Chevron Left
Buddhism and Modern Psychology (으)로 돌아가기

프린스턴 대학교의 Buddhism and Modern Psychology 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
3,132개의 평가
885개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

The Dalai Lama has said that Buddhism and science are deeply compatible and has encouraged Western scholars to critically examine both the meditative practice and Buddhist ideas about the human mind. A number of scientists and philosophers have taken up this challenge. There have been brain scans of meditators and philosophical examinations of Buddhist doctrines. There have even been discussions of Darwin and the Buddha: Do early Buddhist descriptions of the mind, and of the human condition, make particular sense in light of evolutionary psychology? This course will examine how Buddhism is faring under this scrutiny. Are neuroscientists starting to understand how meditation “works”? Would such an understanding validate meditation—or might physical explanations of meditation undermine the spiritual significance attributed to it? And how are some of the basic Buddhist claims about the human mind holding up? We’ll pay special attention to some highly counterintuitive doctrines: that the self doesn’t exist, and that much of perceived reality is in some sense illusory. Do these claims, radical as they sound, make a certain kind of sense in light of modern psychology? And what are the implications of all this for how we should live our lives? Can meditation make us not just happier, but better people? All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

최상위 리뷰

VC

Nov 16, 2015

I have been practicing meditation for two years already.In so far I have attended all Deepak Chopra meditation experiences which I found very helpful but not as helpful this course provided me so far.

CV

Mar 03, 2016

Engaging content and excellent pace. While the level is introductory (I'd have liked a bit more depth), I would expect this from a lower-division/breadth course—and even more so from a MOOC like this.

필터링 기준:

Buddhism and Modern Psychology 의 890개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: JULIO C M

Feb 21, 2019

¿Y si la mente al recibir un alimento "sano de verdad..." se desarrollara hacia insospechados límites?.

¿Y si en verdad lo hiciere...?.

Meditar, autoobservarse y observarlo todo sin prejuicios, seguramente nos acerca desde nuestra mayor calma, a ser más protagonistas en la construcción de un mundo mejor.

교육 기관: Iromi P

Dec 23, 2018

This is a great effort which should be appreciated. Just because at a time like this, some are curious to know about the Buddhism, & with the psychological background, which adds more value for this.

교육 기관: Luca S

Jul 07, 2019

Great teacher and awesome course, every module is very interesting

교육 기관: Jaime A C F

Jul 03, 2019

Professor Robert Wright did a remarkable job linking the main concepts of Buddhist tradition with many valuable concepts and ideas that have been provided by scientific research, evolutionary psychologists, experienced meditators, and other experts. The course offers a wonderful opportunity for western students to get closer to the world of Buddhist philosophy, from a point of view that is compatible with western thought, science, and philosophy. I totally recommend it.

교육 기관: Chloé V

Mar 03, 2016

Engaging content and excellent pace. While the level is introductory (I'd have liked a bit more depth), I would expect this from a lower-division/breadth course—and even more so from a MOOC like this.

교육 기관: Vit C

Nov 16, 2015

I have been practicing meditation for two years already.In so far I have attended all Deepak Chopra meditation experiences which I found very helpful but not as helpful this course provided me so far.

교육 기관: César L T P

Jul 22, 2019

This is the first time I take an online course and I liked it a lot. I could learn from people who are aware of Buddhism and Modern Psychology. Great videos, interesting readings, amazing information, great professor. Thanks a lot.

교육 기관: Anabela C

Jul 22, 2019

It is an excellent course, where not only concepts are learned but it leads you to think in a different way, to see things differently and you learn in each video, in each work. It is very well organized and Professor Robert Wright is perfect to lead the course. Thank you very much to everyone who made this course possible!

교육 기관: Monica L

Jul 22, 2019

Very Informative and interesting.

교육 기관: Katy P

Jul 21, 2019

I

교육 기관: ezgi b

Jul 10, 2019

A nice combination of the scientific facts and not religious learnings of Buddhism. Sone kind of a bridge connetcs me to my own personal perceptions. It is not like a course to follow the information instead it is more like questioning with the instractor and other experts. loved it!

교육 기관: NAIRES R D R

Jul 06, 2019

Muito esclarecedor!

교육 기관: Peter C

Jul 01, 2019

I liked it a lot. After a while, it occurred to me that modern psychology, a new and highly fad and change prone academic interest, has a lot of gall to judge a tradition that remains strong after 2500 years.

But I had to know enough about Buddhism and psychology to ask that question in the first place. And that's what I got from this course.

교육 기관: Avinash B S

Jun 30, 2019

Those who are practicing meditation seriously and on their spiritual journey, those must complete this course.

교육 기관: Benoit B

Jun 30, 2019

Exciting! Very good and condensed course. A rich and deep summary of all studies done and shared by Robert Wright about evolutionary psychology and Buddhism. My personal output of this MOOC is really great, I learned a lot and it changes the way I think and conceive the world. I recommended to my best friends, found of philosophy and spirituality.

교육 기관: akhil v

Jun 22, 2019

awesome course,nice way to exploration..Thank you

교육 기관: Erika V R

Jun 16, 2019

Loved it, great teacher and subject.

교육 기관: 邓志昊

Jun 16, 2019

这个课程连接了自然主义佛教和进化心理学,很有启发性

교육 기관: Shikha A

Jun 15, 2019

Its a great course for anyone who wants to understand Buddhism in relation to modern psychology. The topics have been covered with lot of depth and clarity. And there are many talks with eminent people in respective fields to give additional inputs about the topics. I really like this course and would look forward to do more courses by the same instructor.

교육 기관: Ruchi V

Jun 15, 2019

A well structured, conceptually rich, and intellectually fulfilling course for all students of psychology, as well as for those who wish to delve into the questions of where modern psychology and religion (In this case, Buddhism) stand relative to each other.

교육 기관: michael w w

Jun 12, 2019

I really enjoyed this course, with the detail on how evolutionary psychology supports Buddhist ideas. Prof. Robert Wright is engaging, and the practical observations provided by Fraser and Milo are noteworthy. I highly recommend this thought provoking course.

교육 기관: Champika K

Jun 12, 2019

I am finally finding a way to understand what the Buddha taught.

교육 기관: roze a c

Jun 11, 2019

I truly enjoyed this course with Professor Wright and all of the other wonderful teachers who took part in the teachings. It has been a long time dream to be able to study at Princeton University. Now, a part of my dream has come to pass. Thank you for the opportunity to spread my wings a little bit further.

교육 기관: Sudha R

Jun 10, 2019

I find this course greatly stimulating and has helped me gain personally. Thank you Coursera for this unique opportunity. I took this course to just motivate some body else found it good for me.

교육 기관: Beatriz V

Jun 05, 2019

the best