Chevron Left
Schizophrenia(으)로 돌아가기

웨슬리언 대학교의 Schizophrenia 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
423개의 평가
103개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

The main goal of this class are to gain an introductory exposure to the nature of the psychiatric disorder known as schizophrenia as revealed by the scientific method. We will discuss a broad range of findings from the scientific investigation of biological and psychological factors related to schizophrenia and its treatment. More specifically we will learn about: (1) key symptomatic features through discussion and enactments of interviews with actors portraying many of the cardinal features of the illness, (2) what brain imaging studies (MRI and fMRI) and neurochemistry have taught us about the neuroscience of the disorder, (3) scientific psychological data and theories concerning cognition, emotion and behavior in schizophrenia, and (4) current, evidence-based somatic and psychosocial approaches to treatment. A brief historical overview of the recent emergence of the psychiatric category of schizophrenia will be presented as well....

최상위 리뷰

JQ

Nov 17, 2017

INTERESTING COURSE. I HAVEN'T GIVEN SCHIZOPHRENIA MUCH THOUGHT OVER THE YEARS, BUT AFTER THIS COURSE A FEW RELATIONSHIPS AND UNDERSTANDING OF THEIR RELATIVES MAKE MORE SENSE. THANKS SO MUCH.

PW

Oct 19, 2019

Really fantastic, informative course which is online.Detailed understanding about the schizophrenia given along with possible explanations and biopsychology behind it.thank you Coursera.

필터링 기준:

Schizophrenia의 103개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Michael B K

Sep 11, 2018

Could have been more comprehensive and more with indivigual case histories.

교육 기관: joshua L

Jul 10, 2018

Excellent short course. The course gives video case studies of symptoms and the content is presented in a factual and informative way, bot of which aid learning.

교육 기관: Naomi F

Oct 10, 2018

I wish it could have gone more in depth.

교육 기관: Marc G

Aug 30, 2018

I loved the course! It’s concise and very much to-the-point, and provides a solid overview of all aspects linked to the history, epidemiology, diagnosis, symptoms, and treatment of schizophrenia from various approaches, both biological/pharmacological and psychosocial. The course consists only of videos, with no required readings associated, and there are some optional forums, but no peer-graded assignments. The assessment is based on one midterm and one final exam, each consisting of 20 questions; this is remarkable, as some of the courses I’ve taken here seem to contain more assessment questions than actual learning material. I particularly liked the practical demonstrations/role-plays, as they help understand how the lists of symptoms translate into real-life experience. Hats off to the instructor and the rest of the team who made this course possible. Thank you!

교육 기관: John W

Dec 24, 2018

Ideas clearly enunciated by a Professor who clearly has a deep passion fro this subject. It is also helpful that this presenter, Dr, Matt Kurtz, is personable and uses layman's language. Matt comes across as a friendly and knowledgeable advisor.

This is one of the best MOOCs I have undertaken.

교육 기관: JOHN Q

Nov 17, 2017

INTERESTING COURSE. I HAVEN'T GIVEN SCHIZOPHRENIA MUCH THOUGHT OVER THE YEARS, BUT AFTER THIS COURSE A FEW RELATIONSHIPS AND UNDERSTANDING OF THEIR RELATIVES MAKE MORE SENSE. THANKS SO MUCH.

교육 기관: Sherri G

Sep 04, 2019

Very informative, the professor is engaging. The demonstrations were especially useful in allowing the student to see the positive and negative symptoms in action.

교육 기관: Tiffany J T

Dec 02, 2019

This course has extensive coverage of various aspects of information on schizophrenia. I especially like the four demonstrations, which are very useful for giving a straightforward illustration of different types of symptoms.

It is suggested that the course could compile a reference list with those articles/papers referred to throughout the lectures. And I would appreciate it if some of the citations/references could be more updated.

Overall, it's a very wonderful experience learning this course :)

교육 기관: petya

Dec 29, 2018

OK, but rather superficial

교육 기관: Marianne H

May 22, 2018

I know I'm not quite the kind of person that this course has in mind, but I chose this course because my husband has schizophrenia and I wanted to understand more about it. Our local medical practitioners don't communicate well and just rush us in and out of appointments, bombarding us with medical terminology - I don't know whether they just assume we know all about it and understand them or whether they're just trying to blind us with science in the hope that we will just put up and shut up without making a fuss, but either way, neither of us really had a clue what was going on. Now that I've done this clearly communicated and highly accessible course, I at least know roughly what they're saying and am able to formulate sensible questions and understand the answers so that I can fight for my husband's rights if I need to, and make sure he gets looked after properly instead of getting fobbed off until something awful happens. The feeling alone that that inspires is worth its weight in gold. Thank you.

