Chevron Left
Using Databases with Python(으)로 돌아가기

미시건 대학교의 Using Databases with Python 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
20,506개의 평가

강좌 소개

This course will introduce students to the basics of the Structured Query Language (SQL) as well as basic database design for storing data as part of a multi-step data gathering, analysis, and processing effort. The course will use SQLite3 as its database. We will also build web crawlers and multi-step data gathering and visualization processes. We will use the D3.js library to do basic data visualization. This course will cover Chapters 14-15 of the book “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-13 of the textbook and the first three courses in this specialization. This course covers Python 3....
하이라이트
High quality course material

(143개의 검토)

Top rated instructor

(176개의 검토)

최상위 리뷰

MM

2018년 3월 12일

The course is great... You can definitely learn many things... Was kind of hard for me and i went many times back and forth through most of the lectures... However i think i learn many new things....

JL

2017년 6월 22일

Wonderful course! I learnt many useful SQL statements and know how to combine database operations into python program. Dr. Chuck's lectures are always comprehensible and clear. Thank you, professor.

필터링 기준:

Using Databases with Python의 3,070개 리뷰 중 2926~2950

교육 기관: Chad W

2019년 9월 17일

I enjoyed learning about databases and the introduction to SQL. The lessons are great and the instructor is well spoken as always.

That said, I found this course to be less consistent in it's difficulty than previous courses in this specialization. One assignment completely through me off, not because of the difficulty to complete the required actions, but because the description of how it would be assessed was unnecessarily ambiguous. The other assignments were too easy as almost all of the code was already written, sometimes with 0 changes being needed to make it run properly. Personally, I would have appreciated more exercises to better understand the nuances of the code and go get more practice but I'll still play around with it in my own time.

교육 기관: Sheila B

2018년 5월 29일

I loved most of it, lots of good information and everything to hand that's needed to learn python and databases. Really well taught - except for the final assignment. The zip file is outdated and that cost me an entire day. I would recommend not depending on the forums to fix the problems in an assignment but rather update the assignment. It was very buggy and I think didn't make the point it was intended to make. I learned some things but the cost in time was above what I wanted to pay - I have deadlines in real life and can't afford to get hung up like that to learn something that should be taught explicitly in the course. So thanks, yes, much thanks for the course, but please fix that assignment.

교육 기관: Tamaz L

2016년 2월 28일

I felt like this course of the specialization wasn't as organized. First of all the object oriented class had no practical assignment, and while others did, they weren't contributing for the learning. I passed all the assignments but don't think I've mastered material here as much as in the previous courses of the specialization.

It seems to me that material could be broken up into two courses, and because it's squeezed in one, the instructors have to provide 99% of the assignment and finishing the rest 1% is not helping in learning. Would be much better to be required to do more work in the assignments (possibly step by step and by splitting the course).

교육 기관: Steve D

2020년 11월 30일

An engaging teacher, but I did not learn as much from this course as the early ones in the specialization. The concepts being taught were relatively straightforward (e.g. relational databases) but the assignments required the use of unnecessarily complex code and datasets. The final assignment involved very complex code but didn't require you to understand it (rather, to update the data, run the existing code and take screenshots) - I felt that this was rushed, and that insufficient effort had been spent trying to create a useful learning experience for the student. I have decided not to go to the "capstone" project after completing this course.

교육 기관: Arthur F

2017년 3월 14일

I felt that weeks 1-4 went at a reasonable pace, but the week 5 material was rushed. Those programs were written by the instructor and presented quickly as examples, but some of the content in the programs was not already known or presently explained, like the "buffer" built-in function (found in Chapter 3 of Dr. Chuck's book but not covered in the course) and the "pass" keyword, which I had to find in the Python reference manual for an explanation. The week 5 programs were quite advanced and I would have liked more time spent on explaining them and perhaps a related programming assignment or two to help us learn the material.

교육 기관: Michael T

2018년 1월 31일

3/5, great professor lectures and good textbook, but the class is structured in such a way as to rush us through every new concept without lingering to practice or revisit material, and the assignments seemed to use a lot of code that we weren't supposed to learn or understand -- just use for the sake of completing assignments, which I thought wasn't a great contribution to our learning. This class has a fun professor and decent reading material but it may take studying elsewhere to complement your grasp of concepts when completing the class's assignments.

교육 기관: Armen T

2018년 5월 17일

A little too much on the easy side. I know learning every detail in code is not necessary - understanding broad applications is more important because it gives you vision of a goal and an understanding how you may get there. Details can be researched. There are ways and its not necessary to reinvent wheels. But I still feel like tweaking preloaded code is not rigorous enough to actually learn what we are doing. This class was much easier than the previous 3 courses in the cert.

