Chevron Left
Functional Program Design in Scala(으)로 돌아가기

로잔연방공과대학교의 Functional Program Design in Scala 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.5
2,587개의 평가
442개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

In this course you will learn how to apply the functional programming style in the design of larger applications. You'll get to know important new functional programming concepts, from lazy evaluation to structuring your libraries using monads. We'll work on larger and more involved examples, from state space exploration to random testing to discrete circuit simulators. You’ll also learn some best practices on how to write good Scala code in the real world. Several parts of this course deal with the question how functional programming interacts with mutable state. We will explore the consequences of combining functions and state. We will also look at purely functional alternatives to mutable state, using infinite data structures or functional reactive programming. Learning Outcomes. By the end of this course you will be able to: - recognize and apply design principles of functional programs, - design functional libraries and their APIs, - competently combine functions and state in one program, - understand reasoning techniques for programs that combine functions and state, - write simple functional reactive applications. Recommended background: You should have at least one year programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line. This course is intended to be taken after Functional Programming Principles in Scala: https://www.coursera.org/learn/progfun1....

최상위 리뷰

RP

Sep 15, 2016

This is a university degree course which takes enormous effort to complete. But still its beond the programming course range giving you whats not possible to google or learn practical way. Thanks!

ES

Mar 18, 2018

Thank you for this exciting course! I did the FP in Scala course a few years ago and decided to do the full certification now. I am looking forward to the next courses in the specialisation.

필터링 기준:

Functional Program Design in Scala의 426개 리뷰 중 1~25

대학: Gabriel G C

Jan 09, 2019

It seems that this course was partially updated, but it was not done in a seamlessly way. I think this course deserve a full remake, if possible with the same instructor all the time.

대학: Shaul E

Mar 01, 2018

The course starts well and has really good exercises, HOWEVER at weeks 3-4 the lectures lose their logical order, it feels like a collection of random lectures from other course syllabus that have been "reused" here.

Week 3 exercise has very little to do with the lectures, and week 4 lectures are even worse, martin says he'll talk about 1 thing that is later not in the course, then we switch to someone else that talks about "things we've seen before" - which we haven't!

Don't get me wrong, you can still learn a lot from this and understand most of it, but it just feels very unprofessional, glad I've only audited this course and didn't pay for it, if that was the case I would feel very disappointed

대학: Abhinav P

Dec 15, 2017

I was optimistic about this course based on the previous course, because that course was consistent, self-contained, and systematic. On the other hand, this course was clearly put together by throwing together, rather haphazardly, bits and pieces of other courses, some of which no longer even exist. This is outrageous; a course like this would never be taught at a prestigious institution like EPFL, and it is highly deceptive to give us a course, put together in a arbitrary, incoherent, Frankensteinish fashion, right after a course that was quite systematic and coherent.

Week one and two were not bad, hence why I gave two stars instead of one. But week three involves a programming project that has literally nothing to do with the lectures at all. To be sure, I didn't mind learning about Scala Check, but I had to do it pretty much entirely on my own; it was mentioned for about five seconds in the lecture videos. If I wanted to just read documentation without any actual teaching, why would I sign up for a course like this?

And week 4! Coursera/whoever put this course together isn't even trying anymore. The videos are clearly from multiple different courses, and Odersky himself makes references entire weeks worth of content that simply doesn't exist anymore. This is a damn mess. In its current state, the course is simply not worth publishing.

For what its worth, the removed lecture videos can be found here: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLMhMDErmC1TdBMxd3KnRfYiBV2ELvLyxN

But these videos do not contain the removed exercises/programming projects, unfortunately.

대학: Andrius V

Jun 01, 2019

Course material needs reviewing and updates

대학: Alex L

May 11, 2019

Definitely challenging. Sometimes there were some tricky gaps between what the lectures covered and what the assignments were looking for information wise.

대학: Light0617

Apr 29, 2019

great!!!

대학: Malhar J

Apr 28, 2019

The course was good but not as good/detailed as the first one. Martin did an excellent job as usual though. I felt the course content was interesting but got very dull towards the end. The assignments were not really challenging.

대학: Patrik M

Apr 21, 2019

I've enjoyed some lectures. But overall, this course was less educative than the first one in the Scala specialisation. I do appreciate Erik Meijer as a professional and a scientist. But, in my humble oppinion, he is not a great lecturer.

대학: 李帅鹏

Apr 02, 2019

I want learn more about Scala. I find Someting interesting. Thank you, Mr Odersky.

대학: Bidhya N S

Apr 02, 2019

The course is not structured well. Also concepts like monads and functors are not covered in detailed way.

대학: Joël V

Mar 27, 2019

Provides an interesting theoretical bird view on: monads & its relation to for expressions, streams & lazy evaluation, elegant examples of mixing mutable and immutable data-structures for stateful programs, and finally signals for event management. The exercises are fun ;-) and illustrative although not too challenging.

대학: Subodh C

Mar 25, 2019

The structure of course could be refined to be more coherent.

대학: Marcin Z

Mar 24, 2019

Better than the first part!

대학: Antoine L

Mar 13, 2019

This course felt a bit less fundamental than the Functional Programming Principles but offered some nice introduction to more advanced concepts that feel to bridge the gap between theoretical advantages and real-world use cases.

On the other hand the Monad concept which I often hear about still feels a bit fuzzy, I felt like less time was dedicated to theory in this course.

This time again the exercises are challenging but fun and above all really help internalizing the concepts, although it feels like it will take me more work to really grok Signals not to mention Future which are not used in any exercises.

대학: Ignacio G S

Mar 10, 2019

Excellent course from the best professionals in the world. The Futures content should be tested as well.

대학: Angelos M

Feb 24, 2019

It is a really nice course but a bit dated.

대학: John S

Feb 20, 2019

Very enjoyable course!

대학: Siyuan W

Feb 19, 2019

there are a lil bit disordered of the course arrangement

대학: John M

Feb 19, 2019

There's a lot to chew on here, and it's well-articulated. Some of the examples are a bit opaque and academic - a little more of a practical, intuitive approach would go a long way.

대학: Brendan M

Feb 16, 2019

This course is really disjointed. Unlike the first course in Scala Functional Programming specialization, this course is stitched together from bits and pieces of other courses. The lectures make reference to other lessons that no longer appear in the course, and the assignments frequently have nothing to do with the lecture material.

대학: Малышев И И

Feb 06, 2019

It is really good course about Scala functional programming.

대학: Juan P G E

Jan 31, 2019

Very interesting course. You can learn the basics about functional reactive programming and get to know about Signals and Futures. The assignments are not as difficult as the ones in the previous course and you can see that there is a lot of work to provide the infrastructure needed for those exercises.

대학: GRINE B

Jan 30, 2019

Very advanced courses scala thank you

대학: Tang

Jan 14, 2019

the last few weeks are a bit sloppy. hope can improve

대학: Luigi C

Jan 09, 2019

It would be nice to have the missing lectures too!