Chevron Left
Big Data Analysis with Scala and Spark(으)로 돌아가기

로잔연방공과대학교의 Big Data Analysis with Scala and Spark 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
2,383개의 평가
494개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Manipulating big data distributed over a cluster using functional concepts is rampant in industry, and is arguably one of the first widespread industrial uses of functional ideas. This is evidenced by the popularity of MapReduce and Hadoop, and most recently Apache Spark, a fast, in-memory distributed collections framework written in Scala. In this course, we'll see how the data parallel paradigm can be extended to the distributed case, using Spark throughout. We'll cover Spark's programming model in detail, being careful to understand how and when it differs from familiar programming models, like shared-memory parallel collections or sequential Scala collections. Through hands-on examples in Spark and Scala, we'll learn when important issues related to distribution like latency and network communication should be considered and how they can be addressed effectively for improved performance. Learning Outcomes. By the end of this course you will be able to: - read data from persistent storage and load it into Apache Spark, - manipulate data with Spark and Scala, - express algorithms for data analysis in a functional style, - recognize how to avoid shuffles and recomputation in Spark, Recommended background: You should have at least one year programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line. This course is intended to be taken after Parallel Programming: https://www.coursera.org/learn/parprog1....

최상위 리뷰

BP
2019년 11월 28일

Excellent overview of Spark, including exercises that solidify what you learn during the lectures. The development environment setup tutorials were also very helpful, as I had not yet worked with sbt.

CC
2017년 6월 7일

The sessions where clearly explained and focused. Some of the exercises contained slightly confusing hints and information, but I'm sure those mistakes will be ironed out in future iterations. Thanks!

필터링 기준:

Big Data Analysis with Scala and Spark의 477개 리뷰 중 76~100

교육 기관: Mohamed A T

2019년 8월 6일

the theory is very clear and well explained.

the practical assignments are a little bit ambiguous but they are overall very good and challenging.

highly recommended!

교육 기관: Andronik

2017년 6월 15일

Nice introduction into Spark with details about how Spark works internally. This course also talks about when to use RDD/Dataframe/Dataset and performance pitfalls.

교육 기관: El G T

2019년 10월 27일

really good material, well explained with many examples.

maybe more information or precisions should be added to the assignments but good material and explanations

교육 기관: Seongsan K

2018년 3월 9일

It was really useful material. It would be really nice if there are more assignments to polish the materials we learn, but I am really satisfied with the course.

교육 기관: Walter D

2018년 1월 1일

Great course to get going with Apache Spark. Would recommend to someone who has java or scala experience already and wants to learn about distributed processing.

교육 기관: Walter E Z

2017년 4월 2일

Great introduction to Spark and it's data structures. The course is easy to follow, and lecturer is entertaining and really engaged.

Thanks, I really had fun !

교육 기관: Zeb S

2019년 10월 16일

I worked with PySpark professionally, and this helped add some depth to my knowledge of Spark as well as give me a chance to translate those skills to Scala.

교육 기관: Antonio A

2017년 10월 20일

Clear explanations, with emphasis done on the important/practical stuff. From zero to a general understanding on Spark and the available tools in 4 weeks.

교육 기관: Shweta P

2020년 7월 18일

I really liked the course. Learnt lot many things regarding Scala and Spark. The Assignments were really helpful to get hands-on knowlegde of Spark.

교육 기관: Jeffrey S

2017년 4월 9일

Lectures were clear and engaging and directly related to the homework. The assignments were very practical and very hard. Best course of the series!

교육 기관: Grzegorz G

2017년 3월 21일

Some of the assignments are a bit challenging, due to grading system I suppose, but in the end general impression about this course is very positive

교육 기관: Bulent B

2019년 8월 7일

Amazing technology, explained wonderfully. Note: familiarity with scala (take Martin's course in coursera) would make your experience even better.

교육 기관: Konstantin K

2017년 4월 12일

good stuff, compared to the other similar course in PySpark this one gave me a lot more understanding of how things work in Spark on the low level

교육 기관: Liqun Y

2017년 6월 29일

Very useful. Dr. Miller apparently did a very good job. I strongly suggest beginners to read the "Learning Spark" book and then take this class.

교육 기관: Shane

2018년 5월 10일

Very well-organized courses about Spark ! Really learned some good practical tips. Hope there could be more explanations about the assignments.

교육 기관: John V M

2017년 4월 24일

Yet another excellent Scala class. Good lectures, good assignments. Clear and understandable, while presenting a whole bunch of new concepts.

교육 기관: Bennie K

2017년 10월 15일

Really clear and direct. Would love to see another course on the Advanced Spark topics such as Spark Streaming and Spark custom libraries

교육 기관: Arman S

2020년 9월 20일

The professor and her team has done a tremendous job in this course. A very hearty thank you to all of you. Please keep up the good work!

교육 기관: Álvaro L L

2017년 6월 11일

A great introduction to Spark !!! An esential course to anyone interested in the field! Thank you very much Heather and the EPFL team !!

교육 기관: Yacine G

2018년 12월 23일

FANTASTIC!!! I don't even know which was better: the course material quality, the instructor's approach or the assignments. FANTASTIC!!!

교육 기관: Buddhika L S

2018년 2월 17일

This is a good course if you already know the Scala language and looking to improve your theoretical understanding of Spark programming.

교육 기관: Neha B

2017년 5월 19일

It gave me very good understanding on Spark Architecture, functioning along with hands on over Scala. Good examples used during lessons.

교육 기관: Oleg m

2017년 4월 10일

First weeks were overcomplicated with k-means and stuff not related to Spark itself.

In general - GREAT JOB !!! Thx for such kind courses

교육 기관: CLAUDIO A

2019년 6월 9일

Excellent explanations by Heather Miller. She really knows how to explain a topic, and also makes the lectures a lot of fun to listen !

교육 기관: Alvin H

2017년 4월 4일

Awesome Course . Detail and Depth of RDD vs Dataframe vs Dataset.

Latency vs Network/IO vs Shuffling.

Learnt a lot .

Thank you Heather.