Chevron Left
Race and Cultural Diversity in American Life and History(으)로 돌아가기

일리노이대학교 어버너-섐페인캠퍼스의 Race and Cultural Diversity in American Life and History 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
별점
289개의 평가

강좌 소개

Learners will deepen their understanding and appreciation of ways in which race, ethnicity and cultural diversity have shaped American institutions, ideology, law, and social relationships from the colonial era to the present. Race and ethnicity are ideological and cultural categories that include all groups and individuals. Hence, this course is designed in significant part to take a broad look at the ideology of race and cultural diversity in America’s past and present. The primary focus is on the historical and social relationships among European Americans, Native Americans, African Americans, Latino/as, and Asian/Pacific Americans. Issues of race and ethnicity are examined across different ethno-cultural traditions in order to interweave diverse experiences into a larger synthesis of the meaning of race and ethnicity in American life. In this course, we conceive of “race” and “diversity” as references to the entire American population, even as we recognize that different groups have unique historical experiences resulting in distinctive and even fundamental cultural differences. We treat race and ethnicity as dynamic, complex ideological and cultural processes that shape all social institutions, belief systems, inter-group relationships, and individual experiences....

최상위 리뷰

EJ

2020년 11월 18일

I felt Dr Anderson did an excellent job and I enjoyed hearing from the other resources and speakers as well. I would be interested in other similar courses and also other classes from dr Anderson.

CL

2020년 12월 1일

This course was outstanding. The video presentaions, additonal readings, and peer reviews allowing insight into other students perspectives was a definite plus. Will recommend to other co-workers.

필터링 기준:

Race and Cultural Diversity in American Life and History의 134개 리뷰 중 51~75

교육 기관: Dan C

2020년 8월 13일

Excellent presentation of information and the chance to discuss and explore race and cultural diversity in American life and history.

I gained new insights from the lectures and course materials, as well as the presentations from my peers who were enrolled with me.

교육 기관: Maureen P

2020년 7월 17일

Professor Anderson does an excellent job covering topics on race and cultural diversity. He provides lectures in a concise, easy to understand way and provides many supplementary resources for more in-depth study. Excellent course on a very important topic.

교육 기관: Darrell K

2020년 10월 29일

The information statistics and lessons presented in this class were enlightening. The ability to hear about how the past directly impacts the present was a great learning experience. It was also great to hear input from others concerning race and culture.

교육 기관: RL B J

2020년 7월 27일

Outstanding course. Being able to understand the racial history of the country and how that history impacts us today. If one wanted to understand why some of the problems that we face today are here, this class will explain some of the problems.

교육 기관: Roberth D

2020년 6월 7일

This amazing course deepned me understanding of transnational realities about the senses and meanings of race and culture in the Americas. Thanks so much, Teacher James D. Anderson. Your empathy was a quality differential in the course.

교육 기관: Marco G

2020년 8월 23일

This is a well put together course which enlightens and educates with primary and very personal sources. It has also helped me create within myself a greater awareness of racism in all its forms. A very highly recommended course.

교육 기관: Linda S

2020년 7월 22일

Very informative and thought provoking class. Takes longer than the hours listed suggest. Ends with a 10 page research paper that is quite involved and may require more skills than some beginners are comfortable with.

교육 기관: Jean T

2020년 7월 7일

Race and Cultural Diversity in American Life and History should be taught in High School to everyone. I enjoyed everything about this course! Many thanks to James Anderson our instructor! Keep spreading the word!

교육 기관: Denice L

2020년 7월 13일

I learned a tremendous amount from this course and have a very different perspective on a multitude of facets of our society. I sincerely appreciate the work of James Anderson and others who put this together.

교육 기관: yulon w

2020년 8월 7일

exceptional course, very interesting, rigorous, however it keeps you on your toes. Due to all the issues going on right now, what better course to take than this. Thank you..

교육 기관: Lamona B

2021년 10월 29일

The examples of proven tests given through media outlets and organizations that examine our lives in America are stellar. The information is useful for all career.

교육 기관: Kathi L W

2020년 7월 23일

This was a very interesting course. I think everyone should take it. I am a history buff and there were things I didn't know. I am very glad I took this course.

교육 기관: Aayush U

2020년 12월 10일

This course was very enlightening and provided me a deeper understanding of the ways in which race impacts, and has historically impacted, society.

교육 기관: Nichole E M

2020년 7월 7일

This was a great class in which I learn many additional parts about US history that I had not previously known about or understood.

교육 기관: Marguerite S

2020년 12월 28일

content is amazing and informative. I wish there was a way to switch the course to a learning audit and not do the course work.

교육 기관: Ma G G

2018년 2월 8일

I think is a course that everyone living in actual society need to take to widening their world and reject prejudgment.

교육 기관: HPW

2022년 2월 22일

This course was the best form of mental stimulation , It opened my mind to a new way of thinking about me as an American

교육 기관: Keith J

2021년 8월 24일

Critical content for anyone looking to sharpen their understanding of institutional racism and how it impacts daily life.

교육 기관: Doretha L

2020년 9월 6일

I learn a great deal from this course, with a thoughtful engaging professor. I would highly recommend this course.

교육 기관: Ian C

2020년 12월 25일

Very informative. The course is necessary for those who want to dive deeper into the history of race in America.

교육 기관: Brian J

2021년 1월 27일

Highly informative, offers fact-based details on race and cultural diversity, is straight forward and concise.

교육 기관: Michael S

2020년 7월 15일

Dr. Anderson was insightful and the materials were super engaging. I wish this were an in-person course!

교육 기관: Dyams S

2022년 1월 15일

Great course for anyone willing and wanting to understand race and cultural in today's atmosphere.

교육 기관: Lalifatou B

2021년 1월 27일

The course was very interesting and well done! I have learned so many things, truly recommend it !