

교육 기관: William S

2022년 5월 25일

I can't get software to run.