Chevron Left
Big Data Analysis with Scala and Spark(으)로 돌아가기

로잔연방공과대학교의 Big Data Analysis with Scala and Spark 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
2,347개의 평가
483개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Manipulating big data distributed over a cluster using functional concepts is rampant in industry, and is arguably one of the first widespread industrial uses of functional ideas. This is evidenced by the popularity of MapReduce and Hadoop, and most recently Apache Spark, a fast, in-memory distributed collections framework written in Scala. In this course, we'll see how the data parallel paradigm can be extended to the distributed case, using Spark throughout. We'll cover Spark's programming model in detail, being careful to understand how and when it differs from familiar programming models, like shared-memory parallel collections or sequential Scala collections. Through hands-on examples in Spark and Scala, we'll learn when important issues related to distribution like latency and network communication should be considered and how they can be addressed effectively for improved performance. Learning Outcomes. By the end of this course you will be able to: - read data from persistent storage and load it into Apache Spark, - manipulate data with Spark and Scala, - express algorithms for data analysis in a functional style, - recognize how to avoid shuffles and recomputation in Spark, Recommended background: You should have at least one year programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line. This course is intended to be taken after Parallel Programming: https://www.coursera.org/learn/parprog1....

최상위 리뷰

BP

Nov 29, 2019

Excellent overview of Spark, including exercises that solidify what you learn during the lectures. The development environment setup tutorials were also very helpful, as I had not yet worked with sbt.

CC

Jun 08, 2017

The sessions where clearly explained and focused. Some of the exercises contained slightly confusing hints and information, but I'm sure those mistakes will be ironed out in future iterations. Thanks!

필터링 기준:

Big Data Analysis with Scala and Spark의 467개 리뷰 중 76~100

교육 기관: Seongsan K

Mar 09, 2018

It was really useful material. It would be really nice if there are more assignments to polish the materials we learn, but I am really satisfied with the course.

교육 기관: Walter D

Jan 01, 2018

Great course to get going with Apache Spark. Would recommend to someone who has java or scala experience already and wants to learn about distributed processing.

교육 기관: Walter E Z

Apr 02, 2017

Great introduction to Spark and it's data structures. The course is easy to follow, and lecturer is entertaining and really engaged.

Thanks, I really had fun !

교육 기관: Zeb S

Oct 16, 2019

I worked with PySpark professionally, and this helped add some depth to my knowledge of Spark as well as give me a chance to translate those skills to Scala.

교육 기관: Antonio A

Oct 20, 2017

Clear explanations, with emphasis done on the important/practical stuff. From zero to a general understanding on Spark and the available tools in 4 weeks.

교육 기관: Shweta P

Jul 18, 2020

I really liked the course. Learnt lot many things regarding Scala and Spark. The Assignments were really helpful to get hands-on knowlegde of Spark.

교육 기관: Jeffrey S

Apr 09, 2017

Lectures were clear and engaging and directly related to the homework. The assignments were very practical and very hard. Best course of the series!

교육 기관: Grzegorz G

Mar 21, 2017

Some of the assignments are a bit challenging, due to grading system I suppose, but in the end general impression about this course is very positive

교육 기관: Bulent B

Aug 07, 2019

Amazing technology, explained wonderfully. Note: familiarity with scala (take Martin's course in coursera) would make your experience even better.

교육 기관: Konstantin K

Apr 12, 2017

good stuff, compared to the other similar course in PySpark this one gave me a lot more understanding of how things work in Spark on the low level

교육 기관: Liqun Y

Jun 30, 2017

Very useful. Dr. Miller apparently did a very good job. I strongly suggest beginners to read the "Learning Spark" book and then take this class.

교육 기관: Shane

May 10, 2018

Very well-organized courses about Spark ! Really learned some good practical tips. Hope there could be more explanations about the assignments.

교육 기관: John V M

Apr 25, 2017

Yet another excellent Scala class. Good lectures, good assignments. Clear and understandable, while presenting a whole bunch of new concepts.

교육 기관: Bennie K

Oct 15, 2017

Really clear and direct. Would love to see another course on the Advanced Spark topics such as Spark Streaming and Spark custom libraries

교육 기관: Arman S

Sep 20, 2020

The professor and her team has done a tremendous job in this course. A very hearty thank you to all of you. Please keep up the good work!

교육 기관: Álvaro L L

Jun 11, 2017

A great introduction to Spark !!! An esential course to anyone interested in the field! Thank you very much Heather and the EPFL team !!

교육 기관: Yacine G

Dec 23, 2018

FANTASTIC!!! I don't even know which was better: the course material quality, the instructor's approach or the assignments. FANTASTIC!!!

교육 기관: Buddhika L S

Feb 17, 2018

This is a good course if you already know the Scala language and looking to improve your theoretical understanding of Spark programming.

교육 기관: Neha B

May 19, 2017

It gave me very good understanding on Spark Architecture, functioning along with hands on over Scala. Good examples used during lessons.

교육 기관: Oleg m

Apr 10, 2017

First weeks were overcomplicated with k-means and stuff not related to Spark itself.

In general - GREAT JOB !!! Thx for such kind courses

교육 기관: CLAUDIO A

Jun 10, 2019

Excellent explanations by Heather Miller. She really knows how to explain a topic, and also makes the lectures a lot of fun to listen !

교육 기관: Alvin H

Apr 04, 2017

Awesome Course . Detail and Depth of RDD vs Dataframe vs Dataset.

Latency vs Network/IO vs Shuffling.

Learnt a lot .

Thank you Heather.

교육 기관: Samuel L

Mar 23, 2017

Very well taught and insightful! Especially the combination of slides, and additionally drawn notes on that slides, I found very good.

교육 기관: Zhenduo D

Nov 19, 2017

Interesting and useful course. Could be better if the videos were not as blurred, which made it sometimes hard to read the slides.

교육 기관: Venkat

Jun 01, 2017

Awesome video lectures by the instructor. The content is very good and i fee i gained good knowledge. I really loved the series.