Chevron Left
Using Databases with Python(으)로 돌아가기

미시건 대학교의 Using Databases with Python 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
20,459개의 평가
3,139개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course will introduce students to the basics of the Structured Query Language (SQL) as well as basic database design for storing data as part of a multi-step data gathering, analysis, and processing effort. The course will use SQLite3 as its database. We will also build web crawlers and multi-step data gathering and visualization processes. We will use the D3.js library to do basic data visualization. This course will cover Chapters 14-15 of the book “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-13 of the textbook and the first three courses in this specialization. This course covers Python 3....
하이라이트
High quality course material

(143개의 검토)

Top rated instructor

(176개의 검토)

최상위 리뷰

MM

2018년 3월 12일

The course is great... You can definitely learn many things... Was kind of hard for me and i went many times back and forth through most of the lectures... However i think i learn many new things....

GB

2018년 1월 13일

It's an excellent course. Thanks for the oportunity to learn. Thanks to Coursera, to the University of Michigan and of course to Dr. Chuck, a very good an enthusiastic teacher! All the best for you!

필터링 기준:

Using Databases with Python의 3,058개 리뷰 중 3001~3025

교육 기관: Chao C

2016년 9월 6일

Would be better if have harder assignment.

교육 기관: Srdjan J

2021년 7월 7일

Assignments were too easy for this level.

교육 기관: Lucas L

2021년 5월 1일

It is not quite what I was looking for.

교육 기관: Mark H

2018년 11월 26일

Not as in-depth as the other modules.

교육 기관: Christophe L G

2016년 1월 14일

Nice course but not enough exercices

교육 기관: Ayodeji A

2018년 6월 22일

Not as clear as the first 3 courses

교육 기관: Humza A

2017년 1월 1일

Assignments were way too simplistic

교육 기관: Douglas O

2017년 3월 20일

I work seemed a little too light.

교육 기관: Esron D d S

2016년 5월 27일

It have low practice exercises.

교육 기관: Jeff S

2015년 12월 28일

Could use more hands on coding

교육 기관: Amit P

2017년 2월 11일

was expecting more on this.

교육 기관: Jean E

2016년 3월 28일

Good but for beginners

교육 기관: Jae N

2020년 8월 7일

A little simplistic

교육 기관: yassine k b

2020년 5월 31일

ca va aller ...

교육 기관: Weerachai Y

2020년 6월 27일

thanks

교육 기관: Sunshine a W

2022년 6월 24일

I've completed the first four courses in this Specialization and I've decided against doing the Capstone. Most of the "most helpful" reviews confirmed what I feared by following this 4th module to the end.

I was really wary, having finished the third module pretty quickly, that the concepts in the lectures were simply become too broad and more about conceptual stuff and less about Python and learning to code. By the end of the Third module, you're basically just cutting and pasting pre-written code and making small tweaks to it. Not very helpful.

The fourth module "Using Databases" starts out with a GREAT lecture about classes and Object-Oriented Programming, which IMO should have been the focus of the whole module. The lecture left me with the feeling that there was so much more to learn about OOP and got me excited to start doing coding again.

However, it quickly segues into SQL and databases, which, OK, the SQL was interesting but the assignments once again started to be mostly cutting and pasting pre-written code. The first lecture on SQL was great, but I'm in the module to learn Python, not SQL. So you learn how to write SQL statements but the assignments are pre-written python programs where you tweak the SQL a bit... didn't really feel like I was learning anything new. I would have much rather done the SQL, then do a whole week on the conn.cursor and cur.execute stuff, learning how to actually write the python code. But there was a LOT of handwaving about this stuff.

The last assignment is literally running prewritten code and taking a screenshot of the result. Not even tweaking it! I mean-- how is that useful at all???

All in all I am glad I took the first four courses of the Specialization. It gave me a great overview of Python, and showed me I have a little knack for it and want to pursue it further. But I was very disappointed in how the course wrapped up. And hearing the Capstone was more of the same stuff I was worried about, I'm bowing out of it.

Anyway Dr. Chuck is great as a lecturer. I just wish the back half of the Specialization had been a little more focused.

교육 기관: Audrey D

2020년 10월 24일

Disclaimer: I did not finish the course. I decided after week 2 to use a different course to learn about Databases and Python.

While I value the availability of this kind of courses for free, I just did not like the style of teaching of Mr Severance. I have a hard time watching 15+ minute videos after a full day of work already in front of the computer, when the teacher does not go straight to the point or make clear sentences (if a deaf person was reading the transcript, they would be struggling to follow).

