Chevron Left
Advertising and Society(으)로 돌아가기

듀크대학교의 Advertising and Society 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
546개의 평가
128개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course examines the relation of advertising to society, culture, history, and the economy. Using contemporary theories about visual communications, we learn to analyze the complex levels of meaning in both print advertisements and television commercials. About the Course The course covers a wide range of topics, including the origins of advertising, the creation of ads, the interpretation of ads, the depiction of race, class, gender, and sexuality in advertising, sex and selling, adverting and ethics, and the future of advertising. The lectures will discuss theoretical frameworks and apply them to specific advertisements. Course Syllabus Week 1: What is advertising and where did it come from? Week 2: Am I being manipulated by advertising? Week 3: What’s in an ad beyond that which meets the eye? Week 4: How do ads get made? Week 5: What do ads teach us about race, class, gender, and sexuality? Week 6: Does sex sell? Week 7: What is the future of advertising? Recommended Background No background is required; everyone is welcome! Suggested Readings Although the lectures are designed to be self-contained, we recommend that students refer to the free online textbook ADTextOnline.org. Other free resources will be suggested for each week’s module. Course Format Most videos will be lectures with instructor talking. Each lecture will be illustrated with PowerPoint slides, print advertisements, and TV commercials. The videos for each week will consist of segments that add up to about an hour. Each week will have one quiz that will appear as stand-alone homework. All resources beyond lectures will be available online to students at no charge. Most of these will be from ADTextOnline.org. Others will be visits to the sites of ad agencies in the US and abroad, open access websites that deal with course topics, and open-access journal articles....

최상위 리뷰

KD

Jun 15, 2018

What a great course! As an owner of an agency, a marketer and advertiser, I found it very eye opening and enjoyable. I learned a lot that I can apply to our business. Thank you Professor O'Barr.

GG

May 03, 2017

I will never look at advertising with the same eyes. It made me understand a lot of our current society and economy. Really suggested if you want to become a more informed citizen and consumer.

필터링 기준:

Advertising and Society의 125개 리뷰 중 101~125

교육 기관: Aditya R

Jun 05, 2017

Very good

교육 기관: Sahl M S

Jul 06, 2020

Good

교육 기관: BHANU P

May 06, 2020

best

교육 기관: Raghdah A

Aug 02, 2017

At first I was overwhlmed by the historical introductn of avdertising in the first week, but the course gow more exciting and facsiniating from week 2 to week 7. I truley can describe how enjoyable and inmormative this course was, I come from a marketing background, and we have been taught that adverts are mediums and element in the marketing mix, thus, its least important though it's the most visible part of marketing. However, this course has changed my entire perception of adverts, and how it's closely attached to any society. What I wished that this course would've covered is a globla adverts in countries other than western ones, and how these ads in certain countries depict their culture, and produced to inform the world of the social norms and cultural values of those countries. In conclusion, thank you so much fort his course, and I would'nt imagine a person other than Professor O'Barr to deliver this course.

교육 기관: Malena G V

May 27, 2020

Me parecio un muy buen curso, sin embargo hay algunas lecciones cuya informacion no coincide con el titulo de la misma, por ejemplo, "week 5 What do ads teach us about race, class, gender and sexuality?" en toda esa semana solo vemos genero y sexualidad, mientras que raza y clase no son mencionadas ni explicadas en relación con el tema. Me parece una falta grave ya que son aspectos fundamentales de la publicidad y de la sociedad en si.

교육 기관: Sanya A

May 07, 2017

This encouraged me to see and analyse ads that never caught my attention before. My understanding of advertisements has greatly increased, since now I am more aware of it's history,predicted future,and the powerful strategies that one may use to sell. Great course!

교육 기관: Ashok S

Mar 13, 2017

The course is much better than my expectation, and the flexibility in the quiz and deadline is much supportive. The content of the course is widely sourced. One should do this whoever want to the the evolution of the advertisement world.

교육 기관: Berkay A

Feb 18, 2017

it's helpful but not interactive a lot, sometimes hard to follow the video but the proffessor is quite knowledged about the history, gives a lot of insights and force you to re-assess the course after it finishes , by na

교육 기관: Amith M

Dec 01, 2016

Takes you back to the age old version of ad pieces from cave paintings to todays social madness. A complete guide to a better student of advertising. And the 80% cross mark challenging and motivating. Thanks for this.

교육 기관: Kathryn B

Feb 08, 2018

This course has really helped with my understanding and background knowledge of advertising, and the impacts of any developments in the advertising industry on modern day and future societies.

교육 기관: manasi s

Apr 17, 2020

Not a 5 star because practical aspect of ad making is missing. I would have loved to have an assignment where I could have made an advertisement for a product.

교육 기관: Colin M

Jul 19, 2019

A great informative course that explore the history and significance of advertising in (primarily) American society.

교육 기관: Joris J S

Sep 09, 2017

Good course to learn the different types of advertisement, back ground and what tools you have to persuade people.

교육 기관: Md M A

Jul 04, 2020

I have learned so many thing regarding past, present advertising scenario and techniques.

Thanks a lot sir.

교육 기관: Joy S

May 04, 2017

Pretty good class. Interesting, authoritative professor. Shows lots of pictures during his lectures.

교육 기관: Tatev P

Apr 18, 2020

Great review of history of ads and understanding our perceptions through it.

교육 기관: PARAG B

Jun 19, 2019

This course was very informative and has changed my outlook on advertising.

교육 기관: upasna

Jun 17, 2020

very good course relating. to every aspect of the advertisement .

교육 기관: Bismark O

Feb 08, 2018

The course is very exciting and the Lecturer did perfectly well

교육 기관: MOHAMMED S

May 10, 2020

fanastic experiance learned about advertisement history

교육 기관: JAI K S P

May 26, 2020

Best Course For Better Understanding

교육 기관: srinivas g

Apr 29, 2017

its Resource full and informative

교육 기관: SHUBHAM B

Jun 26, 2020

Very Useful

교육 기관: Erik T

Apr 26, 2017

Interesting topics, but not taught in the most interesting way. The professor answered in his lecture videos some of my basic questions about advertising, but I don't think that he made the class very exciting and I didn't feel motivated to seek out outside material. I'm glad I took this course, but I don't think that I would recommend it to many other people.

교육 기관: Maria Z

Oct 30, 2017

The subject is very interesting, however material used in this course is outdated and relevant to present situation in a very limited way.