Chevron Left
Writing in the Sciences(으)로 돌아가기

스탠퍼드 대학교의 Writing in the Sciences 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.9
별점
3,423개의 평가
1,162개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course teaches scientists to become more effective writers, using practical examples and exercises. Topics include: principles of good writing, tricks for writing faster and with less anxiety, the format of a scientific manuscript, peer review, grant writing, ethical issues in scientific publication, and writing for general audiences....

최상위 리뷰

SD

Feb 26, 2020

Respected Dr.kristiani sainani madam and coursera.\n\nI thank you for the wonderful classes and presentations, it really didn't made me feel that i was learning online course but as in class learning.

T

Feb 01, 2019

The course is so informative that I think everyone should take a try. It provides us a fundamental elements to write in a professional way that is not only for our study but also for our profession.

필터링 기준:

Writing in the Sciences의 1,167개 리뷰 중 101~125

교육 기관: Josh T

Jul 13, 2020

I can't recommend this course highly enough. I recently started a new role as a Science Writer so this course was highly relevant for me. Dr. Kristin Sainani manages to cover a wide range of topics related to scientific writing--from the writing process itself, to drafting a manuscript or grant application, to writing for a lay audience--using clear and interesting examples. I'll be referring to my notes from this course for many years to come.

교육 기관: Stephanie T E

Jun 23, 2019

This course is one of the most helpful and engaging classes I have taken ever. Professor Sainani is a very enthusiastic and clear instructor, and you can feel her positive energy and attitude towards teaching through the screen. Not only has this course helped in writing in the sciences, but I believe it has taught me tools to improve my writing in general. I much appreciate this course, and I am thrilled that I had the opportunity to take it.

교육 기관: Angela P

Jul 04, 2018

This course was amazing. It’s everything I forgot from my 5 th English teacher to my MSN papers. loved that it was self paced, I got behind and was able to switch classes with ease. I made a book with all the power points to to reference. I now know how to fix the passive verb that outlook loved to highlight in my writing. Teacher was superb. Only thing I would have done different is to have fewer guess speakers, I found it a little boring .

교육 기관: ram k w

Feb 08, 2020

Superb course. Teaches you everything you need to know from basics of Grammar, style, economy of writing and so much more. Kristin does an excellent job at explaining the way things ought to be, her enthusiasm makes her a great teacher. The interviews also gave great perspective. I audited this course, but I am planning on purchasing it so that I can take it again. I recommend this to anyone in the life sciences. Kudos Stanford !!

교육 기관: Bruno V

Jun 28, 2020

The course is incredible. Dr Kristin Sainani elegantly guided us throughout the art of writing in sciences. The course is essential for any scientist, independent of the expertise. I had some experience in writing scientific manuscripts, and still, I gained a lot of new practical knowledge about writing. It also inspired me to write more, and hopefully, I will be able to pass this to my students in Brazil. Highly recommend it!

교육 기관: Vinay S

Feb 16, 2020

This was my first MOOC, and I loved it! I am happy to say that this was my third attempt trying to complete the course (due to time restrictions earlier), and I managed to do it this time. The course content is great, and Dr. Sainani definitely is the right person to deliver the talks. I work as an editor of research manuscripts. This course has helped me edit much better now. One word to describe this course: Enlightening!

교육 기관: Andrea S

Jun 01, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. It was well structured, detailed, and covered a broad range of topics related to writing in the sciences. I found the peer review homework assignments to be the most helpful assignment type. The module covering writing for the average person was a particularly interesting exercise. It really helped impress upon me the importance of translating your work to make it accessible to more readers.

교육 기관: Karen A F

Jan 07, 2019

Dr. Sainani's course is incredible! She explains everything in an exciting way, discussing various subjects pertinent to those who wish to pursue their academic career. I am ecologist and I think it is perfectly feasible to transpose the ideas presented by dra sainani to other areas of knowledge. I took more time to finish the course because I have a little difficulty with English, but I assure you: worth every minute!

교육 기관: Özge Ç

Jun 16, 2020

An excellent and absolutely necessary course for PhD students and early science career researchers from all fields of science. Professionally planned and well-taught. I wish I had learned what this course teaches during my PhD studies. I have been away from research for a while and dearly wish to resume my career. This course was a treasure for me. Thank you Prof. Sainani. It was pleasure to have taken your course.

교육 기관: Annya S

Jun 05, 2018

Wonderful critical thinking course. Having written a case report and personal statements in the past, I learned there was so much that I didn't know. This course broke writing down into goal oriented snippets and showed me what a wonderfully streamlined process it can be. I also found it lovely to be able to de-mystify the grant process as a young professional. A must course for any individual in the sciences!

교육 기관: Renuka P

Jul 09, 2020

Thank you so much Dr.Kristin Sainani for this excellent course. A course covering all the topics step by step. I have started this course as a free course, as I don't know the course would be completed by me or not. But I completed the course & took the certificate only because of your pretty way of teaching. Now I want to start my career in medical writing. Thanks to Coursera also for providing this course.