I am just not that interested in the history and how people did databases before etc., but I don't criticise that, some people might be interested. However I think that stretching a simple concept over more than 10 minutes is not helping students to grasp what is going on.

On the other hand, I liked having cheap access to the book because it was faster to read about a subject than to sit for 15 minutes in front of the video, skipping ahead, trying to guess where the important bits are.

Plus, running us through a code that the teacher doesn't write as he explains is not a good way to engage. As a student you think that you understand, but you'd be hard pressed to write that code if asked.

So that's why I decide to go for a more interactive approach to learning, with lots of examples.

교육 기관: Alan M R

2018년 1월 9일

As an experienced programmer, I am unimpressed. The assignments cover a good set of tools; classes and databases. I would have introduced classes much earlier to emphasize critical coding habits of productive programmers: modularity and reusability. Unfortunately, classes seem to be included here as an afterthought. They are introduced in week 1 and never seen again. Inheritance is mentioned but not explored and an important documentation feature is ignored. The lectures extoll the wonder of SQL but don't even mention outer joins. In later examples, databses are used to house data; but that data is extracted to Python variables with simple queries, where it is manipulated with Python. Programming exercises consist of running his poorly written code and posting results for peer review; students are instructed to grade leniently. Overall, the presentation looks rushed and unpolished. Example code looks like it was hobbled together until it worked and never edited for clarity. If someone I cared about wanted examples of good programming, I would tell them to avoid this.

교육 기관: Srj S

2020년 10월 12일

Although I do not want to write a negativ comment, I have no other choice than saying that this course was almost useless to me and that I wouldn't have understood anything if I hadn't had the basics of SQL in university.

The SQL language isn't explained at all, only some full commands which we are supposed to copy and paste into our program. If one wants to explain SQL one should start with the basics of the language from the very beginning and talk about each single command / word of the SQL language and how it is build. Learning or copying and pasting full commands will definitely not help.

In addition, I expected to learn some basics of data visualization with certain libraries but in the end it was (as always) nothing more than copy this prepared program and just change a few little easy things so that it works.

The only good thing about this course was that sometimes Dr. Chuck broached certain topics which were quite interesting to hear about which made me notice that I have to learn more about these topics more (obviously somewhere else).

교육 기관: Lindsay C

2020년 7월 9일

I definitely love the instructor, but this class is really poorly structured. I could not understand the course material, but use my instinct and basic logical thinking to pass all assignments. This course does not teach you how to write code, but to give you a very vague idea of what python can do. I was enrolled in a VBA specialization before taking this course, and that one was really good. Fair assignments, great explanation, and most important of all, I was able to write hundred lines of code (maybe exaggerated a little bit) independently after passing the course because the way it taught force you to learn and understand. But for this class, I am confused from the beginning and still confused after finishing the course. I feel like after course 3 under this specialization, everything was taught in a effortless way so that you get your certificate.

교육 기관: Brett M

2017년 3월 13일

This is the only course in this specialization that doesn't seem to belong with the rest of the material. It seems out of place, and too little was done to relate it to learning python.

Moreover, learning databases and SQL is easy; rather than taking up a whole course, this content could be relegated to one week of lectures in conjunction with some external references for further reading. Four weeks were spent on this external topic while the more interesting discussion on using python with databases is glossed over haphazardly in the last week.

I am a big fan of this specialization and think Prof. Severance does a great job explaining some of the basics of python in a short amount of time, but this course needs to be restructured.

교육 기관: Mohammed T

2019년 10월 15일

This course is too basic to be helpful. Many of the programs are just read through like how reading from a textbook in college. I expect the class to be better than that. Many of the concepts in programs are also skipped which gives the impression that Dr. Chuck is not thoroughly aware of these concepts.

I am disappointed by the teaching and topics covered in this class

교육 기관: Beth B

2019년 5월 13일

If this course focused just on SQL or just on Python, I would have given it a 5-star rating. However, the course tried to tackle both concepts at once, and did neither justice. At best, this course gave a peek into db connections with python. I left wanting more.

교육 기관: Ayush B

2018년 6월 29일

Another disappointing course in the Python specialization offered by UMAA. The assignments are laughable. A mostly superficial course. The only reason I undertook the course is because I had already paid for the 5-course specialization. I wouldn't recommend.