Chevron Left
Functional Programming in Scala Capstone(으)로 돌아가기

로잔연방공과대학교의 Functional Programming in Scala Capstone 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.4
별점
538개의 평가

강좌 소개

In the final capstone project you will apply the skills you learned by building a large data-intensive application using real-world data. You will implement a complete application processing several gigabytes of data. This application will show interactive visualizations of the evolution of temperatures over time all over the world. The development of such an application will involve: — transforming data provided by weather stations into meaningful information like, for instance, the average temperature of each point of the globe over the last ten years ; — then, making images from this information by using spatial and linear interpolation techniques ; — finally, implementing how the user interface will react to users’ actions....

최상위 리뷰

MP

2019년 9월 7일

The capstone project has done a fantastic job of drilling in some of the important fundamentals taught in the rest of the courses. It is definitely worth taking if you've done the rest of the courses.

KB

2017년 6월 13일

Good course, some of the assignments could have been more explicit with expectations in cases where specific implementation details matter but the forums were helpful in that regard anyways.

필터링 기준:

Functional Programming in Scala Capstone의 90개 리뷰 중 51~75

교육 기관: Carlos L

2017년 6월 23일

Excellent

교육 기관: Ronald C M

2019년 6월 26일

The best

교육 기관: Yuriy B

2017년 8월 7일

Thanks

교육 기관: Francisco J D d S F G

2018년 5월 24일

I really enjoyed this course - it goes from the very basics of Spark and tests your ability regarding Scala knowledge.

The capstone project is really well structured, but at times it felt like the instructors could give more information concerning some definitions around the project, i.e. how all of the case classes from the models file interconnect or relate to each other. By the end of the project it would be helpful explaining how the Layer class was actually structured as well.

In reality my opinion of this course is 4.5 out of 5 - I think the instructors made an admirable job trying to convey most of specialization concepts into the capstone, so congratulations :-). If not for some of the aspects above, I would rate it 5/5.

교육 기관: Ignacio G S

2021년 7월 10일

Excellent course to put everything learned in the previous four into practice (Spark, Big Data, Parallel Programming, and Functional Scala design and programming).

The only thing I didn't like is that the corrections were a little tricky and I finish guessing what I had to do, or trying many combinations until succeeded.

Overall I learned a lot of things and the graders and the grader tests are very well implemented to ensure the quality of the solution.

교육 기관: Edem N

2019년 7월 29일

A good project broken down into stages that can be independently tested to produce a final product that is both complex and interesting. The forum didn't have any of the TA's responding during my period and as such mean't that any concerns that I had were not being addressed. I had particular concerns with the grader input data where I had issues with its output. Apart from that a great way to put all the skills of the Scala Specialization into use.

교육 기관: Niels P

2017년 7월 24일

Excellent capstone that lets you test your knowledge of Scala in a (semi)real project environment. Though i found that the main difficulty for me was in understanding the context of geographical computations. Making it difficult to find if not passing test was due to error in my code or in my understanding of geographical context.

교육 기관: Rob S

2018년 11월 26일

Interesting project and fun to work on.

As with many of the other courses, could benefit from providing a few tests. Even after writing property-based tests using ScalaCheck there were some grader results that I was unable to reproduce.

In the end, still worth the time and effort invested.

교육 기관: Alan A

2019년 11월 16일

The course is great, but if you pass all tests, in Week 4 you can get the certificate. The project is linked to Week 1, which is weird because doesn't match well with the schedule set in Coursera.

교육 기관: Rodolfo N P

2018년 8월 9일

For a lot of sections one couldn't really use Spark, said sections were restricted to translating Spark datastructures to Scala collections and working with those.

교육 기관: Chet W

2018년 1월 29일

Very cool to see the entire application fit together eventually. However, feel sometimes the explanation for the exercise could have used more details/examples.

교육 기관: Jean-Francois T

2017년 4월 18일

A bit sad that actual full working solution is not graded as it invovled generating files on disk, which is compuation intensive...

교육 기관: Fernando

2018년 6월 6일

Good Spark / Big Data project.

Provides a good example of real problem project focussed on Spark and big data analysis.

교육 기관: Алексей Ш

2017년 8월 3일

The tasks are very interesting! Unfortunately, sometimes the causes for the failure of the tests are not clear.

교육 기관: Natalija I

2019년 1월 4일

Capstone project is challenging specially because of the performance standards. I enjoyed solving the problems

교육 기관: Andronik

2017년 6월 16일

Interesting project, but exercises were too simple. I was able to complete with course in 5 evenings.

교육 기관: Korntewin B

2021년 1월 27일

The course is hard but fruitful, you will exploit what you learn from the specialization!

교육 기관: Carsten I

2019년 10월 20일

Tough but interesting, it definitely showed you the importance of writing unit test!

교육 기관: Arthur

2017년 4월 18일

Good project enjoyed playing with the Scala.ja

교육 기관: Anton A

2020년 12월 7일

More details for exercises would be great.

교육 기관: Wolfgang G

2017년 9월 1일

pretty tough, but informative!

교육 기관: Hong C

2020년 4월 19일

Well designed project.

교육 기관: Michael L

2020년 1월 11일

I did the original courses back in 2016 and have used Scala consistently in various roles. I've done so many courses, I wanted to just finish this one and complete the specialization. I think I'm familiar with various Typelevel projects, SBT itself (I wrote a cucumber plugin for it) and have used Shapeless and Cats in anger. I'm familiar with ScalaCheck and have done a few O/S projects. This course ... perhaps I'm being unfair, but the project doesn't feel 'idiomatic Scala'. I think the course could use some of the Typelevle libraries as a starting point and lead devs into how to write functional Scala. In my experience - Scala is used a) for a functional programming language b) to drive Spark. Just as people will use Python for numpy/tensorflow (e.g. you can't compare Spire with numpy). The ML niche is lost, so I hope the content of these courses will still be useful for another 5 years.

교육 기관: Ryan S

2018년 6월 12일

I enjoyed this course, but I believe there are some errors in the grading code related to interpolating colors. I raised an issue about it on the week 5 forum but never got a response. The project was interesting, but it would have been nice if there was a way that we could have been a bit more free in how we designed the interfaces. If you were trying to use something like a spark RDD it made it pretty cumbersome, having to always fit everything to an Iterable at the end. ALSO, I tried to add a library when I was doing this to add the shapeless library to this to add some interesting features which would have made the code a lot more general. I spent days getting it to work, only to realize you library dependencies are not actually imported when you submit, it only runs with the base ones that were pre-defined. A warning about that would have been nice.

교육 기관: Fleur K

2017년 11월 25일

The first couple of assignments I found harder than the rest, and also the best bits. I found myself enthusiastically telling my colleagues about the data files and the spark code to join them. After that it got a bit too simple perhaps. And a little contrived. Some of the curried functions you had to fill in were way different from what I'd have written if I'd been staring at an empty screen and even after the course I've still not learned why I'd want to use this setup. The Signal bit in the last assignment was just plain silly, I think. It remains completely unclear why you'd want to use Signals here, other than that you want to refer to materials from the reactive programming course, and the sample code for the update doesn't actually work because the update method is protected.