Chevron Left
Problem Solving, Python Programming, and Video Games(으)로 돌아가기

앨버타 대학교의 Problem Solving, Python Programming, and Video Games 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.2
별점
95개의 평가
26개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course is an introduction to computer science and programming in Python. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: 1. Take a new computational problem and develop a plan to solve it through problem understanding and decomposition. 2. Follow a design creation process that includes specifications, algorithms, and testing. 3. Code, test, and debug a program in Python, based on your design. Important computer science concepts such as problem solving (computational thinking), problem decomposition, algorithms, abstraction, and software quality are emphasized throughout. The Python programming language and video games are used to demonstrate computer science concepts in a concrete and fun manner. However, a learner can take the knowledge and skills from this course and apply them to non-game problems, other programming languages, and other computer science courses. You do not need any previous programming, Python, or video game experience. However, some computer skills (e.g., mouse, keyboard, document editing), knowledge of algebra, attention to detail (as with many technical subjects), and a “just give it a try” spirit will be keys to your success. Despite the use of video games for all the programming examples, PVG is not about computer games. PVG will still provide valuable knowledge and skills for non-game computational problems. The interactive learning objects (ILO) of the course provide automatic, context-specific guidance and feedback, like a virtual teaching assistant, as you develop problem descriptions, algorithms, and functional test plans. The course forums will be supported by the creators of the course, to help you succeed. All videos, assessments, and ILOs are available free of charge. There is an optional certificate available for a fee....

최상위 리뷰

LS
2020년 2월 27일

I have learnt a lot from this course and it is what i need as well. I do really appreciate that you guys allow me to have this course thank you so much.

KS
2019년 9월 18일

As a postgraduate student, I find this course very interesting. I like their way of conveying. Thank you coursera.

필터링 기준:

Problem Solving, Python Programming, and Video Games의 26개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: keesari s

2019년 9월 19일

As a postgraduate student, I find this course very interesting. I like their way of conveying. Thank you coursera.

교육 기관: Joel S

2019년 8월 6일

I really enjoyed this as an introduction to Python course, mostly because it went beyond the confines of the specific programming language and addressed the problem-solving and design process at a more fundamental level. This seems really important as the approach is ultimately more important than the specific tool used to do the job. I feel this gave me a nice grounding in the workings of the Python interpreter and I have a good idea about how to go about approaching different types of programming challenges.

I did encounter some challenges along the way with some of the testing items, especially toward the end of the course. In some of the programming hurdles, I found it difficult to figure out what exactly the input of the program would be, so it was hard for me to prepare the class or function to handle. That led to some situations where my version of the program worked as directed, but I kept getting rejected by the test version. This got frustrating but I muddled through. The help of one of the staff (Jullienne) was so helpful in finally getting through one of these issues.

I also must say that some of the most challenge I faced was in the algorithm builder. Those are just so hard to get right. Something about it is just not intuitive and the hints are sometimes oddly misleading. The builder does use embedding well, but something about it is not quite obvious. I feel like if I could see the whole thing broken down as on one page (like an x-bar diagram in linguistics), it would all be obvious. But since you can't see all the parts at the same time, it's hard to remember the other variables that are going on off-screen. The frustration level was high with those exercises.

I really enjoyed the presentations by the teaching team. It's quite analytical delivery (which I like) and I often found myself replaying the videos multiple times to ensure that I got things correct. Many thanks to the team for their effort in designing and delivering the course. Your care for your craft is very apparent and I appreciate that level of dedication.

I must confess that in the last few versions of Poke the Dots, I couldn't get my version to function properly and I had to just push forward to force the solution. I think I have a handle of the general idea and I understand how they reached the solution in the last two versions, but I just couldn't quite make it happen in my version. I'm pretty disappointed in myself for that, but I guess I will just have to accept it.

Anyway, thank you so much and please feel free to contact me with any follow up questions on my experience.

교육 기관: Aaron L

2020년 5월 24일

This is an excellent course, for both absolute beginners and those with a basic programming background. I feel like I learned a lot of the principles of program design and problem solving. However, the algorithm building exercises are a headache and led me to more frustration than actual learning!

교육 기관: jared k

2019년 10월 21일

The lexical, syntactic and semantic quizzes in this course created more confusion than clarity. Also PyGame doesn't work in a number of GUI's (including IDLE), making the course significantly more difficult to complete.

교육 기관: Daniel W

2020년 6월 3일

Could cut 2/3 of the content of this course and get the same result

교육 기관: Juan I R E

2020년 3월 12일

The course is very boring. Hard to stay awake

교육 기관: Brandon P

2020년 9월 3일

A great course for introduction to Python and Video Games. I took this course to get more insights on Python since I learned a little before college started and now, I got a feel of this new type of skill. Taking this course kept me busy during these tough times and I am glad that I found this course and other courses to keep me moving forward with a new type of knowledge that I will use for my career. Thank you! It was a little difficult at the end of both games creation and a few programming assignments seem very overwhelming to complete so make sure you are understanding the lecture videos, researching your issues and ask questions on the forum.