교육 기관: Megan B

May 11, 2019

I enjoyed this course very much. I am an occupational therapist working in mental health who also lives with the experience of mental illness. This course breaks down complex subjects well and the videos are short enough to be memorable but detailed enough that one feels that one has learned something. I liked having the ability to read transcripts as the video played because my learning preference is definitely reader-writer over auditory. I would recommend this course for any nurse or allied health professional who is entering or relatively new to the mental health field, or who works regularly with people with schizophrenia in other ways.

교육 기관: Jessica Ö

Nov 29, 2017

Excellent course! It gives an amazing insight and understanding to Schizophrenia and considering the corse length, I am very impressed with how much Professor Matt Kurtz manages to cover. The videos are easy to follow, easy to understand and everything about Matt Kurtz's teaching style makes it very easy to follow his classes and understand the information he's trying to teach. I would absolutely recommend this course to anyone who is interested in or fascinated by the disorder Schizophrenia, as Matt Kurtz covers the history of the disorder, the symptoms that it can cause as well as the treatments used from back in the days up until now.

교육 기관: Jesús P R

Apr 05, 2018

I find this course to be a blessing, because is focused in one of the most important mental disorders, which on the other hand is one of the most neglected and ignored. It is extremely useful for all the population in general in order to understand this highly prevalent illness and in consequence, the behaviour of some people the will encounter and is specially useful for the relatives of people with the illness, just to give a little bit of light on this illness, which has so much still to be discovered.

교육 기관: Susanne D

Jul 12, 2018

Before taking this course I really had difficulties grasping what Schizophrenia really is and what its symptoms are. This compact course helped me so much in shedding light on this disorder. The "patient" interviews were really helpful and it was interesting to try to categorize the types of schizophrenia myself by the shown symptoms. Thanks a lot to Professor Kurtz and his team for this course!

교육 기관: Gerardo S

Mar 05, 2018

Greatest course ever, the professor knows a lot and he knows at the same time how to trasnmit the information wisely, using videos and actors, at the same time he knows how to convey the difference in symtoms butkeeping the same structures of the schizophrenia, it's really cool, please let me know when this guy makes more courses available, one on bipolar disorder would be really cool indeed!

교육 기관: Fahad A N

Dec 14, 2018

This course has helped me greatly in my employment in mental health. There is much information & references to follow up on. The lecturer's presentation is effective & interesting. There is a variety methods of delivering the information through video, slides, role play & discussion boards. This has helped me pass both quizzes first time and at a high score.

교육 기관: Jordan T

Nov 26, 2019

As someone taking an undergraduate module in CNS Disorders at university, this course was invaluable in developing my knowledge and understanding of schizophrenia. Prof. Kurtz delivered his lectures extremely well, and the content of his talks were both comprehensive and easily understandable, even to the layperson. I would highly recommend this course

교육 기관: Lidia B

Sep 08, 2018

A very nice course for everyone who wants to know a bit more about mental illnesses. There is a stigma in our society that's why sometimes it is frightnening to deal with people with problems. The more you know the more you understand how to behave around such people and help them be a part of our lives. Thank you for the course it was very useful!

교육 기관: Ben S L

Nov 23, 2017

This was an excellent review of Schizophrenia, including the history, diagnostic criteria, neurology, interventions and outcomes. I have worked with clients with various disorders for years and found that I need to constantly be learning or relearning about these various disorders. This class accomplished that goal for Schizophrenia.

교육 기관: arzu e

Feb 16, 2018

I wish there were powerpoint slides and some extra reading materials. But overall, I've learned a a lot. Mr. Kurz's teaching style is very powerful, I'm not tired a bit while listening to him. The course syllabus is well designed, I can easily shifted through modules. Thank you for sharing your information and wisdom for free.

교육 기관: Bahia L

Jun 11, 2018

It is a very interesting course. Professor goes deeply in the subject and gives details.The course is really a package that contains all what is related to schizophrenia. The modules are organized in a logic manner and the chapters as well.Professor Kurz teaches with all his senses. He transmits knowledge with love.

교육 기관: Tsering D

Oct 27, 2019

It was very informative and very useful for me to understand about the schizophrenia clients. It will also help me to be more clear to take action on bases of needs. Special thanks to Dr Matt Kurtz for making the lecture simple and easy to understand. Thank you to everyone who has been doing this great job.

교육 기관: Priscilla A d S

Feb 18, 2018

Thats a perfect course, that really introduce you in schizophrenia symptons and how the patient looks like.Thats alll goood , i loved this course and you can learn more about neuropsychology and much more. The professor is really clear and domains that subject. Yes you can also learn about others theories.

교육 기관: Beatriz d N W

Jun 20, 2019

I sincerely enjoyed this course. It has helped me to understand the illness and learn about it , so with some knowledge and understanding I feel better equipped to contribute to ameliorate their situation in the society.

I like to thank professor Matts Kurtz and the staff for the course.

교육 기관: Jan H

Mar 05, 2018

Very nice course on schizophrenia. I would especially recommend this course to medical students interested in the topic, as, in contrast to medschool, you get good overview over evidence based psychological and social interventions, instead of talking only about antipychotics.