학생용
Chevron Left
Building Data Visualization Tools(으)로 돌아가기

존스홉킨스대학교의 Building Data Visualization Tools 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

3.9
별점
149개의 평가
38개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

The data science revolution has produced reams of new data from a wide variety of new sources. These new datasets are being used to answer new questions in way never before conceived. Visualization remains one of the most powerful ways draw conclusions from data, but the influx of new data types requires the development of new visualization techniques and building blocks. This course provides you with the skills for creating those new visualization building blocks. We focus on the ggplot2 framework and describe how to use and extend the system to suit the specific needs of your organization or team. Upon completing this course, learners will be able to build the tools needed to visualize a wide variety of data types and will have the fundamentals needed to address new data types as they come about....
필터링 기준:

Building Data Visualization Tools의 37개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Shawn M

2019년 2월 28일

I have been progressing through all the courses in this specialization and, overall, the courses have been of tremendous value to me. However, it's really not the courses themselves but the book that goes along with the courses that deserves the four and five star ratings I have previously given (these courses are really nothing more than "read the book" and "take the assignments"). Nevertheless, the knowledge gained is not easily available elsewhere. 80% of this visualization course (i.e. the book) was excellent and I give it top marks. The other 20%, starting with the grid system section to the end of the book, was terrible. These sections need a complete rewrite as they are barely comprehensible and certainly not comprehensive. The final assignment does not test you on how much you learned in the course, rather it tests you on how much time you spend on your own finding other relevant sources of information on the internet to figure it out. Also, I don't understand why creating a custom geom would be a more important software development skill than R Shiny for example, given that having the ability to develop interactive apps is critical to visualization. I will give this course 3 1/2 stars, rounded down to 3 since coursera won't allow a half star. I hope the authors take what I have to say as an opportunity for improvement since I have benefited tremendously from this specialization so far and I would like to see it improved in certain areas.

교육 기관: Rebecca G

2017년 7월 23일

This course was not good at all. Almost all of the information is a screen scrape from a book and peer-evaluated, so you may be better off just getting the book and going through it. Neither the mentors nor the authors ever participated. The assignments are poorly written and missing too much detail. Ending up bailing on the course and the final capstone as I'm simply not learning anything and the projects are too frustrating to work on.

교육 기관: João G C

2020년 6월 1일

The course is just a dump of the recommended reading book. There are zero videos, zero walkthroughs and zero interaction with the instructors. The final project is over-demanding for the level of the content provided. I don't recommend this course to anyone.

교육 기관: Maurizio C

2017년 10월 12일

Great gap between teaching and what is required to pass the course. Unnecessarily difficult.

The didactic material is not compelling.

Not recommended.

교육 기관: Conner M

2017년 9월 21일

I could plot in R before and many of the topics discussed in this course I already had a working grasp on. Still, the course helped me really gave me a whole new depth of knowledge on the packages that plotting is build around in R. Highly recommended!

교육 기관: José E L

2017년 6월 18일

Good material. Thanks a lot for this course.

교육 기관: Andreas P

2019년 9월 28일

Thank you very much for that lesson.

교육 기관: Kunasekaran N

2017년 5월 19일

Last assignment is hard but enjoyed.

교육 기관: José A G R

2017년 3월 5일

the last task is very challenging

교육 기관: Gopal S

2017년 5월 28일

Excellent course.

교육 기관: Yaakov M

2017년 5월 2일

good challenges

교육 기관: Oswaldo N C

2017년 7월 26일

A nice course

교육 기관: JEEWESH K J

2017년 11월 1일

Great course

교육 기관: Ganapathi N K

2018년 6월 6일

Nice

교육 기관: Prakhar P

2019년 8월 5일

This course introduced to me the advanced capabilities of data visualization in R, especially using GGPLOT. It was bit of a struggle in the course project as the examples in the Mastering Software development e-book were little simplistic in nature. Overall, very satisfied that I can create my own geom. The key learning was on creating visualization using spatial data.

교육 기관: Daniel F

2020년 4월 20일

Like other courses in this mastering, it is a little bit outdated and the practical tests proposed are way harder than examples presented before, but still worth doing because of book, "getting hands dirty" and forum.

교육 기관: Antonio G

2018년 11월 17일

Great course! You'll learn a lot about the graphic capabilities of R. However, I think there are some things that need to be explained before one goes on to complete the final project.

교육 기관: Mridul M

2020년 6월 23일

It is a good course. The only downside is that if you are a beginner level R programmer and want to upskill, you will need to do an extensive search to complete this course.

교육 기관: Sandjaja B

2018년 5월 1일

It is a very good course, but feels a bit more hands-off than the other 3 preceding courses in the Mastering Software Development in R certificate.

교육 기관: Francesco D Z

2017년 8월 1일

very useful, especially the final practical exam.

not 5 score because I think more time should have been spent in more modern interactive charts

교육 기관: Ruoding W

2017년 9월 18일

the course content is just copy from the book

교육 기관: KEVIN E A C

2017년 7월 10일

nice course

교육 기관: Zdenek K

2017년 1월 9일

So first of all, the material for this course in the bookdown document are very good - well structured, with good sources. My concern is that the Coursera course does not go a lot beyond, basically just referring to the document and adding quizzes + graded assignment in the last week. The assignment, however, is nice and challenging and requires people to understand the materials.

Also, the course covers other great packages than ggplot2, e.g. plotly and leaflet and methods for handling spatial data. I think it would be very nice if the students were challenged in these topics as well and evaluate them in a better way than just a quiz (programming assignment for instance).

I liked the course though and I believe it can be prepared even better.

교육 기관: Chao G

2019년 7월 10일

This course is not as satisfactory as the second one, "Advanced R Programming". You spend most of the time reading the book they wrote. There is no video lecture or interactive quiz. The most annoying part is the peer-reviewed assignment part. This is a coding project where you need to create your own geom. I understand that building your own geom is an advanced topic in visualization using R. However, at least for me, I rarely have this need in my work. The example and the dataset they use for the project isn't very interesting neither. Overall, I think this course should not be included in the specialization.

교육 기관: Wang S

2019년 1월 23일

Content on ggplot2 framework is solid. However, no video or explanation to complement the textbook, students are expected to learn by reading solely.

Final assignment requires prior R programming knowledge, which is not taught in this course. This can lead to frustration in the end. Probably those who are enrolled in the entire specialization will find this assignment more manageable. I personally had to spend more than 20 hours on this supposedly 4-hour assignment.