교육 기관: Tudor S

2017년 6월 4일

While Dr. Chuck is still a great instructor, I think that this course lost some of its pedagogical value compared to Courses 1, 2 and 3 from this specialization. By this I mean that it doesn't teach students how to design algorithms, but instead, it offers an already-made algorithm which serves as a debugging exercise more than anything else. I wish to see a more challenging course in the future.

교육 기관: Siddharth T S

2020년 11월 27일

The course started off with an excellent introduction to Object Oriented Programming. However, the explanations on databases and SQL were very hurried, and the python programs were both very complicated and not adequately explained. I'm also not sure whether there was a point to providing a very easy peer-reviewed assignment and having teaching assistants also grade it.

교육 기관: Larry L

2020년 11월 6일

This course is too difficult for those who have learned Python from scratch like me. There are more and more codes that I do not fully understand throughout the course. When I tried to finish my assignments, I felt like I was just revising the codes on the web without understanding them. However, as in the previous courses, Dr. Chuck is good at explaining the material.

교육 기관: Zhenya W

2018년 2월 24일

In previous courses, the student was challenged to apply the learned concepts and do research and reading from the PY4E textbook. In this course, the textbook content covered material more advanced and useful than the online exercises. I feel like the course was too quick and cursory for me to have even a fundamental understanding of sql syntax for my own projects.

교육 기관: Steve R

2017년 1월 17일

I feel that this portion of this course did move a little too quickly in terms of introducing new SQL concepts. The first couple Python program demos has my head completely spinning, and I think this could be largely avoided by having a couple more slides piecing together the logic of the programs. Other than that, another great course!

교육 기관: Diederik H

2020년 7월 9일

This was the only course in the whole specialisation that went too quick for me. I thought the assignments were way harder than the content in the lectures. It took me quite long te figure things out, and had to use help of friends. I always felt like i missed some part of the lectures with additional explanation

교육 기관: Deleted A

2018년 12월 27일

it has been a good experience but in the last assignment the instructor said it copied from other student ,and i explained what just happened..

i know you have honor code (trust) but not always you right sometime things just happen whether unintentionally.

One request, Review my last assignment and reset it.

교육 기관: Josiah N

2016년 10월 11일

The lecturer is honestly a bit slow in his coverage of content and his scribbling is untidy. He also seems to want to intentionally make SQL look like its very simple and avoids giving interesting facts which he thinks may complicate the content but would be good to know anyway.

교육 기관: Soren G

2018년 7월 8일

Course could have been better. I wasted too much time finding out what was needed for the assignments. I think the course need to be updated as a bit of the last assignments were guesswork to find the files needed. I spent too much time trying to work on an old Python2 file.

교육 기관: Mostafa F

2017년 9월 13일

I guess for the assignments, it might be easier if the course take a step-by-step approach, so the students start coding very easy programs to access the data on web from scratch, and then the code evolves into something very complex in the final course, the capstone.

교육 기관: Junwei Y

2017년 8월 31일

very quick path, have to do reading in addition to watching lecture videos. Hope there will some be step by step lecture so students can directly deeply learn sophisticated coding instead of just inputting data and using a given completed or 90% completed program.

교육 기관: Sholom K

2017년 7월 3일

Could be better. Some of the explanations could be better for this course surrounding databases. Some of the Quiz questions are misleading via word usage. As well as, the example code given in some cases does not work and had to search stackoverflow for answers.

교육 기관: Christa H

2018년 12월 27일

It's a good course overall, but the instructions in the last assignment are incomplete (the full requirements are only found in the forums), and myself and other students are given lower grades for following the instructions exactly, which is very frustrating.

교육 기관: Hanzha Y

2020년 5월 4일

In general I do like this course. The material and they way they present it. But here is tons of problems with passing assignments and getting certificate. To finish it took 2 days and 3 days to get certificate. For me it very slow and takes lots of energy.

교육 기관: Ryan D

2019년 4월 30일

This was an informative course, but I wish the assessments and exercises where more difficult. Most of the time, you were just editing a few lines of code and submitting a result. More assessments that are more challenging would be appreciated!

교육 기관: Yuriy G

2018년 3월 20일

Unfortunately, i'm kinda disappointed by this course. Especially by the final assignment. You could ask for much more interesting taks with the information you provided.

Hope for a much better experience with the 5th part of this specialization

교육 기관: Abitofeva

2021년 10월 16일

c​ontent of SQL is straightforward and clear, very useful. Information relating to API especially week 5 is not clear enough and more like a copy and paste work. TAs for this course ae very helpful in explaining with examples and patience!