Chevron Left
Regression Models(으)로 돌아가기

존스홉킨스대학교의 Regression Models 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.4
별점
3,248개의 평가
557개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Linear models, as their name implies, relates an outcome to a set of predictors of interest using linear assumptions. Regression models, a subset of linear models, are the most important statistical analysis tool in a data scientist’s toolkit. This course covers regression analysis, least squares and inference using regression models. Special cases of the regression model, ANOVA and ANCOVA will be covered as well. Analysis of residuals and variability will be investigated. The course will cover modern thinking on model selection and novel uses of regression models including scatterplot smoothing....

최상위 리뷰

KA
2017년 12월 16일

Excellent course that is jam-packed with useful material! It is quite challenging and gives a thorough grounding in how to approach the process of selecting a linear regression model for a data set.

BA
2017년 1월 31일

It really helped me to have a better understanding of these Regression Models. However, I've noticed that there is a video recording repeated: Week 3, Model Selection. Part 3 is included in Part 2.

필터링 기준:

Regression Models의 537개 리뷰 중 476~500

교육 기관: Hendrik F

2016년 1월 17일

I find it very tough to understand everything. Buying the course book helps to overcome this. You have to dedicate a lot of time.

교육 기관: Mark S

2018년 4월 24일

Lots of math, but it would be more productive to focus more on the output of R and better understand the results

교육 기관: Mertz

2018년 3월 20일

Bad audio and video quality. Too fast on some complex ideas and too slow when come repetitions between videos...

교육 기관: Andres C S

2016년 3월 1일

I think this course needs more emphasis on practical applications and less mathematical background.

교육 기관: Erwin V

2016년 12월 20일

Very interesting course, yet course content could be spread more evenly (week 4 is really a lot)

교육 기관: Prabeeti B

2019년 9월 17일

Course has more theoretical concept than application.. It has to be more application based

교육 기관: Praveen J

2020년 4월 22일

I think a revamping of the concepts in a more ellabroate way is required in the course

교육 기관: Suleman W

2017년 11월 9일

I did find it difficult to follow and understand some of the materials.

교육 기관: Rafal K

2017년 2월 28일

Many things are not clear enough in multivariable regression part.

교육 기관: Eric L

2016년 2월 2일

good quick overview, could have more actual R examples in lectures

교육 기관: Ansh T

2020년 3월 22일

Topics like logistic regression were not explained clearly

교육 기관: Angela W

2017년 11월 27일

I learned a lot, but it was so much content for 4 weeks!

교육 기관: Gareth S

2017년 7월 16일

Expects a level of statistical knowledge already.

교육 기관: David S

2018년 11월 4일

needed to consult external resources extensively

교육 기관: Lei M

2017년 8월 23일

Some of the materials are too much math for me.

교육 기관: Xuwei L

2016년 9월 22일

the lecture notes is a bit confusing

교육 기관: Marcela Q

2020년 1월 6일

Terrible professor, good book

교육 기관: Hani M

2017년 10월 24일

was tough

교육 기관: Barry S

2016년 3월 15일

This course is the first one in the Data Science series to lapse in terms of the clarity of the lectures, and the sense of cohesiveness of the material. Brian Caffo's lectures in Statistical Inference were good; in this course they seem to veer left and right rather than get straight to the essence of whatever subject he is lecturing about.

A more structured final project would have been helpful. The instructions on this project weren't quite so blunt as to say "Take this data set, do some regression-y stuff and come back with something about these two variables," but that's basically as far as our instructions went. It could have been a great learning experience to have a more detailed guide through the construction of a regression analysis, but instead an assignment which was 40% of our grade was put together as an afterthought. It was the assignment equivalent of stopping in the 7-11 a block away from a birthday party to buy a card.

Also, in terms of delivering the content: Mr. Caffo needs to structure his slide/video arrangements so that he is not standing in front of the text. Think of it from the point of view of somebody wanting to listen and read at the same time.

교육 기관: R. H

2020년 3월 19일

The timing on this course is very inaccurate - it should take much longer than 4 weeks, 6 weeks at the absolute minimum. I say this because Week 4 has so much information crammed in of all different types of General Linear Models (i.e. models that are not necessarily a straight line). Binomials, Poisson, splines - each of these topics could have their own weeks, but instead they are quickly summarized for one week with the student expect to understand them for the quiz. The other issue, which has been a problem with all courses in this specialization, is the discussion boards. They are totally abandoned by mods; good luck finding any post that isn't "grade my project? I'll grade yours!" despite a mod post that says such requests will be deleted. The board is totally flood with those requests, and makes me wonder how many people are passing these classes wrongly because "if u give me 100 i will grade yours too!" It totally devalues the program. The creators seemingly abandoning Coursera have made this certificate a waste.

교육 기관: Renata G

2021년 3월 28일

I came from

Statistical Inference and I felt very sorry when I see the same instructor here at this course.

Regression Models is a very important subject and I am very interested in real learning. However, this course was very, very, very disappointing to me. I am deep sorry for my sincerity... but this was not as high-quality course. Total lack of any support from the TA/instructor team is frustrating. Wikipedia, youtube videos, books... were much more helpful and effective for me. I believe the real issue lay in the teaching style. Brian seemed a very intelligent person, but he does not teach well. His way of explaining things was really bad: he speaks too fast (sometimes he changes terms...), he skips from slide to slide very quickly, he often do not provide adequate explanations. He also does not approach realistic cases to apply Regression Models in day a day basis. His book is only a copy of his teaching slides. I certainly do not recommend this course.

교육 기관: Kaspar M

2020년 10월 12일

There's some useful material in the course. There were some major issues though: 1) there is so much to cover that this really ought to be broken into two courses or more. It is not a 4-week course. It would really be helpful to break it into chunks and include some more comprehensive exercises so the learner can get a full grasp of the subject. The quizzes, particularly the final one, were curiously disconnected from the course material. The final project as assigned was just straight-out baffling. I noticed some learners submitting garbage solutions for review, presumably just so they could look at what other people were doing to figure out what they were supposed to be doing. Oh one more thing: Caffo never explains what ANOVA is, he just starts using it. Overall: I would like to know who is doing a well-designed MOOC on this, because I would like to take it.

교육 기관: Mohamed A

2016년 11월 2일

This course failed greatly to balance the workload by week. The third week which I think was the most important one have too many information to learn and assimilate whereas the first two weeks could be rearranged to start multivariate regression earlier. Another proof of week 3 issue: the related swirl exercises start in week2 (2 of them) and finish in week4 (2 more exercises) !!!!!

I think one of the most important expertise and knowledge that a data scientist must know and master was unfairly squeezed in one week leaving no time for the learner/student to do more search/exercises on the subject.

교육 기관: Pedro J

2016년 6월 6일

The professor doesn't explain clearly as part of the videos is his correcting himself or saying the same thing two or three times. And why must the videos show the teacher? It distracts from the slides and seeing him move doesn't help understand anything better

Concepts like VIF or hat values are not very well explained by the teacher, at least the SWIRL lesson explains it correctly. ANOVA and ANCOVA are mentioned in the description but they aren't explained anywhere. ANOVA is used without any explanation of what it is.

I found myself searching online for other sources to understand the concepts.

교육 기관: Lee D

2016년 9월 29일

I again found many of the lectures to be difficult to follow along, there seems to be lots of different styles of videos in the way that the person was superimposed on the slides. In fact it was often impossible to read the text in the slide due to the size of the presenters head which obscured the text. Honestly this data science course is getting worse as the months progress, you really should think of updating the content of the course if you want to continue to charge money for it. 2 stars as I did actually learn something despite the quality of the material and its delivery.