Chevron Left
Building R Packages(으)로 돌아가기

존스홉킨스대학교의 Building R Packages 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.1
별점
211개의 평가
56개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Writing good code for data science is only part of the job. In order to maximizing the usefulness and reusability of data science software, code must be organized and distributed in a manner that adheres to community-based standards and provides a good user experience. This course covers the primary means by which R software is organized and distributed to others. We cover R package development, writing good documentation and vignettes, writing robust software, cross-platform development, continuous integration tools, and distributing packages via CRAN and GitHub. Learners will produce R packages that satisfy the criteria for submission to CRAN....

최상위 리뷰

KM
2019년 6월 3일

Fantastic course... Unfortunately, not too many people registered, it's tough to get your assignments graded. The program is the great continuation to the 10 course R data science specialization...

ME
2017년 1월 15일

Very good course for intermediate/advanced R users. Sad that you are elegible to do assignments only if you pay.

필터링 기준:

Building R Packages의 55개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Shawn M

2019년 2월 15일

There is much I like about this course and also many areas for improvement. First, the online book that comes with the course presents an excellent overview of the steps required to build an R package. It will eventually get you where you need to go. However, some of the material is now out of date (e.g. functions moved from one package to another), there are no longer any mentors around, and the discussions boards are empty apart from people trying to get their assignments peer graded. Also, the content in the book, while good, is incomplete in many cases. I would highly suggest buying the "R Packages" book by Hadley Wickham as an additional reference since it fills many of the gaps and goes into much greater detail.

교육 기관: Matthew M

2019년 1월 14일

good but needs a little updating - several commands this teaches you to use are now depracated.

교육 기관: Rebecca G

2017년 7월 23일

This course was not great. Almost all of the information is a screen scrape from a book and peer-evaluation, so you may be better off just getting the book and going through it. The mentors very occasionally participated, the authors never. The assignments are poorly written and missing too much detail.

교육 기관: Zsolt P

2018년 9월 21일

The material is not bad, however, this is just a refurbished version of a corresponding book written by the authors. Literally, all the readings are just excerpts from this book with typos all over the place. Save some money and just read that, I think this is a minimal extra work cash grab and you feel that all throughout. The final project is fine but not too fun (and the reading material is insufficient for it), it isn't worth the money either.

교육 기관: George L

2019년 7월 24일

Lots of outdated material and no mentors remain to assist. Documentation is incomplete and left to the user's imagination. There have got to be better courses than this.

교육 기관: Christopher M P

2020년 2월 10일

Final assignment may not be reviewed for weeks. If you go on to capstone, issue could extent into months. Expect to use many external resources.

교육 기관: Edmund J L O

2018년 1월 20일

This course really boosted my confidence in writing codes, functions and i look forward to someday writing my own package. The course left me on such a high note that I made a couple of presentations using the plots in my vignette. I wanted to somehow show my appreciation to the authors of the course. The choice of a real life dataset made it really very interesting for me. Here's the link to the presentations i made. I'm not sure if it should be shared with your students, so i'll leave that up to you. Thanks again for making learning so much fun. BTW, it was a bit of a cliffhanger for me. I only got my package to pas travis at the last minute. Here are the links:

http://rpubs.com/DocOfi/350304 and

http://rpubs.com/DocOfi/350099

교육 기관: Rahul V

2021년 5월 10일

This was my first Coursera course I completed. I received a financial aid to do this. This course didn't have any video lecture but a loose guideline on how to build an R package. This broad level guideline helped me to get an overview and did lots of google searches and bookdown blogs to figure things out.

It would be useful to have some more resources as a list. There were no TAs available to help out. But, I heavily made use of the discussion rooms to get my grades done and peer reviewed at least 15 submissions. This course is a good push to learn building R packages. Thanks again for this course

4 stars for the graded assignments which was the major and most useful part of the course

교육 기관: Julia M

2021년 8월 13일

This course is in desperate need of updating. Not only are the R functions it references deprecated, but the websites it instructs us to use have changed. The previous two courses were very helpful in walking through process and understanding what was happening at each step. By the time it came to do the assignment, I could not figure out how to do any of what was required from the course materials alone and needed to refer to help documents for all the functions and travis to figure out how to make everything work.

교육 기관: Damian S

2018년 6월 21일

Among the worst courses I have found on Coursera. Once again, just a bunch of text, cut and pasted (sloppily) from their book and other resources. Examples are poor and insufficient, and much of what they ask you to do in the project is not covered well, or at all in the course forcing you to learn on your own. I don't object to self-education, but then, why bother taking this course? Can't believe they are charging money for this.

교육 기관: João G C

2020년 6월 1일

This isn't really a course, consists just of having you read a book. There is zero content, zero support and zero walk-troughs. The final project is over-complex, given the level of content and support provided by the course. I don't recommend this course to anyone.

교육 기관: Jonathan D

2018년 4월 3일

Poor course material made it difficult to complete the final assignment. The course has little to do with R and more to do with Software development methodologies.

교육 기관: Jason S

2017년 11월 27일

R packages are essential learning. This class covers packages including documentation, vignettes, testing, building, and checking for compatibility with CRAN. It also gets you into git and travis (for continuous integration), with an entire side of open source philosophy and legal. If you can pass this, you *will* be able to create and maintain an R package.

교육 기관: Jay B

2017년 8월 5일

The difficulty of the c ourse will depend on your background. If you have software development experience plus git, the course details the steps of releasing an R package to the community. If you have never worked with git or released software, this is a good way to tie those skills to your R skills.

교육 기관: Youdinghuan C

2017년 12월 25일

This course provides useful knowledge in building R packages, as well as opportunities to implement our knowledge. However, as the previous courses in the series, the last module (week) is extremely challenging compared to the previous ones.

교육 기관: Konstantin M

2019년 6월 4일

Fantastic course... Unfortunately, not too many people registered, it's tough to get your assignments graded. The program is the great continuation to the 10 course R data science specialization...

교육 기관: Moises E

2017년 1월 16일

Very good course for intermediate/advanced R users. Sad that you are elegible to do assignments only if you pay.

교육 기관: Gregorio A A P

2017년 8월 26일

Excellent, but I would be grateful if you could translate all your courses of absolute quality into Spanish.

교육 기관: Yi X

2019년 2월 2일

There are not so mang classmates for peer reviewing. Please set other alternative ways for grading

교육 기관: Christopher B

2017년 3월 30일

This is a critical skill and it's barely covered anywhere else. Thanks for making this course!

교육 기관: Marco M

2020년 11월 16일

This is an excellent course, a really good starting point to learn how to build R packages.

교육 기관: Cardy M I

2017년 10월 7일

Overall, this was a good course to learn the intricacies of building R packages.

교육 기관: Xueqing Z

2021년 4월 16일

It teaches the up-to-date approaches, in a concise and also systematic way

교육 기관: James M

2018년 2월 7일

Good slow walk through of the process for creating and checking a package

교육 기관: Abhinav S

2018년 7월 14일

Amazing course! Will explain every detail regarding R package creation.