Chevron Left
Qualitative Research Methods(으)로 돌아가기

암스테르담 대학교의 Qualitative Research Methods 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.5
별점
863개의 평가
300개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

In this course you will be introduced to the basic ideas behind the qualitative research in social science. You will learn about data collection, description, analysis and interpretation in qualitative research. Qualitative research often involves an iterative process. We will focus on the ingredients required for this process: data collection and analysis. You won't learn how to use qualitative methods by just watching video's, so we put much stress on collecting data through observation and interviewing and on analysing and interpreting the collected data in other assignments. Obviously, the most important concepts in qualitative research will be discussed, just as we will discuss quality criteria, good practices, ethics, writing some methods of analysis, and mixing methods. We hope to take away some prejudice, and enthuse many students for qualitative research....

최상위 리뷰

DR

Oct 09, 2016

The teacher is really passionate, everything's very clear and easy to understand. It's full of all the basic knowledge one needs to know about qualitative research methods to begin working with them.

KF

Dec 21, 2018

I found this a very useful way of getting a basic introduction to qualitative research methods, without just sitting down with some text books. The content was engaging and at the right level for me.

필터링 기준:

Qualitative Research Methods의 296개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: Maria C

Mar 13, 2019

Compared to the Quantitative Methods, this one was more chaotic and not as structured/ Still, really good and the only thing that could be improved is to have the transcripts in pdfs and not just the ppts.

교육 기관: Filip Č

Apr 01, 2019

Not bad. The exam questions could be formulated better.

교육 기관: OPARE A

Jun 03, 2019

I got charged without being told...how does that happen?

And that is the money I have for food and my general upkeep for the whole month as am a student. So cruel!!

When I subscribed it stated a 7 day free trial

Can I please get a refund?

교육 기관: Sima B

Sep 29, 2019

A truly wonderful course thanks to Gerben Moerman's intelligence, competence and enthusiasm.

I am relatively new to the field of qualitative research, having previously done mostly quantitative research, and this course has given me a great introduction. I did not have time to do the full course though, had only several days to watch all videos (which did not take too long, and the readings were not 10 min as stated probably by default on the Coursera platform, but one sentence and then the reference lists linked to citations on the slides); unfortunately I did not have time to do the exams/assignments, which sounded quite useful though.

I loved the fact that Moerman managed to get at least some order into the endless variety and contradictions within the so complex field of qualitative research, each time showing his great knowledge by citing a wide range of historical and current experts. I am not an expert myself, and am not in a position to rate the quality of the content, but given that he gave so many different views, it seems to me that he is extremely competent and at the same time tried to be fair to different approaches and different research paradigms.

Moerman has a great talent in presenting complex issues clearly using different categories and graphs that were depicted nicely on the slides. I also liked the cartoons and other drawings.

Many of the categories and themes were explained using great examples from the literature that prevented me from getting bored. First and foremost though, it has been the great enthusiasm and his true desire to teach and make you understand, which has made the course so interesting and memorable. Often he would jump up and down and run towards the camera to emphasise a point - probably to the great despair of the person behind the camera, who had to often cut the film; he would also often stand in front of the slides, covering some of the images/content, which is why the quality of the videos is not perfect in a technical sense - I did not get motion sickness from it though (which I always do if something is filmed by hand camera) - so my compliments to the person at the camera and thank you to all involved for allowing Moerman to remain natural without 'forcing him into form'/ a stiff person - because then his lectures would have lost all of his charm.

Overall, it is not only his charm and the great slides, but the depth and honesty and presentation of different views in a clear and visual way that made me love this course and long for more - e.g. additional courses about all the other types of qualitative research methodologies and methods that he could not go into for time reasons and giving further examples in more detail.

A big thank you to everyone involved in the development of this course!!

교육 기관: Judith T

Apr 06, 2016

This course covered a broad swath of diverse material in an admirably compact form. The instructor was surprisingly passionate! about the topic, but once I got used to his style I could see it was because he was really invested in this type of work and really invested in getting us to understand it. Comprehension quizzes along with the lectures would have been nice to help absorb all the new vocabulary. There was also a creative use of the Coursera system to get us to do actual data gathering and coding (at least at a beginning level) on our own. As for the material, I felt like I was getting to see a secret world that everyone else around me already somehow knew about. As I am new to social science, I wondered how to find out about this secret arsenal of tools for dealing with interview and ethnography data that always seem to be referred to but never explained. Well, here they are! And now I have them too! Much appreciated.