교육 기관: Yung-Chuan C

2020년 6월 6일

Great class with detailed lecture and wisely designed assignment. The syntax analysis and semantic analysis sections are a bit beyond the programing prospective but more like the languange development. Some people may appreciate it if they are interested in the mechanism behind Python, but I'm not really in to it.

교육 기관: Silvia T

2020년 5월 14일

Great course for learning or revising problem-solving and python programming. The course offers step by step exercises and projects. The discussion in the forum also provides additional support. Highly recommended!

교육 기관: Liau K S

2020년 2월 28일

I have learnt a lot from this course and it is what i need as well. I do really appreciate that you guys allow me to have this course thank you so much.

교육 기관: Sandy H

2019년 9월 26일

Very Informative by helping you learn programming long term!

교육 기관: Marvin T

2020년 5월 16일

Explanations were good but when it comes to how assessments are presented, it needs to be modified for a learner to follow.

교육 기관: Ben S

2019년 9월 27일

it's a bit boring

교육 기관: Quan C

2019년 12월 13일

If you want to learn Python in a practical way, don't choose this course. Too many quits ask you to analysis Semantics problems of stupid codes- Who cares?

교육 기관: Md Z I

2020년 6월 10일

Many thanks to the instructional team for offering the course in such a structured way. The details of the design processes and problem-based approach really helped a lot to learn the ins and outs of Python programming without which a solid understanding of the programming would not be possible for me, I believe. Now I am confident that I can dive now more into areas of software engineering/programming. Thanks again to the awesome team.

교육 기관: Allyson R

2020년 10월 21일

Great course! I learned a lot and it gave me a good feel for programming.

교육 기관: Itamar P

2019년 12월 22일

Great course, teaches you all you need to know. Recommended.

교육 기관: Yousef H A

2020년 7월 20일

I learned a lot about python. thank you so much

교육 기관: Sahil K

2020년 7월 12일

This Course was very interesting to complete. It taught me many problem solving techniques, and had a great time to learn Python programming.

교육 기관: Yousuf Z M A M K

2020년 5월 13일

it is very good for students that interested in game industry and want to improve problem solving skills

교육 기관: ABABIL I U

2020년 7월 30일

too much exam

교육 기관: Rita B

2020년 7월 23일

I have done everything to download the VirtualBox. I have followed directions and read the Q & A and it does not work and i cannot proceed. I am unenrolling.

교육 기관: John C

2020년 12월 29일

More than just a python tutorial, the course develops a correct approach to the whole programming process. (Really) frustrating at times, when your answers do not match the automatic assessment, but rewarding when you correctly interpret the task and provide the expected solution.

I was surprised at how many topics the course covered. There are omissions, but as a vehicle to take the student from little Python knowledge to someone who can attempt to write a reasonable program, it works.

The videos are well done, some required rewatching several times to understand the subtlety or density of the topic. The interpreting and programming exercises were very enjoyable; less so the lexical, syntactic and semantic exercises. I particularly remember failing a 26 question exercise to correctly sequence all semantic steps for a small piece of code. Personally, I didn't find all the answers were in the course material. I found other help online to complete the course programming quizzes.

This course took a fair amount of effort, (I'm not a programmer), but it was an effective use of time whilst engaged in a Covid isolation after returning from a trip abroad, followed by a later lock-down.

Thank you to all involved.

교육 기관: Viktor K

2020년 8월 31일

At times, I found the quizzes expected responses that didn't match the questions, i.e removing the ":" from the end of the line being requested or the word "if" that would have you pulling your hair out, because you KNEW the answer being provided is correct. The best parts of the course (for me) were the coding quizzes that didn't actually involve the hacking game or poke the dots, because the code was essentially being built from scratch. In the case of the game files, we were using a pre-built module and getting help via videos to a point where I did not feel like it was ME who completed the task. There's an overabundance of syntax and semantic diagram quizzes to a point of feeling overwhelmed by typing text diagrams rather than exposure to typing out and interacting with code that exemplified the lesson being taught. Relatively complicated concepts in object oriented programming (OOP) were more or less glossed over in what felt like a hurry by focusing on name spaces, etc. rather than a more humanistic explanation of why I would want to use OOP over functional programming. OOP is not necessary more readable than functional programming and seems to result in a greater number of side effects to keep in mind. I am just a beginner, but found myself performing the tasks.. getting the OOP code to work relatively easily yet still having this odd feeling as though I didn't understand my own code on the same level that I did with functional programming. It was also a bit odd to skip over dictionaries and slicing entirely before jumping right into OOP. You WILL learn a fair bit from this course, but it seems to fall a little bit short on providing uses for args and Kwargs which would be great considering how many directions python can go in and how vital it is to confidently understand args and kwargs.

교육 기관: Adison L

2020년 10월 23일

Started off well but with no pervious knowledge in code, I feel this was not a good first step to take