교육 기관: Antonio T G

Apr 18, 2019

This course should be a "must" for any PhD students or prospective researchers. It gives a clear method for writing scientific research with good examples, and helps to "clear the fog" we (students) usually have when drafting our first article. It also provide a guide on how to manage workload (and writing techniques) to avoid frequent mistakes among young writers. I wish I had known this course earlier!

교육 기관: Danijela P

Jun 24, 2020

Scientific writing seems so easy and simple when Dr. Kristin Sainani speaks about it! When you try it yourself, of course, it's not quite like that ... at least in the beginning :) This course allowed me to get one step (and not a small one!) closer to that goal. It helped me structure the topic in my head and make things simpler and easier - in thoughts and sentences. I am infinitely grateful for that!

교육 기관: Maciej B

Jun 07, 2020

It is an excellent course, full of precious information and it was a pleasure to take part in. Some of the information were very surprising to get to know, as some teaching models of how to write papers are usually totally different (lots of clutter and passive voice). Thus, it made me feel more comfortable to change my mind about scientific writing and try to experiment on this, using gained knowledge.

교육 기관: Anne T

Dec 17, 2019

I found Writing in the Sciences incredibly helpful and challenging. I wish I had known about this course when I was handed a manuscript assignment without having had any previous experience writing a journal submission. Dr. Kristin Sainani is clear and concise (and personable!) in her presentations. I highly recommend this course for anyone who is or will be writing scientifically or needs a refresher.

교육 기관: Swadhin S

May 26, 2020

The course covers lots of technical aspects of writing manuscript, review, recommendation letter, and science news. The course is very helpful for biological science grad student/postdoc. There are real examples of good and bad writing from Nature/Cell/Science journals. The quizzes at the end of each module are easy—if someone carefully listens to the video. I would highly recommend taking this course.

교육 기관: Adam R

Jun 08, 2020

As a high school student in South Korea, this course has assisted me in developing the writing skills that I did not have and also helped me to receive grant for my current project!

It is a great course that is so helpful now and I believe it to be even more helpful in the future!

Thanks to Dr. Sainani and many other doctors and professors who have put in their effort to create this WONDERFUL course!

교육 기관: Heder d V

Jan 02, 2019

This course has been an eye-opener. I used to dread writing new, original articles. I could barely bring myself to start. This course has provided me with useful tips and tricks to start writing more effectively. It has also thought me more on the basis of writing, and on some tendencies that exist in academic writing.

Thanks to this course, I now look forward to writing my next manuscript!

교육 기관: Jorge V

Jul 23, 2018

The course has met all my expectations as it added pertinent information to my knowledge and answered basically all of my questions towards scientific writing style. Kristin Sainani has proven overwhelming qualified as a writing coach, encouraging me to write more confidently and clearly. And last but not least, this course addresses only what is relevant or pretinent to a piece of writing.

교육 기관: Simone S

Jun 04, 2020

It was a pleasure! A great course I can only recommend.

Very well chosen real-live-examples taken from current research literature.

I was able to deepen my grammar knowledge in English as well as gain experience with writing styles. I have developed a feeling for the linguistic differences between German and English. And I was surprised how precise you can be with a few well-chosen words.

교육 기관: Ana C d S

Jun 20, 2020

An incredible course! I can’t say enough about how much I’ve learned. It leads you through most types of texts you might find in scientific field in a very simple though complete way. However, I’d recommend it to students - specially graduate - from areas related to Medicine or Biology. Math, Physics or Engineering students might feel a bit bored, althouh they can benefit from it as well.

교육 기관: Sheetal D

Jun 08, 2020

The teacher is very enthusiastic and has done wonderful job. The difficulty level of the course increases slowly and steadily. I think there can be one more session on news and communication article. Grant writing module is really useful. My only criticism is course gives examples mainly from biological sciences and other sciences are kind of ignored. In all wonderful learning experience.

교육 기관: Safeena A

Nov 02, 2018

This course has polished the hidden scientific writer inside me. This was a totally new experience, and I am very thankful to Coursera team for offering such skill-polishing courses. The most important thing I learnt from this course is that scientific writing is not always meant to be too hard to understand, we can make our writing very simple and easy to understand. Highly recommended!

교육 기관: Pedro C S F

Jun 06, 2018

I am happy that this was my first (actually finished) on-line course. I really liked it. It is very well done, very pragmatic and instructive. I found the teacher great - engaging, fun, direct... I liked her a lot. I have started applying some of the learning, I hope the course content will stay on-line because I am sure I will need to revise certain areas as I put them to practice.

교육 기관: KAVATI V

Jul 20, 2020

The course is very nicely delivered. The Instructor Dr. Kristin Sainani is very effectively taught this course. I learned how to read a research paper and write its summary. Writing a lay-summary of a scientific paper, writing a scientific news story was really interesting. The quizzes and peer reviewed assignments were awesome. I strongly recommend this course for future learners.