교육 기관: Sen W

Mar 20, 2016

For a Chinese student who rarely had experience touch on Western Philosophy, the startling line is a little complex and hard to gain the "pure meaning" of the course. But after look the videos over and over again, I feel better now. In China, I never witnessed a teacher jumping in front of the students, in front of the camera or in the livid classroom. So I really appreciate to see Mr. Moerman who show his passion in the field of study and teaching itself. I really love this course and the "elephants".

Now I have less than 24 hours to finish the first assignment. Though many website are forbid by the "Great wall", such as google, I will do my best to finish the assignment which is the first English homework in my life.

교육 기관: Hernani M

Aug 25, 2020

The approach of the course makes it very interesting as Prof Goerben has truly mastered his piece. Though I have been into quali-quanti (Mixed) research in the past, and some of my research outputs were already recognized (awarded) by various organizations, I still feel that I need to know more (the more I know, the more I do not know) on this research domain. Indeed, I learned a lot more, and consequently I feel guilty of my previous inadequacy, as I discovered more essential concepts the course has offered. Thanks to this course. My horizon has widened. My perspective has gone further, and most importantly, some of my doubts were clarified. I never regret spending my summer in this course.

교육 기관: Arman B K

Oct 31, 2018

As an economics student, I enjoyed this course tremendously. I had many biases when it came to qualitative methods but this course proved some of my views were completely wrong while some were proven to be justified. I appreciate the use of mixed methods as I have come to realise no single method of analysis is sufficient if we are to seek the truth. I will probably stick to quantitaive methods most of the time but this course has been an eye opener and will help me when researching topics which are researched in multiples disciplines (e.g economics and sociology).

Dr Moerman is a great teacher who can really make you fall in love with the subject matter.

교육 기관: Soh W K

Apr 22, 2020

This course is NOT easy at all! However, it could be one of the most important Courses that I attended and expanded on my Qualitative Analysis, Interviewing Skillsets. Overall, I had learnt how to analyze using principles of Ontological Philosophies, and Epistemology Styles of Approach (8 Types to be exact, 4 Axis) I can assure you that after you go through this course, your style of thinking would be changed, and improved, to accommodate MORE types of research thinking and interview style... This is just an introduction. Worth all your effort and time.

교육 기관: Rosalie S

Dec 30, 2015

Engaging and broad-based course on qualitative research methods. Real world assignments were required, so there was a considerable commitment, which of course led to a sound learning experience. Generally I prefer courses with multiple lecturers, but the lecturer here was entertaining and interesting to watch, and very committed to ensuring that we learnt from the course. Also I noted that when students raised issues about the quizzes or assignments they were dealt with. Thanks Coursera and University of Amsterdam.

교육 기관: Joshua T

Dec 15, 2015

Very clear and concise explanation with fantastic examples to help with retaining information. The lecturer is full of life and it is very contagious.

I joined this course to learn more about qualitative research. I am not new to qualitative research but i learn more each time I revisit the subject.

If you intend to conduct some form of qualitative research as part of your job or preparation towards a postgraduate research degree, this course is a must enrol. Excellent

교육 기관: Patricia B

Jan 08, 2020

I learned such a lot in a fun, informative and animated way, and the reference lists were very helpful in stimulating further research on questions I had. I enjoyed the peer-review process, which also stimulated more questions about the diversity of the experience of those doing the course. The tests helped me to recognize further steps I needed to take in my own thinking and understanding to help me with my PhD research. Thanks Professor Gerben!

교육 기관: Stacy A

Dec 16, 2015

I am a strictly Quantitative Scientist so I was not sure if I would like this course or enjoy it. Surprisingly, I both liked it and enjoyed it. It was interesting learning about the Qualitative Methods that I had no idea about. The professor is very animated and keeps your interest throughout the course. I now have an appreciation for Qualitative Research Methods instead of looking down my nose at them. Great Course with a great professor.

교육 기관: Md. K h

Mar 08, 2020

This course is worth participating. Really learned a lot from this course and it is really helpful for all who are engaged with qualitative research. I would like to thank Coursera for giving me the opportunity to participate in this course for free. I would also like to express my gratitude to Gerben Moerman for his excellent presentation through out the time. Thank you very much Sir! and finally thanks to all of my course mates.

교육 기관: Iryna L

May 09, 2020

This course is just bombastic! Incredibly enriching, full of creative tasks, maximizing to the real practice with awesome instructions! Enormous, ocean of thanks to Dr.Gerben Moerman - the manner of presenting the material makes the effect of life presence and all explanations are absolutely clear and fabulous - there is no other course on any other MOOC course! I am looking forward to any other courses with Dr.Gerben Moerman!

교육 기관: Thaung H

May 03, 2020

It was the best course I ever took. Before I took this, qualitative methods were very difficult to me but, now, it is not. I learnt a lot on how to interview, how to probe, how to interpret and write a case story. I am going to apply what I have learnt in the course for practical work. I also learnt very interactive and innovative teaching methods from our lecturer. I believe that he's the best teacher ever.

교육 기관: Helen S

Apr 17, 2016

I found this course to be excellent. I really enjoyed the content and learned so very much.

My only criticism is not of the course content but simply the nature of the course. I am currently working full time and doing a Masters degree part time, and I did this on top of that, so I found the work load to be exceptionally heavy. Not a problem for someone who isn't working though.

Superb course - thank you.

교육 기관: Julianne S

Mar 24, 2020

I really, really enjoyed this course. This was the first MOOC I have completed. I wondered how rich the experience would be, and I have found the experience to be outstanding. I appreciated the peer feedback. The short didactic videos were wonderful in terms of content AND production quality. The assignments were highly valuable for my learning. Great work from the course designers and professors!

교육 기관: eman m b

Jun 21, 2017

I've learned from this course a lot about the methods of qualitative research, and the preference of this course is the professor's explanation method, which is characterized by depth and flexibility and the use of images and many many examples that facilitate understanding. I have learned from this course much more than any book I read in the research methods. Thank you so much Dr. Gerben Moerman

교육 기관: Ilina I

Feb 15, 2016

This course is challenging and exciting. I liked the creative approach of the team, including graphic design and illustration work. The tasks are stimulating and very interactive. I could feel or at least imagine the spirit of the real qualitative research process. The theoretical and practical knowledge from the course was very useful for writing my master's thesis. Thank you!

교육 기관: Ebtesam A A S

Aug 22, 2020

The amazing course literally!

Qualitative method is difficult and the lecturer made it as simple as possible.

I did a qualitative research previously, but I did not have this deeper understanding as I do now after accomplishing this course ! I am interested in doing another review article about qualitative research method now after I got inspired by this course.

Thank you

교육 기관: Muhammad R K

Aug 09, 2020

The superbly designed course which very nicely introduces one to the release of qualitative research. The videos are professionally crafted. I like its assignments a lot. My only suggestion is to include the other disciplinary touches to the course as it is mostly sociology based because nowadays, it is much more used in organizational and management studies.

교육 기관: Elpida S

Jun 12, 2018

Very well organised course useful material well educated ProfessorVery interesting approach for assigments Despite it is so much theoretical it provides the suitable knowledge to undestood the not only the learning process but the aspects of society. Assigments made us to investigate , to search, to code to interprete.. alone. I will reccomend to everyone.

교육 기관: Thomas B

May 25, 2020

Professor Moerman was truly exceptional. His passionate teaching was motivating me all the time and made the whole process so enjoyable! Moreover, some tasks, such as interviewing and observational fieldwork, were really helpful and made me understand what applied qualitative research looks like in practice. Reference sources were also very good.

교육 기관: James B

Sep 28, 2016

I found this to be an excellent course for not only developing my knowledge of qualitative research methods, but also expanding it. Having done a previous course in University I was surprised at the amount of new information this course had. The peer reviews felt fair and were always informative, I have never been exposed to such global critique!